PDA

View Full Version : How to access Squeezeplay menus?



jkish
2009-08-15, 07:05
I currently access SqueezeCenter functionality via CLI, but need to try and get access to the XM plugin and others that may only be available via the SqueezePlay menu system.

I see reference to SqueezePlay menu doc via the Wiki, but nowhere can I find how I actually retrieve the SqueezePlay menu structure and interact with SqueezeCenter once I have it.

I'm probably missing something obvious.

Thanks for any pointers.

jkish
2009-08-16, 17:48
Is there some sort of (undocumented) menu CLI command that returns this information?

Some of the Squeezeplay Wiki entries suggest that this might be the case.

mherger
2009-08-17, 00:26
> I currently access SqueezeCenter functionality via CLI, but need to try
> and get access to the XM plugin and others that may only be available
> via the SqueezePlay menu system.

SqueezePlay uses the CLI commands (though through JSON/RPC instead of a
simple telnet style connection). A plugin has to provide that
functionality, otherwise it won't show up on SP. Don't know whether XM
does or not.

--

Michael

jkish
2009-08-17, 05:30
> I currently access SqueezeCenter functionality via CLI, but need to try
> and get access to the XM plugin and others that may only be available
> via the SqueezePlay menu system.

SqueezePlay uses the CLI commands (though through JSON/RPC instead of a
simple telnet style connection). A plugin has to provide that
functionality, otherwise it won't show up on SP. Don't know whether XM
does or not.

--

Michael

Thanks for the reply.

How do I find out what those JSON/RPC commands look like?

Would they show up in some sort of log if I accessed the website?

pippin
2009-08-17, 06:34
SqueezePlay uses the CLI commands (though through JSON/RPC instead of a
simple telnet style connection). A plugin has to provide that
functionality, otherwise it won't show up on SP. Don't know whether XM
does or not.


XM doesn't provide an OPML menu but has it's own SlimBrowse interface (it also doesn't show up under "Radios" or "Services" but "Extras".

I don't think you can get menus through JSON/RPC (at least you couldn't half a year ago), you have to use cometd.

pippin
2009-08-17, 06:35
Would they show up in some sort of log if I accessed the website?

Yes. Enable network.cometd and they show up in server.log

jkish
2009-08-17, 06:48
Yes. Enable network.cometd and they show up in server.log

Ok, thanks Pippen.

So, is the cometd interface documented somewhere other than in the logs?

Or is it just another packaging of CLI commands?

pippin
2009-08-17, 07:02
So, is the cometd interface documented somewhere other than in the logs?

Maybe in the code.
It's based on a standard protocol called the Bayeux Protocoll (don't nail me down on the spelling) butt it doesn't follow it strictly


Or is it just another packaging of CLI commands?

No, it's also a different transport. Most COMMANDS actually are indeed a different packaging of the CLI but you need to use the transport.

pippin
2009-08-17, 07:03
Oh, and search the Wiki for "SlimBrowse". Although that documentation, too, is not accurate...

jtpowell
2009-08-17, 16:00
Thanks for the reply.

How do I find out what those JSON/RPC commands look like?

Would they show up in some sort of log if I accessed the website?

The jsonrpc commands follow the cli documentation
The commands are sent as an http POST to your servers jsonrpc.js
The post information looks like the following
{"id":1,"method":"slim.request","params":["192.168.1.114",["playlist","play","2802"]]}

I'm using the jsonrpc.js for Squeeze Mobile so feel free to message me if you need help with them.

jkish
2009-08-17, 20:31
The jsonrpc commands follow the cli documentation
The commands are sent as an http POST to your servers jsonrpc.js
The post information looks like the following
{"id":1,"method":"slim.request","params":["192.168.1.114",["playlist","play","2802"]]}

I'm using the jsonrpc.js for Squeeze Mobile so feel free to message me if you need help with them.

Very cool, thanks.

I'm interested in accessing the Extras menus and acting on them.

Any experience?