PDA

View Full Version : Why no Transporter Thread at the highest hierary level?



deutscherhififan
2009-07-04, 13:49
As the title says, I am wondering why there is no Transporter thread at the highest level. We got boom, duet, etc. As a transporter owner, it would be nice to be able to have a 'home' to go to for discussions affecting my Logitech product.

SamS
2009-07-04, 14:02
I dunno. It would be nice. I received my Transporter yesterday, and have a few questions.

deutscherhififan
2009-07-04, 14:15
I dunno. It would be nice. I received my Transporter yesterday, and have a few questions.

What are your questions? I may be able to help.

SamS
2009-07-04, 14:24
Just some strange things I noticed:

1) The knob seems to "slip" a bit when it gets to the end of a list. Not a hard stop, it's almost like it's a bit loose. I realize it's IC controlled and doesn't work like a regular knob. It just has a different sensation than what I was expecting.

2) When setting up the Player->Basic Settings in the SC Web UI, the minimum time you can put the screensaver time to to is "1", whereas my SB3 let's me put it to "0" so my MusicInfo SCR plugin kicks on instantaneously. If you put the Transporter screensaver time to "0", it will never kick on.

3) I wish we could take the handles off, it would look so much nicer without them.

4) The sound is very nice. I haven't A/B'd it against my SB3+DAC, I just set it up in my office temporarily. But, the sound quality is definitely there.

radish
2009-07-04, 15:22
The Audiophiles forum also typically serves as a TP forum, although obviously if you have questions about SC or SN they're best asked in those forums.

JJZolx
2009-07-04, 19:06
Just some strange things I noticed:

1) The knob seems to "slip" a bit when it gets to the end of a list. Not a hard stop, it's almost like it's a bit loose. I realize it's IC controlled and doesn't work like a regular knob. It just has a different sensation than what I was expecting.

I never use the knob, but I believe it's intended so that you can 'feel' the end of the list, but push through. I doubt that the magnetic mechenism employed by the knob is capable of effecting a true hard stop.


2) When setting up the Player->Basic Settings in the SC Web UI, the minimum time you can put the screensaver time to to is "1", whereas my SB3 let's me put it to "0" so my MusicInfo SCR plugin kicks on instantaneously. If you put the Transporter screensaver time to "0", it will never kick on.

Dunno about that one. In my experience setting the screensaver timeout too low makes navigating difficult.


3) I wish we could take the handles off, it would look so much nicer without them.

You can probably do so if you take the unit apart. I've kicked around the idea of removing them and replacing them with some type of black cap bolt.

SamS
2009-07-04, 20:39
2) When setting up the Player->Basic Settings in the SC Web UI, the minimum time you can put the screensaver time to to is "1", whereas my SB3 let's me put it to "0" so my MusicInfo SCR plugin kicks on instantaneously. If you put the Transporter screensaver time to "0", it will never kick on.

I was wrong about the above. Both SB3 and Transporter need to have Screensaver timeout to "1" to work properly.


I never use the knob, but I believe it's intended so that you can 'feel' the end of the list, but push through. I doubt that the magnetic mechenism employed by the knob is capable of effecting a true hard stop.

Ah, gotcha.



You can probably do so if you take the unit apart. I've kicked around the idea of removing them and replacing them with some type of black cap bolt.

You try it first!

Veggen
2009-07-05, 02:09
3) I wish we could take the handles off, it would look so much nicer without them.
You can probably do so if you take the unit apart. I've kicked around the idea of removing them and replacing them with some type of black cap bolt.

I have done just that, it is quick and easy, a 10 minute job.
Just make sure you have the correct sized allen key to take off the lid. It is pretty small, 1/16 or 5/64 inch I think.
Sorry about the picture quality, but you get the idea.

funkstar
2009-07-05, 04:06
You can probably do so if you take the unit apart. I've kicked around the idea of removing them and replacing them with some type of black cap bolt.
I'm pretty sure Sean has said it wouldn't be a problem if you decided to do this in the past.

There is also the Transporter Rack Mounting Kit, so presumably you need to take the lid off to install that.

SamS
2009-07-05, 05:52
I have done just that, it is quick and easy, a 10 minute job.
Just make sure you have the correct sized allen key to take off the lid. It is pretty small, 1/16 or 5/64 inch I think.
Sorry about the picture quality, but you get the idea.

That looks nice. What did you cover the holes withe? Or is it just the thread holes left? Hard to tell from the pic.

Veggen
2009-07-05, 08:14
That looks nice. What did you cover the holes withe? Or is it just the thread holes left? Hard to tell from the pic.

I used some black allen head bolts to plug the holes. The holes are recessed so that the bolts become flush with the front plate.

deutscherhififan
2009-07-05, 08:38
I was also thinking about the 'ugly factor' of the handles, but my modded unit now weighs over 20 pounds and they do come in handy when moving the unit around in tight spaces.

Does anyone have issues when using a SBC with the transporter? It seems like the two don't like each other and eventually the SBC just refuses to connect to the transporter. The transporter's control freeze when trying to control it with the SBC. It's fine as I have a universal remote control for my primary system, but still a little annoying.

SamS
2009-07-05, 08:57
I used some black allen head bolts to plug the holes. The holes are recessed so that the head of the bolts are flush with the front plate.

Do you recall the size of the allen bolts you used to plug the holes and/or where you got them?



Does anyone have issues when using a SBC with the transporter? It seems like the two don't like each other and eventually the SBC just refuses to connect to the transporter. The transporter's control freeze when trying to control it with the SBC. It's fine as I have a universal remote control for my primary system, but still a little annoying.

Oh don't say that. I have a SBC brand new in a box yesterday that came free with my Transporter. I was waiting a bit to set it up.

