PDA

View Full Version : Why no "Save Settings" Option?



pablolie
2009-09-20, 09:47
wouldn't it make sense to be able to create a configuration file that can be backed up? That way I do not have to rfe-create every preference I have manually for every player every time I reinstall SC (computer referesh and cleanup, the occasional need to reinstall SC from scratch)...

funkstar
2009-09-20, 12:57
Search for and copy server.prefs to another location. Everything is then backed up.

peterw
2009-09-20, 13:24
Make that the entire prefs folder. And if you add a brand new player or just want to change some settings on all your players, my SettingsManager plugin can help.

-Peter

pablolie
2009-09-20, 17:59
...of course these are hidden files in Vista installations, but no problem. Is the configuration file exactly the same irrespective of OS?

in any case, i think SC ought to allow us to back up configuration settings directly. But i will definitely check out the rcommended plugin.

JJZolx
2009-09-20, 18:18
It makes very little sense to install "from scratch" and then copy preferences from an old installation. What is there to gain? Unless pieces of the executable program are for some reason becoming corrupted or deleted on your system (and if that's happening you've got MAJOR problems), then all a new installation really does is overwrite your saved settings.

Deleting everything in the cache folder will accomplish 99.9% of the same thing as reinstalling and then reusing old settings.

pablolie
2009-09-20, 19:25
It makes very little sense to install "from scratch" and then copy preferences from an old installation. What is there to gain? Unless pieces of the executable program are for some reason becoming corrupted or deleted on your system (and if that's happening you've got MAJOR problems), then all a new installation really does is overwrite your saved settings.

Deleting everything in the cache folder will accomplish 99.9% of the same thing as reinstalling and then reusing old settings.

To me it makes little sense to not have a configuration backup option. I may want to use it for a number of things - to switch SC computers for one. Sure I can copy hidden folders around, but I think the user friendly thing to do is to provide a configuration backup option. My wireless router does that. The ethernet extension box does it. My Blackberry does it. Etc.

Ben Sandee
2009-09-20, 19:29
On Sun, Sep 20, 2009 at 9:25 PM, pablolie
<pablolie.3yud5b1253499961 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> To me it makes little sense to not have a configuration backup option.
> I may want to use it for a number of things - to switch SC computers for
> one. Sure I can copy hidden folders around, but I think the user
> friendly thing to do is to provide a configuration backup option. My
> wireless router does that. The ethernet extension box does it. My
> Blackberry does it. Etc.

You're arguing with yourself, I don't think anyone is saying it would
be a bad idea to have a way to export/import a configuration in some
sort of standard form. Until that time, you have been given several
options.

Ben