PDA

View Full Version : flac2mp3 issue



socistep
2009-07-20, 10:54
Hi All,

Anyone else experienced this issue with flac2mp3 script (by Robin) at all ?

I'm running it on my linux server, am doing the first big run before I set it to run daily. The script failed today with a track that has $ in the name

-----
Transcoding "Mansun/Kleptomania/3 - 11 Taxlo$$ (live).flac"

3 - 11 Taxlo22989 (live).flac: ERROR initializing decoder
init status = FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_INIT_STATUS_ERROR_OPENING_FIL E

An error occurred opening the input file; it is likely that it does not exist
or is not readable.
"flac" --decode --stdout --silent "Mansun/Kleptomania/3 - 11 Taxlo$$ (live).flac"| "lame" --noreplaygain --preset standard --alt-preset cbr 192 --quiet - "/storage/music/mp3/Mansun/Kleptomania/xo5zk12R2j.tmp" failed with exit code 256
-----

I renamed this to taxloss from taxlo$$ and its worked, I'm presuming that the script doesn't like the $ character and has kicked out the error.

Any ideas what could be causing this ?

Thanks
ian

ModelCitizen
2009-07-20, 12:05
Any ideas what could be causing this ?
Yup, the $ character. Robin only thinks in pounds.

MC

paulster
2009-07-20, 15:19
That's the only time it's failed for me too. I just avoid $ signs in my filenames now, which isn't a bad idea anyway when you're using a UNIX filesystem.

socistep
2009-07-20, 15:32
Yup, the $ character. Robin only thinks in pounds.

MC

Yeah I pretty much set myself up for that one :-)

socistep
2009-07-20, 15:33
That's the only time it's failed for me too. I just avoid $ signs in my filenames now, which isn't a bad idea anyway when you're using a UNIX filesystem.

its chugging along nicely now, can't remember any other songs with $ in

Robin Bowes
2009-07-23, 13:17
On 20/07/09 20:05, ModelCitizen wrote:
> socistep;442141 Wrote:
>> Any ideas what could be causing this ?
> Yup, the $ character. Robin only thinks in pounds.

Specifically:

https://projects.robinbowes.com/flac2mp3/trac#Donations

;)

R.