PDA

View Full Version : DB rescanning from SB Controller



gharris999
2009-09-09, 20:24
Michael and/or Ben: would you care to comment on this?

As far as I know, there is currently no way to initiate a library rescan from the Controller under 7.3.4. I've added a little code to the stock Rescan plugin so that a 'Rescan Music Library' menu gets tacked onto the Extras menu. The menu items fire off the standard 'rescan', 'wipecache', 'rescan playlists' and 'abortscan' cli commands.

Limitation: there's currently no feedback on the jive indicating that a scan has been initiated.

Anyway, the modified code is in the attached zip.

I haven't really been following all the changes to the SqueezePlay interface with 7.4. Is the 'Extras' menu going away? Is everything that we're accomplishing under 7.3.x with Slim::Control::Jive::registerPluginMenu now going to have to be done in a lua app?

mherger
2009-09-09, 23:40
Please file an enhancement request and attach your patch to it. It's very
likely to be forgotten here as we're concentrating on 7.4 right now. But
we might consider including it in a later release. Thanks a lot!

gharris999
2009-09-10, 06:41
I guess my question still stands: is this method germane to 7.4? Will there sill be an 'Extras' menu on the SBC that can be populated by SBS plugins? Or is everything going to have to be ported to lua apps?

andyg
2009-09-10, 06:46
On Sep 10, 2009, at 9:41 AM, gharris999 wrote:

>
> I guess my question still stands: is this method germane to 7.4?
> Will
> there sill be an 'Extras' menu on the SBC that can be populated by SBS
> plugins? Or is everything going to have to be ported to lua apps?

Extras is still around, for plugins.

pippin
2009-09-10, 07:09
On Sep 10, 2009, at 9:41 AM, gharris999 wrote:

>
> I guess my question still stands: is this method germane to 7.4?
> Will
> there sill be an 'Extras' menu on the SBC that can be populated by SBS
> plugins? Or is everything going to have to be ported to lua apps?

Extras is still around, for plugins.

So why don't I get one? (Extras menu)?

pippin
2009-09-10, 07:15
So why don't I get one? (Extras menu)?

Correction: The plugins didn't survive the update. Extras is there.

gharris999
2009-09-10, 12:25
I can confirm that my code changes seem to work with iPeng with SC 7.3.4. So, rescans can be initiated from iPeng via this method too. I guess I'll test this code with 7.4 before I post the enhancement request.