PDA

View Full Version : flac problem



rde_w
2009-07-09, 14:04
I've been running with MP3s since my first Slimp3 but have just decided to convert everything to FLAC. I did a couple of tests and things went well with my Squeezebox 3s. Everything seemed to play well. However, today for the first time I went to play a FLAC on one of my Slimp3s and it fails. I've hunted around forums to no avail. Can anyone point me in right direction please. I've tried this on all devices, Squeezeboxes work, Slimp3s fail.

Example error from the squeezecenter log:
[09-07-09 21:22:43.0848] Slim::Player::Song::open (341) Error: Couldn't create command line for flc playback for [file:///music/Don%20Davis/THE%20MATRIX%20Original%20Motion%20Picture%20Score/01%20-%20Don%20Davis%20-%20Main%20TitleTrinity%20Infinity.flac]

Running: Suse 11.1, Squeezecenter Version: 7.3.2 - 24695 @ Mon Jan 19 16:57:28 PST 2009
Squeezebox 3 (x3), Squeezebox 2 (x1), Slimp3 (x4)

wholelottaled
2009-07-09, 14:35
What did you use to convert too Flac?

rde_w
2009-07-09, 16:17
I used GRIP, encode set to flac, encoder executable was /usr/bin/flac

wholelottaled
2009-07-09, 19:47
Never used that one ..I use Exact copy and it works fine..sorry I cant help you..

Mnyb
2009-07-09, 19:57
I've been running with MP3s since my first Slimp3 but have just decided to convert everything to FLAC. I did a couple of tests and things went well with my Squeezebox 3s. Everything seemed to play well. However, today for the first time I went to play a FLAC on one of my Slimp3s and it fails. I've hunted around forums to no avail. Can anyone point me in right direction please. I've tried this on all devices, Squeezeboxes work, Slimp3s fail.

Example error from the squeezecenter log:
[09-07-09 21:22:43.0848] Slim::Player::Song::open (341) Error: Couldn't create command line for flc playback for [file:///music/Don%20Davis/THE%20MATRIX%20Original%20Motion%20Picture%20Score/01%20-%20Don%20Davis%20-%20Main%20TitleTrinity%20Infinity.flac]

Running: Suse 11.1, Squeezecenter Version: 7.3.2 - 24695 @ Mon Jan 19 16:57:28 PST 2009
Squeezebox 3 (x3), Squeezebox 2 (x1), Slimp3 (x4)

Hmm the slimp3 does not have native support for flac so your server is supposed to do transcoding flac to wav ? (or flac to mp3 ? )
A possibility is that it's an issue with that.

check your filetypes setting under advanced:
"
FLAC FLAC native
MP3 flac/lame
PCM flac
"
check also that you actually have the flac binarie in squeezecenter.
which should be there per default ?
If you are using some kind of bitrate limiting transcoding to mp3, you must have lame installed on your system and that is not distributed with SC for licensing reasons. I've no clue what goes where on a suse machine.
Turn off the bitrate limiting for the slimp3 if it is on.

Otherwise I have no exact clue on whats your problem, perhaps using some of the logging settings can get you more info ?

and you should consider using 7.3.3 or better 7.3.4 (the bug corrected 7.3.3 )

Mnyb
2009-07-09, 20:04
Update see this tread !

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=47647&highlight=slimp3+flac

You should probably install lame

rde_w
2009-07-10, 11:45
Yep, that fixed it thank you. All I did was install LAME, nothing more and it works now. However, it leads to a question, I don't understand the table, does it now mean that all flacs are processed on the server, or is it only for the slimp3s? If flacs were processed on the squeezeboxes before am I putting extra load on the server for the slimp3s and the squeezeboxes or is it for the slimp3s only (when playing flacs)_?

regards and thanks for the help, robin

Mnyb
2009-07-10, 12:04
flac's is only processed fot the slimp3's .

If one don't fiddle to much with the settings, transcoding is only used when needed ie when the player is not up to it.

Here: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/HardwareComparison .

So for example SB3 and SBR can handle 24bit 48kHz flac but where i to play an 24 bit 96kHz file this will also get transcoded.

Or wma lossles or alac will be transcoded for all players.

exception WAV is for example per default transcoded to flac to save wifi bandwidth, even if the player can handle it.
(this can be turned of ).