PDA

View Full Version : Catch every keys

Watchwolf
2009-08-05, 05:35
I use Enna which is a media center. I want to control it with my squeezebox controller. To do this I need to write an extension in enna to get a command from the network (this is not a problem) and to add a plugins in the squeezebox controller to send the command to enna.

I plan to do something simple :
- select the enna plugin
- every key are catch by the plugin and send to Enna except the key "home" which quit the plugin enna.

As you see I need to catch every key, these keys must not be managed by the controller (the key "back" should not quit the plugin !). Do you think I can do this ? Currently I don't know a lot about the development on the squeezebox controller but I don't need to do something complicate and this point is the big problem.

indifference_engine
2009-08-05, 06:01
I'm no expert either but I've done exactly what you describe in my forthcoming applet. Basically you need to use the window:addlistener() method to trap all the key presses. BTW, if you've disabled Back and Home how do you intend to get out of your applet to play any music?
I'll post my source code here when I get home if you like?

Watchwolf
2009-08-05, 08:12
I will be glad if you post your source code :)

I don't plan to override the key home.

indifference_engine
2009-08-06, 05:40
I'm no expert either but I've done exactly what you describe in my forthcoming applet. Basically you need to use the window:addlistener() method to trap all the key presses. BTW, if you've disabled Back and Home how do you intend to get out of your applet to play any music?
I'll post my source code here when I get home if you like?

might be a little while I'm afraid. By broadband connection has gone down due to a problem at the exchange. BT are working on it...

indifference_engine
2009-08-10, 16:33
ok, I'm back online so as promised...