PDA

View Full Version : Is it safe to keep an SB3 in stand-by all the time?



Declan Moriarty
2009-07-08, 14:04
I have a second hand SqueezeBox 3 that came with a UNIFIVE power supply that gave up the ghost. I replaced it with the more modern replacement power supply whitch is far better! It doesn't get nearly as hot! However the power supply does get warm but not overly so. The squeezebox gets warm.

Should I unplug it when not in use?

Some people say they see red lines in the display. This isn't happening to mine yet. Does keeping it on (in stand by) make this more likely?

Thank you in advance.

Declan Moriarty.

Phil Leigh
2009-07-08, 14:07
I have a second hand SqueezeBox 3 that came with a UNIFIVE power supply that gave up the ghost. I replaced it with the more modern replacement power supply whitch is far better! It doesn't get nearly as hot! However the power supply does get warm but not overly so. The squeezebox gets warm.

Should I unplug it when not in use?

Some people say they see red lines in the display. This isn't happening to mine yet. Does keeping it on (in stand by) make this more likely?

Thank you in advance.

Declan Moriarty.
I've now left an SB plugged in for 6 years with no problems.
Electrical stuff gets warm.

chrisla
2009-07-08, 14:14
I've had a squeezebox classic (I really should post some pics
sometime) on for over a year sealed in a water-tight box (+ two power
bricks) out by my hot tub. If it were going to overheat, I think such
a torture test would have done it in. It's happy as a clam. *knock
wood*

-Chris

On Wed, Jul 8, 2009 at 2:07 PM, Phil
Leigh<Phil.Leigh.3v0x3b1247087282 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Declan Moriarty;439068 Wrote:
>> I have a second hand SqueezeBox 3 that came with a UNIFIVE power supply
>> that gave up the ghost. I replaced it with the more modern replacement
>> power supply whitch is far better! It doesn't get nearly as hot!
>> However the power supply does get warm but not overly so. The
>> squeezebox gets warm.
>>
>> Should I unplug it when not in use?
>>
>> Some people say they see red lines in the display. This isn't
>> happening to mine yet. Does keeping it on (in stand by) make this more
>> likely?
>>
>> Thank you in advance.
>>
>> Declan Moriarty.
> I've now left an SB plugged in for 6 years with no problems.
> Electrical stuff gets warm.
>
>
> --
> Phil Leigh
>
> You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it
> ain't what you'd call minimal...
> SB3 (wired) - TACT 2.2X (Linear PSU) + Good Vibrations S/W - MF
> Triplethreat(Audiocom full mods) - Linn 5103 - Aktiv 5.1 system (6x
> LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Townsend Supertweeters, Blue
> Jeans Digital,Kimber Speaker & Chord Interconnect cables
> Outdoors: Boom
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Phil Leigh's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=85
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=65399
>
>

radish
2009-07-08, 14:32
FYI, the red lines are normal and not a fault or a sign of a problem - they're intrisic to the VFD display. You should be able to see them if you look closely enough.

pfarrell
2009-07-08, 14:40
Declan Moriarty wrote:
> Should I unplug it when not in use?

I have never unplugged any of my Squeezeboxen. I've had them since the
SB1 came out probably 6 or more years ago. Since then, I've added more
SqueezeBoxes, a Duet, Boom, Transporter. I've never unplugged any of them.

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

iPhone
2009-07-08, 17:03
I have a second hand SqueezeBox 3 that came with a UNIFIVE power supply that gave up the ghost. I replaced it with the more modern replacement power supply whitch is far better! It doesn't get nearly as hot! However the power supply does get warm but not overly so. The squeezebox gets warm.

Should I unplug it when not in use?

Some people say they see red lines in the display. This isn't happening to mine yet. Does keeping it on (in stand by) make this more likely?

Thank you in advance.

Declan Moriarty.

Yes. Its meant to stay on which is why it doesn't have a power switch!