PDA

View Full Version : What is the alarm like?



Troutmaster
2009-09-04, 15:10
Is the alarm on the radio a proper irritating buzzer or is it just radio music? Not sure music would wake me up!

Keymaster
2009-09-04, 15:16
It's virtually limitless...Anything from your own music on your server to an internet stream to some pretty sweet sound effects (the "Rooster Crow" DEFINITELY get you out of bed!!)

It makes a GREAT alarm clock :)

jwagner010
2009-09-05, 04:10
Is the Alarm similar to the Boom alarm? Can you set up multiple Alarms for multiple days?

Keymaster
2009-09-05, 05:44
Indeed, you can :)

Justme
2009-09-06, 01:57
What is the display like for a bedside alarm clock? The original Boom is brilliant with it's display, it goes dim and the simple green writing on a pure black display panel was perfect. However, a "screen" display seems odd for a clock. How does this look at night? Any images?

aubuti
2009-09-06, 13:00
What is the display like for a bedside alarm clock? The original Boom is brilliant with it's display, it goes dim and the simple green writing on a pure black display panel was perfect. However, a "screen" display seems odd for a clock. How does this look at night? Any images?
The clocks for the Radio are the same as those you can see in the Touch thread "Clock" (you recently posted there, so I assume you've seen them by now). The Radio is supposed to auto-dim, but at present that doesn't seem to be working quite right. So I just use the manual setting and set it to about 20% brightness and it's fine for me as a bedside table clock radio.

ccrome2
2009-09-06, 16:45
The beta testers haven't seen this yet, but the units from manufacturing go *very* dim. Visible in pitch black, but just barely.

Justme
2009-09-07, 01:46
Sounds good. Thanks for this tips.

A bit of a pity the radio doesn't have the server built in like the Touch, but it does look like a good option for the bedside table.

Peter314
2009-09-07, 10:14
Does anyone know whether the alarm has a backup function in case the main source is unavailable?

For example, if the alarm is set to play a radio station, but ADSL connection is lost, will the Radio default to making some other sound?

Or will it just sit there silently displaying a rebuffering or "can't resolve ip address" message while the user snoozes on..?

Peter

p88l
2009-09-07, 15:44
@Justme: A bit of a pity the radio doesn't have the server built in like the Touch

How do you know this? It wouldn't suprise me if the Radio runs SqueezeOS (Jive) just like the Duet Controller, which gives some possibilities...

I do not know what you exactly mean by "Server", also cannot find any info on the Touch running as server.

Maybe someone from Logitech can explain?

aubuti
2009-09-07, 16:37
@Justme: A bit of a pity the radio doesn't have the server built in like the Touch

How do you know this? It wouldn't suprise me if the Radio runs SqueezeOS (Jive) just like the Duet Controller, which gives some possibilities...

I do not know what you exactly mean by "Server", also cannot find any info on the Touch running as server.

Maybe someone from Logitech can explain?
Welcome to the forums. As for SB Touch running as the server, look at many of the posts -- especially in the Touch forum -- since the new products were announced last week. SB Touch runs a stripped-down version of SqueezeCenter, which has been called "TinySC" during the development period, although eventually it will have some other name.

The beta versions of SB Radio do not run "TinySC", and there would be little gain from doing so because the SB Radio has no provision for connected storage. The SB Touch, on the other hand, has a USB port to support external USB drives or flash drives, as well as an SD slot. The Touch is capable of making the music on the USB port or SD slot available to other SB players on via its on-board server software.

p88l
2009-09-08, 01:08
Thanks for clearing that up :)

So there is SqueezeOS running, but not much use for a server (because no USB).
You could develop other things on it (idea's?).
Is this also open for everyone,just like with the (duet) controller?

A few years ago I developed the software for the touch-screen remote control used in CitizenM hotels. I chose Linux, SDL en Lua for this development, so I should be able to find my way around ;)

Mark Lanctot
2009-09-08, 12:23
So there is SqueezeOS running, but not much use for a server (because no USB).

Radio doesn't have the CPU horsepower and memory that will be available on Touch.

SC runs on Touch but requires some optimizations. Radio does not have as much CPU and memory so it is not able to run SC.


Is this also open for everyone,just like with the (duet) controller?

Yes, via SSH. Radio and Controller are very similar - same size screen (though landscape on Radio and portrait on Controller) and I suspect similar processor and memory.


A few years ago I developed the software for the touch-screen remote control used in CitizenM hotels. I chose Linux, SDL en Lua for this development, so I should be able to find my way around ;)

Controller, Radio and Touch all run SqueezeOS and SqueezePlay with different skins, and you can have a play around with SqueezePlay on the desktop. You'll need to radically pare down SC to run on Radio or Controller though - it would be easier to start from scratch probably.

gdpeck
2009-10-08, 08:28
I just ordered a radio, and I'm a little confused as to how alarms interact between the radio and squeezebox server and mysqueezebox.com.

I need to be able to set an alarm, and have it be effective regardless of which source the radio is connected to at alarm time. It would also be nice if I could set the alarm anywhere (radio, SS, or MSB). For example if I go to sleep listening to local music on squeezebox server, but the alarm was set in the mysqueezebox.com web interface, the alarm should still fire. Do I have to do anything special to have this happen?

I understand how the backup alarms (no connectivity) work, so don't need any clarification there?

Also, I know this is a more general question about how alarms function, than a specific radio question. If you're aware of posts or articles that already exist which explain this functionality, please point me that way. I tried a few searches, and looked at wiki.slimdevices.com, and didn't find any information on this.

Thanks!
George