PDA

View Full Version : Last.fm & Trackstat

lrossouw
2009-08-23, 21:43
Hi

I'm writing a perl script which would import the last.fm counts to Erland's Trackstats plugin's tables. It would compare weekly playcounts and increase the Trackstats counts based on this. This should allow for a way to get plays form any Last.fm compatible player into the trackstats. I.e. iTunes, WMP, ipod etc.

I'm a novice (perl) writer and decided it would be too difficult (for me) to integrate as a plugin. It's freestanding script which accesses the mysql database directly, adds some tables and update them.

It also fetches global / country wide playcounts for the tracks in your library. This allows you to create dynamic playlists like "play me music from my library that is popular on last.fm in South Africa". Or "play me music from my library that was popular in the last week on last.fm" etc.

I'm already listening to dynamic playlists like the above using the sqlplaylist/dynamicplaylist plugin. However I have some utf8 issues (which I have no idea how to resolve). And I still need to write the bit that compares what is in trackstat versus what is in last.fm and updates.

This script could be useful to someone who wants to
a) run it once off and get all their last.fm playcounts into their library when they are starting out using trackstat (sort of backfill their data)
b) run it regularly to get updated last.fm playcounts into their library
c) run it regularly to get total playcount stats from last.fm (weekly and overall stats).
d) run it regularly to get country wise playcount stats from last.fm (weekly stats).
e) run it regularly to get group wise playcount stats from last.fm (weekly stats).

(b)-(d) is sort of working except that tracks\artists with special characters in their names don't get the counts imported.
I'm doing (a) next.
(e) should be relatively easy to add once a and d are working although I won't use it.

I need some pointers: