PDA

View Full Version : More 5.2 problems



Ken Veasey
2004-06-26, 07:17
I'm running two SBs one directly wired to my router the other
connected via powerline. The server is a 2.6ghz 512mb ram XP Home with
all updates. Total tracks 6600.

If I stream flac converted to wav the powerline SB drops out. All ok
if bit rate limited to 320kbps. Other drop outsof tracks converted to
MP3 previously experienced seem to have gone away.

But I was just adding to my playlist using the remote as it was
playing when the server hung up. I perhaps rather hasitily shut down
the Slimserver window saying yes to closing the server and then
restarted it. Whereupon the whole system hung up. I managed to get
Taskmanager up eventually and found two instances of Slimserver
running. All attempts to kill them off came to nothing and in the end
(after about 20 minutes) the only way to make any progress was to pull
the plug on the computer and then reload it!!

Ken

dean
2004-06-26, 08:46
Ken,

On Jun 26, 2004, at 7:17 AM, Ken Veasey wrote:
> But I was just adding to my playlist using the remote as it was
> playing when the server hung up. I perhaps rather hasitily shut down
> the Slimserver window saying yes to closing the server and then
> restarted it. Whereupon the whole system hung up. I managed to get
> Taskmanager up eventually and found two instances of Slimserver
> running. All attempts to kill them off came to nothing and in the end
> (after about 20 minutes) the only way to make any progress was to pull
> the plug on the computer and then reload it!!

I've never seen two instances of SlimServer running. Were these using
the same executable?

Ken Veasey
2004-06-26, 09:20
Dean,

Well there were two instances listed in Task Manager each using
different amounts of memory.

I have done a search on the system for slimserver.exe and found one in
Program Files\SlimServer and something called
SLIMSERVER.EXE-077B4136.pf in Windows\Prefetch which presumably is
down to the server currently running.

Additionally I spoke too soon about dropouts not happening, as I have
had a few this afternoon on the SB connected via Powerline. Is it
relevent that this SB although not used wirelessly is a wireless one
where as the other one is wired only.

Ken





>Ken,
>
>On Jun 26, 2004, at 7:17 AM, Ken Veasey wrote:
>> But I was just adding to my playlist using the remote as it was
>> playing when the server hung up. I perhaps rather hasitily shut down
>> the Slimserver window saying yes to closing the server and then
>> restarted it. Whereupon the whole system hung up. I managed to get
>> Taskmanager up eventually and found two instances of Slimserver
>> running. All attempts to kill them off came to nothing and in the end
>> (after about 20 minutes) the only way to make any progress was to pull
>> the plug on the computer and then reload it!!
>
>I've never seen two instances of SlimServer running. Were these using
>the same executable?
>
>
>

dean
2004-06-26, 09:32
On Jun 26, 2004, at 9:20 AM, Ken Veasey wrote:
> Well there were two instances listed in Task Manager each using
> different amounts of memory.
Ok. Click on the Processes tab and see what the "Image Name" is for
each of them.

There are two executables for SlimServer 5.2. The first is slim.exe
which is the server itself and may be running as a windows service.
The second is slimserver.exe and that's the optional graphical user
interface which just embeds an Internet Explorer instance for browsing
via the web interface.

> I have done a search on the system for slimserver.exe and found one in
> Program Files\SlimServer and something called
> SLIMSERVER.EXE-077B4136.pf in Windows\Prefetch which presumably is
> down to the server currently running.
The windows\prefetch directory is a cache that windows uses to speed up
startup. That shouldn't be the problem.

> Additionally I spoke too soon about dropouts not happening, as I have
> had a few this afternoon on the SB connected via Powerline. Is it
> relevent that this SB although not used wirelessly is a wireless one
> where as the other one is wired only.
If your computer is overloaded, that would explain the dropouts.
Another explanation would be that the network is intermittant. If you
have two players that have different behavior, try swapping them and
see if the problem moves with the player or is related to the network
connection for that player.

-dean

Ken Veasey
2004-06-26, 11:58
On Sat, 26 Jun 2004 09:32:59 -0700, Dean wrote:

>
>On Jun 26, 2004, at 9:20 AM, Ken Veasey wrote:
>> Well there were two instances listed in Task Manager each using
>> different amounts of memory.
>Ok. Click on the Processes tab and see what the "Image Name" is for
>each of them.
>
>There are two executables for SlimServer 5.2. The first is slim.exe
>which is the server itself and may be running as a windows service.
>The second is slimserver.exe and that's the optional graphical user
>interface which just embeds an Internet Explorer instance for browsing
>via the web interface.

There was one instance of slim.exe and two of SlimServer.

But now only one of each.

I am not currently running it as a service and therefore load up
SlimServer to start the service. When I close SlimServer (i.e. the
Internet Explorer Window ) it still leaves an instance of
SlimServer.exe running. I have just hung up my system again by
refreshing on the right hand side to see if a playlist had cleared
down. Eventually I had to kill the slim.exe process (although it
carried on running) which then freed up my system to close everything
else down, although I still had to power it off/on.
>
>> I have done a search on the system for slimserver.exe and found one in
>> Program Files\SlimServer and something called
>> SLIMSERVER.EXE-077B4136.pf in Windows\Prefetch which presumably is
>> down to the server currently running.
>The windows\prefetch directory is a cache that windows uses to speed up
>startup. That shouldn't be the problem.
>
>> Additionally I spoke too soon about dropouts not happening, as I have
>> had a few this afternoon on the SB connected via Powerline. Is it
>> relevent that this SB although not used wirelessly is a wireless one
>> where as the other one is wired only.
>If your computer is overloaded, that would explain the dropouts.
>Another explanation would be that the network is intermittant. If you
>have two players that have different behavior, try swapping them and
>see if the problem moves with the player or is related to the network
>connection for that player.
>
Definitely looks to be network related as the problem doesn't move
with the SB.



Ken