PDA

View Full Version : Defection and challenge

dBerriff
2009-09-08, 01:23
I have been using an SB3 for the last 30 months. I have been extremely happy with the SB3, and later my Boom, but have never been entirely happy with the ripping/ tagging/ storage/ distribution side. I want good quality sound but I want the hardware to fade into the background so I do not feel the urge to keep tinkering with it. To me that is the great advantage of digital storage and replay - the music comes first and is accessible.

I have been down a few blind alleys with the hardware/software side. PC/SqueezeCenter worked ok but I don't want or need my PC on all the time. Mac/SqueezeCenter worked ok but I do not really want a music server running on my iMac all the time as well as iTunes. Ubuntu-Server/SqueezeCenter worked best of all on a dedicated Dell server (cheap but fast) at the expense of noise and electricity waste. Netgear NAS: worked but too slow for me especially when using iPeng.

I have used dbPowerAmp for ripping to FLAC but I find it a slightly odd product in that it works well but installation and upgrade can be confusing and their website does not inspire confidence in me.

The tagging side is just a pain in the proverbial. For some reason I ended up with a good fraction of my tracks seen as compilation tracks, even Jaikoz (bought to fix this problem) showed the flag was not set.

As I approach retirement and need to cut costs, I decided to review all the boxes I had around the house consuming electricity and to try to cut our running costs. The result does not include any Logitech elements, except for my Boom being used for internet radio.