PDA

View Full Version : newbie: SlimServer problem playing FLAC files



Will Meyer
2004-06-09, 18:02
Hi all,

I've just got the slimserver up and running, Win XP, works great for
MP3s. My collection is all FLAC, though (360G of them). They all show
up in the browse areas, and I can add them to playlists, but when I
play, the player just goes immediately to Stopped and I can't get any
sound out of any of my software clients. Again, MP3s work fine for
exactly the same process.

I have FLAC installed and on my path, as well as LAME. I saw in a
transcoders file that there is a mapping for FLAC->MP3. The file
extensions are all .flac, so I'm not sure if the flc in the config file
is an extension, but that didn't seem to change anything. What am I
doing wrong? I am not sure which module is relevant so haven't tried to
use the debug logs to much. I have waited a while, so I don't think
it's that its in the middle of decoding or anything. I'm not sure how
files are decoded (as needed, batched, or what), but do know that I
don't see flac.exe running or anything while the player is just silent
and the web interface says Stopped.

If this all works, I'll be extremely pleased -- it's exactly what I
want. Any help is much appreciated.

Will

Pat Farrell
2004-06-09, 22:20
At 09:02 PM 6/9/2004, Will Meyer wrote:
>I've just got the slimserver up and running, Win XP, works great for
>MP3s. My collection is all FLAC, though (360G of them).

Good show.


>I have FLAC installed and on my path, as well as LAME. I saw in a
>transcoders file that there is a mapping for FLAC->MP3.

First, lets get it working, and then we'll get you to stop
transcoding from a good format (flac) to a bad one (mp3) when
you can feed .wav data and get full quality at no extra cost.



> What am I doing wrong? I am not sure which module is relevant so
> haven't tried to use the debug logs to much.

You have to turn on the verbosity debugging so you can see what is happening.


>not sure how files are decoded (as needed, batched, or what), but do know
>that I don't see flac.exe running or anything while the player is just
>silent and the web interface says Stopped.

That almost always means that the flac decoding failed.
the normal process is for flac to run and decode to a stream
as long as the song takes.

Go the server base page, usually <whateverslimserver>:9000/
then Server settings -> additional Server settings -> file types
and make sure that the checkbox is set.

For the convert command, I have
FLAC (to) MP3
[flac] -dcs $FILE$ | [lame] --resample 44100 --silent -q 9 -b $BITRATE$ - -

FLAC (to) WAV
[flac] -dcs --force-raw-format --endian=little --sign=signed $FILE$

See if you have that close. And make _sure_ that both flac and lame are on the
path of the userid that your slimserver is runing under, which may not be
the one you run under.

Pat

kdf
2004-06-10, 02:24
Quoting Will Meyer <will (AT) sptm (DOT) org>:

> Hi all,
>
> I've just got the slimserver up and running, Win XP, works great for
> MP3s. My collection is all FLAC, though (360G of them). They all show
> up in the browse areas, and I can add them to playlists, but when I
> play, the player just goes immediately to Stopped and I can't get any
> sound out of any of my software clients. Again, MP3s work fine for
> exactly the same process.
>
> I have FLAC installed and on my path, as well as LAME. I saw in a

try Server Settings->Additional Server Settings->file types and make sure that
the FLAC WAV conversion is checked.

then try Settings->Additional Server Settings->debugging and check d_source,
then the change button. Use the link at the top of that page to load the log
file and read the log after you try to play one of your files. The log will
show the attempt to find a command for converting from flac to wav and report on
the success or failure or this, as well as any failure to read the file itself.

-kdf