PDA

View Full Version : Computer Won't Stay In Standby Mode When SqueezeCenter Is Running



newy
2009-06-26, 14:08
Hello. I've been struggling w/ an issue for, oh, about a year now and just thought I'd post to see if anyone has any ideas.

Basically, when I put my computer into standby mode it won't stay in standby mode if SqueezeCenter is running. It wakes up after approximately 1 minute and won't go back to Standby Mode.

I've had it working the way I want periodically since I bought my Transporter last summer and its acting up again.

I just upgraded to 7.3.3 around the same time I "upgraded" my Antivirus software that comes w/ my Rogers Internet package up here in Canada.

Can anyone think of any settings I might check?

I'm running Windows XP. Transporter is Wireless. Router is D-Link WBR-1310. Network card is Intel Pro /1000 MT Network Connection.

Thanks!

aubuti
2009-06-26, 20:58
Do you use a SB Controller? I have found that with some SBC firmware if I leave the SBC screen somewhere in my music library (eg, Browse Artists) it will wake up my server from S3 a minute after suspending. If I go back to the home screen it doesn't wake up the server.

newy
2009-06-27, 06:45
OMG, it IS the Controller! I don't know why I never thought of that. It didn't work when I went to the Home Page on the Controller but when I took the battery out of the Controller the computer goes into standby and does not come out of standby unless I want it to.

Here are my Controller settings (latest firmware installed):

Enable Playback - Off
Enable SSH - On
Sleep Timeout - 30
Suspend Timeout - 2400
Suspend Enabled - Enabled
Wireless Power Save - Enabled

Could any of these settings be the source of my problems?

Oh yeah, and what is "S3"? Are there different forms of sleep?

Thanks!

jrichardson
2009-06-27, 07:32
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=10810

see the above bug, add your self to it, comment in it, give us feed back so we can track the issue down and fix it :)

thanks

aubuti
2009-06-27, 20:07
Could any of these settings be the source of my problems?

Oh yeah, and what is "S3"? Are there different forms of sleep?
Yes, there are different forms of sleep. S3 is "suspend to RAM." Another common one is S4, also known as "hibernate", in which the session contents are written to disk. See this link for some basic info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Configuration_and_Power_Interface

In my experience the main factors have been (a) SBC firmware and (b) where the SBC's menu is when the computer suspends. But as James indicates, it's something they're still trying to reproduce reliably.

riffer
2009-06-28, 08:27
In the menu's for the Intel NIC try ticking only "Wake on Magic Packet". That works for me, and still allows me to wake the server using the Transporter and WOL.

autopilot
2009-06-28, 14:48
I have had this issue on and off with a few SBC FW's. I think i also opened a bug a few months back.

I also found that leaving it in on the Browse music screen etc caused this and also cured it by returning it to the Home menu after finishing with it.

slingshot
2009-06-29, 08:39
I've had similar problems with all later released versions, I reverted back to 7.2.1 because of this and that worked great for the last 6 months or more, currently I'm running a beta 7.4 which also seems fine.

If you can't live with it then you could always give 7.2.1 a try.

Slingshot

jrichardson
2009-06-29, 08:53
I've had similar problems with all later released versions, I reverted back to 7.2.1 because of this and that worked great for the last 6 months or more, currently I'm running a beta 7.4 which also seems fine.

If you can't live with it then you could always give 7.2.1 a try.

Slingshot

Can you please add these comments to the bug?