PDA

View Full Version : Starting SlimServer



Philip Meyer
2004-06-23, 14:04
I install SlimServer to run automatically as service under WinXP Pro.

If I then want to access the server via the PC, I click on the SlimServer icon to start the application. If I view the Debug window, I see the following message (actually appears as one line with a CR or LF displayed as a non-display character in the middle):

SlimServer has started!
2004-06-23 20:41:43.0894 Problem: There is already another copy of the SlimServer running on this machine. (Unknown error)

The points I'd like to mention are:
1. The error message describes the problem, and then reports (Unknown error) on the end. I hardly think Unknown error is required here!

2. When running SlimServer up in this way, is there any need to report the message? Does this suggest that something isn't initialising correctly?

I could just connect to my local web server http://localhost:9000 instead. Is it the intention that users would simply use the web browser, and only run SlimServer GUI if not running with an automatic service?

Just noticed by the way, that if I click the Help link in the window (not the menu option, but the link in "Squeezebox Home | Server Settings | Help") and then click the "Squeezebox Home" link, this takes me to the main help index "http://localhost:9000/html/docs/index.html" which appears in the top frame (occupies the whole window), rather than the usual Squeezebox Home (http://localhost:9000/index.html). I assume this is a bug?

Phil

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-06-23, 15:11
Philip Meyer wrote:

> I install SlimServer to run automatically as service under WinXP Pro.

I run it this way as well.

> I could just connect to my local web server http://localhost:9000
> instead. Is it the intention that users would simply use the web
> browser, and only run SlimServer GUI if not running with an
> automatic service?

I know that's what I do; just a shortcut to http://localhost:9000
and up pops my browser. I'm actually not really sure why one
would want to use slim.exe to launch the html interface.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

kdf
2004-06-23, 15:40
does the service not leave an icon in the system tray for opening up the ui?
Granted, that may have been only with the older slim.exe and slimsvc.exe.
I'm not familiar with the service as I have found it much more convenient to use
the browser and run the service with firedaemon, and activePerl.
-kdf

Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> Philip Meyer wrote:
>
> > I install SlimServer to run automatically as service under WinXP Pro.
>
> I run it this way as well.
>
> > I could just connect to my local web server http://localhost:9000
> > instead. Is it the intention that users would simply use the web
> > browser, and only run SlimServer GUI if not running with an
> > automatic service?
>
> I know that's what I do; just a shortcut to http://localhost:9000
> and up pops my browser. I'm actually not really sure why one
> would want to use slim.exe to launch the html interface.
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>
>

Philip Meyer
2004-06-24, 00:39
>I know that's what I do; just a shortcut to http://localhost:9000
>and up pops my browser. I'm actually not really sure why one
>would want to use slim.exe to launch the html interface.

Well, the installer puts an icon (looks like a SqueezeBox) on the desktop/quick launch bar to run SlimServer.exe. This launches the application with the web site displayed within it. This application has a tailored SlimServer menu and toolbar, and also minimises to the task tray.

Until recently, I couldn't access the help pages when accessing through a web browser, only via the SlimServer menu.

Phil

Philip Meyer
2004-06-24, 00:55
>does the service not leave an icon in the system tray for opening up the ui?
>Granted, that may have been only with the older slim.exe and slimsvc.exe.

I have to close it to install new daily builds over the top, otherwise I get installation errors.

If I try to run up two instances (ie. with it minimised to system tray I try to run it up again) the minimised version pops up, so it only attempts to run one copy.

I have just experimented a bit more. If I close it manually and then restart and instantly look in the debug panel, initially it just reports "SlimServer has started!". About 10 seconds later I get the next line "2004-06-24 08:53:03.9814 Problem: There is already another copy of the SlimServer running on this machine. (Unknown error)".

So it is not because there is an iconised version of the GUI in the task tray (as attempting to start a new instance uses the existing one).

I install SlimServer using my Administrator account. However for day-to-day use, I use another account. Perhaps there is some issue with multi-user access?

Phil