PDA

View Full Version : Touch and Drobo?



Peter Stockwell
2009-09-08, 06:23
Will the Touch be able to manage a directly attached storage device like a drobo?

funkstar
2009-09-08, 08:01
Does the Drobo attach and install itself as a standard USB mass storage device?

If so then yes it should work with Touch.

Peter Stockwell
2009-09-08, 08:54
Does the Drobo attach and install itself as a standard USB mass storage device?

If so then yes it should work with Touch.

Well, that's the part I'm not sure about.

SuperQ
2009-09-08, 15:53
Yes, afaik, the Drobo is USB mass storage. It does have a configuration software that you would need to use on a PC first.

fuzzyT
2009-09-09, 14:29
Yes.

Drobo attaches either by USB 2.0 or Firewire 800. So the Touch _should_ mount it just like any other drive.

http://www.drobo.com/products/drobo.php

Question: Is there any limit to the size of volumes that the Touch can mount? (Drobo can present as much as 16TB as a single volume.)

They also sell a Drobo Share module that adds Gigabit Ethernet and the ability to host other services that consumer NAS boxes generally feature (http,ftp,rsync,dlna,etc.)

http://www.drobo.com/products/droboshare.php