PDA

View Full Version : Put the sample rate in the Transporter display window



mark02131
2009-09-16, 09:01
It would be really useful to have the sample rate and even bit rate in the display window (where the meters are) like 44.1/24 or 96/24. I think most people who have a transporter are playing hi-rez music on it and would like to know the sampling rate of the song being played.

Mark

Keymaster
2009-09-16, 09:19
I agree...it would be a cool feature, but I wouldn't want it cluttering up my VU meters :)

mark02131
2009-09-16, 09:36
I am thinking have it a separate option like you can switch between the artist or analog meters or digital meters, if there was one that was just sample rate, it could even be with the artist space sample rate, that would be cool too.

toby10
2009-09-16, 17:16
I wonder if Michael Hargers Music Information Screen plugin could be adapted for such extraction and display?
You might want to ask him in his third part forum pages. :)

aubuti
2009-09-16, 18:55
The bit rate (kbps) is one of the available fields in MusicInfo Screen, but bit depth and sample rate are not in the list at present. It couldn't hurt to ask Michael to add the other variables. I imagine he is rather busy now with the new products coming out, so it might take a little while unless someone else offers a patch.

ghostrider
2009-09-17, 07:07
It would be useful if the Transporter could display the bit depth and sample rate information for devices attached via the TP's digital inputs. I'd like to know this when watching a concert DVD or listening to a DVD-A through the TP's DAC.

riffer
2009-09-17, 07:43
It's a good feature to make it easier to test your setup of input sources.

mark02131
2009-09-17, 08:54
Your right,
It would be useful for the digital inputs as well, Most of the really good DAC's display the sample rate that there getting from the inputs. It would be such a nice feature.

netchord
2009-12-19, 09:30
The bit rate (kbps) is one of the available fields in MusicInfo Screen, but bit depth and sample rate are not in the list at present. It couldn't hurt to ask Michael to add the other variables. I imagine he is rather busy now with the new products coming out, so it might take a little while unless someone else offers a patch.

how do you display the bit rate in the MusicInfo screen? I'm running 7.3.4 and do not see this option in the basic player settings for the transporter.

toby10
2009-12-19, 13:01
how do you display the bit rate in the MusicInfo screen? I'm running 7.3.4 and do not see this option in the basic player settings for the transporter.

Select kbps from the drop down list.

netchord
2009-12-20, 07:04
Select kbps from the drop down list.

thanks- this option is not in the drop down list, or perhaps i'm looking in the wrong place?

in the Basic Settings tab of SC 7.3.4 there are options for Title Format and Now Playing Info, with drop down lists for each. there is no option of "kbps" in either section.

should i be looking somewhere else?

toby10
2009-12-20, 07:44
thanks- this option is not in the drop down list, or perhaps i'm looking in the wrong place?

in the Basic Settings tab of SC 7.3.4 there are options for Title Format and Now Playing Info, with drop down lists for each. there is no option of "kbps" in either section.

should i be looking somewhere else?

Yes, it is located elsewhere. :)

You asked about MusicInfo screen, this is a separate plugin, and KBPS is offered there. You are looking in the SBS basic screen configuration menu item, KBPS is not offered here.

Once you have installed the plugin go to:
SBS > Settings > Player > Music Information Screen
In the setup/configuration portion you click on the different screen fields to design what you want displayed, KBPS is offered in the drop down list.

usch
2009-12-20, 14:18
The bit rate (kbps) is one of the available fields in MusicInfo Screen, but bit depth and sample rate are not in the list at present.

I'm using SAMPLERATE with the Title Switcher plugin, so this should work with the MusicInfo Screen alone, too.

Don't know about bit depth tough, since all my music is in MP3 format where bit depth is not applicable.

netchord
2009-12-22, 10:52
Yes, it is located elsewhere. :)

You asked about MusicInfo screen, this is a separate plugin, and KBPS is offered there. You are looking in the SBS basic screen configuration menu item, KBPS is not offered here.

Once you have installed the plugin go to:
SBS > Settings > Player > Music Information Screen
In the setup/configuration portion you click on the different screen fields to design what you want displayed, KBPS is offered in the drop down list.

thanks- found and installed the plugin, seems to work fairly well, although the documentation is pretty scant, and it wasn't immediately clear how to find the "drop down list" you mentioned.

in any case, thanks for your help!