Veggen
2009-07-05, 09:05
Do you recall the size of the allen bolts you used to plug the holes and/or where you got them?

They were just some I had lying around, I think they were M3 size, 1/8 inch will also do fine.

ghostrider
2009-07-05, 09:07
I bought a stand-alone SBC to use with my Transporter and Boom. I don't have any issues but I still run SC 7.2. The SBC, to me, seems flakey after 7.3 and I don't need any of the functions that 7.3 provides, espscially the SBC as a player.

SamS
2009-07-05, 09:07
They were just some I had lying around, I think they were M3 size, 1/8 inch will also do fine.

Thanks. Do you know approximately how long?

Veggen
2009-07-05, 09:16
Thanks. Do you know approximately how long?

Not critical, half an inch or so, there is plenty of space.

deutscherhififan
2009-07-05, 10:18
I bought a stand-alone SBC to use with my Transporter and Boom. I don't have any issues but I still run SC 7.2. The SBC, to me, seems flakey after 7.3 and I don't need any of the functions that 7.3 provides, espscially the SBC as a player.

I am on 7.3.3, that could explain it. I have basically resigned to just using the SBC with the SBR in a second system.

pfarrell
2009-07-05, 10:50
Veggen wrote:
> SamS;438228 Wrote:
>> Thanks. Do you know approximately how long?
> Not critical, half an inch or so, there is plenty of space.

Oh no! They have to be exactly 3 mm hex head that are 10 mm long.
Otherwise, you mess up the eddy currents inside the Transporter, and
lose all the fidelity.

Think of it as $1000 interconnect wires, they make a difference.

Veggen
2009-07-05, 12:34
Shit...
I'll have to open mine and check the length right now.
Does the hardness of the steel matter, mine are 8.8 I think.
Hope the fidelity is'nt lost forever.
Tell me there is still hope, please...

iPhone
2009-07-05, 13:11
Shit...
I'll have to open mine and check the length right now.
Does the hardness of the steel matter, mine are 8.8 I think.
Hope the fidelity is'nt lost forever.
Tell me there is still hope, please...

Hey maybe somebody in Admin could start a Transporter Section and move the whole thread over there?

Well if you have already taken the top off, you already let all the smoke out so what does it matter now?! Also removing the handles drastically affects the electro magnetic fields of the transformers and especially so in the ModWright with its toroidal transformer!

.

.

.

Oh, just realized and forgot this wasn't the Audiophile Forum. I am obviously just joking. But seriously, I don't believe Logitech is going to void your warranty for removing the handles as I believe the top has to come off to install the rack mount kit. Safe bet is to email or call support or if one is really paranoid wait 3 years until the warranty is up.

bobertuk
2009-07-05, 13:25
Oh, just realized and forgot this wasn't the Audiophile Forum. I am obviously just joking. But seriously, I don't believe Logitech is going to void your warranty for removing the handles as I believe the top has to come off to install the rack mount kit. Safe bet is to email or call support or if one is really paranoid wait 3 years until the warranty is up.

Or, if the need for a warrenty repair arises, take the top off again and put the handles back on - assuming you haven't throw them away :-)

Bob

radish
2009-07-05, 16:03
Does anyone have issues when using a SBC with the transporter? It seems like the two don't like each other and eventually the SBC just refuses to connect to the transporter. The transporter's control freeze when trying to control it with the SBC. It's fine as I have a universal remote control for my primary system, but still a little annoying.

I use an SBC with my Transporter all the time, no issues. Which makes sense, the SBC has very little clue as to what kind of player it's controlling, I can't imagine how it could be less reliable with one kind than another.

SamS
2009-07-05, 21:54
What happens if you feed a Transporter a 24/192 FLAC file?

Phil Leigh
2009-07-05, 21:59
What happens if you feed a Transporter a 24/192 FLAC file?

I would hope that it would be downsampled to 24/96 by SOX?

iPhone
2009-07-06, 08:07
The Audiophiles forum also typically serves as a TP forum, although obviously if you have questions about SC or SN they're best asked in those forums.

That is all the more reason in my mind to have a separate Transporter Section, especially since back about a year ago the under header for the Audiophile section was changed to: "Know everything about Pear Cables v.s. The Amazing Randi? This is your forum."

Who wants the Transporter associated with that?????????????????

SamS
2009-07-06, 08:14
I would hope that it would be downsampled to 24/96 by SOX?

That's what I was thinking....anyone know for certain?

deutscherhififan
2009-07-06, 21:53
That is all the more reason in my mind to have a separate Transporter Section, especially since back about a year ago the under header for the Audiophile section was changed to: "Know everything about Pear Cables v.s. The Amazing Randi? This is your forum."

Who wants the Transporter associated with that?????????????????

Totally agree. It makes no sense that the flagship in the product line up has to squeeze in some other place. And yes, that's a dumb title for the audiophile section.

cliveb
2009-07-07, 00:16
I was also thinking about the 'ugly factor' of the handles, but my modded unit now weighs over 20 pounds and they do come in handy when moving the unit around in tight spaces.
Having seen the picture of your modded TP, I'd respectfully suggest that the handles are no longer the determining factor in its ugliness. :-)


Does anyone have issues when using a SBC with the transporter? It seems like the two don't like each other and eventually the SBC just refuses to connect to the transporter.
I've been using an SBC with my Transporter for ages now, and never had a problem. Which doesn't help you, of course, but at least you know they can be made to work together.

deutscherhififan
2009-07-07, 18:41
[QUOTE=cliveb;438604]Having seen the picture of your modded TP, I'd respectfully suggest that the handles are no longer the determining factor in its ugliness. :-)


Really? I think the tube output stage with the EML 5U4G is a thing of beauty..., but I guess taste varies. Sonically, the Modwright unit is
beautiful for sure :)