PDA

View Full Version : Mac: 5.2 has broken my squeezebox...



Joe Hickey
2004-06-27, 14:54
Hi,
Just downloaded and installed v5.2 of the server on my powerbook
(10.3.4). Now the squeezebox and server don't seem to be communicating.

The server works fine AFAIK, found my iTunes library but says Your
player was not found.

Squeeze does the usual connection to network followed by getting of IP
address followed by connecting to slimserver but then screen goes
blank, if I press a button on the remote I get 'Problem: Lost contact
with Slim Server. Check that the software is running.' on the
squeezebox display.

I used netinfo to ping the squeeze's IP address, said all packets
received but nothing showing on squeezebox display (FAQ mentions
display should come on when it is being ping'd)

Cannot do a firmware update (nor does the squeezebox request one)...
tried doing what it says in the FAQ, with manually putting the IP
address in the box and clicking 'submit'.

Tried turning off wireless and setting up via wired but same things
happening, firewall has ports 9000 and 9090 enabled...

It all worked fine with 5.1.6

Any ideas people (not too techy please I'm not that computery...)

Cheers,
Joe

dean
2004-06-27, 14:59
Hi Joe,

Make sure that you also have port 3483 open on your firewall. That's
the port that the Squeezebox uses to connect to SlimServer.


On Jun 27, 2004, at 2:54 PM, Joe Hickey wrote:

>
>
> Hi,
> Just downloaded and installed v5.2 of the server on my powerbook
> (10.3.4). Now the squeezebox and server don't seem to be
> communicating.
>
> The server works fine AFAIK, found my iTunes library but says Your
> player was not found.
>
> Squeeze does the usual connection to network followed by getting of IP
> address followed by connecting to slimserver but then screen goes
> blank, if I press a button on the remote I get 'Problem: Lost contact
> with Slim Server. Check that the software is running.' on the
> squeezebox display.
>
> I used netinfo to ping the squeeze's IP address, said all packets
> received but nothing showing on squeezebox display (FAQ mentions
> display should come on when it is being ping'd)
>
> Cannot do a firmware update (nor does the squeezebox request one)...
> tried doing what it says in the FAQ, with manually putting the IP
> address in the box and clicking 'submit'.
>
> Tried turning off wireless and setting up via wired but same things
> happening, firewall has ports 9000 and 9090 enabled...
>
> It all worked fine with 5.1.6
>
> Any ideas people (not too techy please I'm not that computery...)
>
> Cheers,
> Joe
>
>