PDA

View Full Version : Squeezenetwork and new router issues

chale2
2009-09-26, 08:02
I have been using my squeezebox v3 at my office for a few years. I just changed routers to a sonicwall and connect via wifi. I mainly use squeezenetwork and am running 7.3.3 with version 127 firmware.

The issues I now notice are as follows:
1] frequent time outs when trying to access wireless network [works after 1 or 2 attempts]
2] dchp assignment will also timeout and requires multiple attempts
3] response to remote seems sluggish when connecting to squeezenetwork
4] once connected to squeezenetwork, player stops playing after a few seconds to a few minutes. Under this circumstance, the player appears to be non-responsive but if left alone, it goes into the off mode where date/time are listed.

I spoke with sonicwall and they after doing a packet capture they said it looks like the communication is send some kind of signal to 'terminal' the connection between the two [I forgot the proper packet name he used]

Any help appreciated.

toby10
2009-09-26, 09:12
I'd suggest:
- change router to G only (not a/b/g mixed)
- change router name to something unique (not the mfr's default name)
- see what ch's are in use nearby (office next door may be competing for your routers ch)
- choose ch 1 or 6 or 11 (whichever is not in use nearby or is the weakest competing signal)
- try unplugging router and SB3, turn off any other networked devices, then plug router back in (wait for it to completely re-boot) then plug in SB3 and any other devices (waiting for each to connect before continuing)
- temporarily try the SB3 wired to rule out non WiFi issues
- temporarily move SB3 closer to router, see if WiFi issue improves

What is your SB3 reporting as it's signal strength on WiFi?

chale2
2009-09-26, 13:23
Further details I forgot to include. The router is a TZ100 Sonicwall.