PDA

View Full Version : Internet Streaming Problem



Sunil Doshi
2004-06-09, 11:03
Thanks in advance for any help that is provided.

I set up SlimServer on my OS X machine yesterday. The machine sits
behind a router (and consequently a firewall). I forwarded all traffic
from port 9000 to this machine.

When I try to access the stream in ITunes (ex.
http://138.xxx.xxx.xxx:9000/stream.mp3) from another Mac from within my
house, I have no problem using it. I can also access the web interface
without a problem. I'm using a real IP address and not "localhost" or
an internal address.

When I try to access the stream and web interface from work, I can't do
it. The connections for both end up timing out. It doesn't seem like
they're ever making contact with my machine at home. As an aside, I am
able to open an SSH tunnel to that machine (and port 22 traffic has
been forwarded in the same way that I set up forwarding on Port 9000).
I'm behind a firewall at work as well (but I'm not sure if that would
be a problem.

I had a friend also try it from his workplace without any luck. He's
behind a firewall there as well.

Any ideas what the problem may be?


sunil
http://widepipe.org

Roy M. Silvernail
2004-06-09, 12:42
Sunil Doshi wrote:

> When I try to access the stream and web interface from work, I can't do
> it. The connections for both end up timing out. It doesn't seem like
> they're ever making contact with my machine at home. As an aside, I am
> able to open an SSH tunnel to that machine (and port 22 traffic has been
> forwarded in the same way that I set up forwarding on Port 9000). I'm
> behind a firewall at work as well (but I'm not sure if that would be a
> problem.

Two possibilities that I see: One is that your work firewall doesn't let
port 9000 out. The other is that your ISP doesn't let port 9000 in.

You can test the second possibility easily enough. From a machine on
your home net, go to http://grc.com and follow the "Shields UP" prompts
until you get to the test page. Then enter 9000 in the text box and
select "User Specified Custom Port Probe". If Shields-UP tells you 9000
is open, then your work firewall is probably blocking. Many commercial
firewalls block everything above 1024 by default. The fact that you can
connect via SSH points to this being the case.

If 9000 shows as "Stealth", then you need to check your port forwarding
rules.

>
> I had a friend also try it from his workplace without any luck. He's
> behind a firewall there as well.

Maybe your companies shop at the same firewall store? :)
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com

Sunil Doshi
2004-06-09, 19:39
Roy,
This is really helpful. Thanks for the response.

Unfortunately, it looks like the issue got a bit complicated. I went to
grc.com and did the Port Probe. It came up "Open" for port 9000. I was
hoping that it would come up closed so I knew my ISP was blocking the
port. For the record, my broadband service is the run-of-the-mill
Verizon Residential DSL. I did a bit of Googling and found some places
where they said that Verizon closes most superfluous ports. But the
post probe says otherwise...

I'm ready to change ISPs (for more reasons than this). But I don't want
to switch and be stuck in the same boat. I was thinking of Speakeasy.
They advertise that they don't block ports.

Anyone else use Verizon without the problems I'm describing?


On Jun 9, 2004, at 3:42 PM, Roy M. Silvernail wrote:

> Sunil Doshi wrote:
>
>> When I try to access the stream and web interface from work, I can't
>> do it. The connections for both end up timing out. It doesn't seem
>> like they're ever making contact with my machine at home. As an
>> aside, I am able to open an SSH tunnel to that machine (and port 22
>> traffic has been forwarded in the same way that I set up forwarding
>> on Port 9000). I'm behind a firewall at work as well (but I'm not
>> sure if that would be a problem.
>
> Two possibilities that I see: One is that your work firewall doesn't
> let port 9000 out. The other is that your ISP doesn't let port 9000
> in.
>
> You can test the second possibility easily enough. From a machine on
> your home net, go to http://grc.com and follow the "Shields UP"
> prompts until you get to the test page. Then enter 9000 in the text
> box and select "User Specified Custom Port Probe". If Shields-UP
> tells you 9000 is open, then your work firewall is probably blocking.
> Many commercial firewalls block everything above 1024 by default. The
> fact that you can connect via SSH points to this being the case.
>
> If 9000 shows as "Stealth", then you need to check your port
> forwarding rules.
>
>> I had a friend also try it from his workplace without any luck. He's
>> behind a firewall there as well.
>
> Maybe your companies shop at the same firewall store? :)
> --
> Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
> Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
> SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
> http://www.rant-central.com
>

dean
2004-06-10, 10:25
Hi Sunil,

I don't use Verizon, but I'm a VERY happy Speakeasy customer.

Their support and sales people are terrific, the service is reliable
and they are very geek friendly. (Open ports, DNS, connection
sharing).

And depending on your location you can get up to 6Mb/768kb service.
Highly recommended.

They have a refer a friend program, use this link:
<http://www.speakeasy.net/refer/212353> and be my friend!

All the best,

dean


On Jun 9, 2004, at 7:39 PM, Sunil Doshi wrote:

> Roy,
> This is really helpful. Thanks for the response.
>
> Unfortunately, it looks like the issue got a bit complicated. I went
> to grc.com and did the Port Probe. It came up "Open" for port 9000. I
> was hoping that it would come up closed so I knew my ISP was blocking
> the port. For the record, my broadband service is the run-of-the-mill
> Verizon Residential DSL. I did a bit of Googling and found some places
> where they said that Verizon closes most superfluous ports. But the
> post probe says otherwise...
>
> I'm ready to change ISPs (for more reasons than this). But I don't
> want to switch and be stuck in the same boat. I was thinking of
> Speakeasy. They advertise that they don't block ports.
>
> Anyone else use Verizon without the problems I'm describing?
>
>
> On Jun 9, 2004, at 3:42 PM, Roy M. Silvernail wrote:
>
>> Sunil Doshi wrote:
>>
>>> When I try to access the stream and web interface from work, I can't
>>> do it. The connections for both end up timing out. It doesn't seem
>>> like they're ever making contact with my machine at home. As an
>>> aside, I am able to open an SSH tunnel to that machine (and port 22
>>> traffic has been forwarded in the same way that I set up forwarding
>>> on Port 9000). I'm behind a firewall at work as well (but I'm not
>>> sure if that would be a problem.
>>
>> Two possibilities that I see: One is that your work firewall doesn't
>> let port 9000 out. The other is that your ISP doesn't let port 9000
>> in.
>>
>> You can test the second possibility easily enough. From a machine on
>> your home net, go to http://grc.com and follow the "Shields UP"
>> prompts until you get to the test page. Then enter 9000 in the text
>> box and select "User Specified Custom Port Probe". If Shields-UP
>> tells you 9000 is open, then your work firewall is probably blocking.
>> Many commercial firewalls block everything above 1024 by default.
>> The fact that you can connect via SSH points to this being the case.
>>
>> If 9000 shows as "Stealth", then you need to check your port
>> forwarding rules.
>>
>>> I had a friend also try it from his workplace without any luck. He's
>>> behind a firewall there as well.
>>
>> Maybe your companies shop at the same firewall store? :)
>> --
>> Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
>> Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
>> SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
>> http://www.rant-central.com
>>