PDA

View Full Version : SB2 SC7.3.3--MP3 looks like it's working but it's silent.



Dogmatix
2009-06-21, 22:27
Ok, I recently upgraded to 7.3.3 from 7.2.x? [I don't recall which version now] and have lost some critical functionality: the ability to play MP3 files [or streams for that matter].

When I try to play an MP3 file, the player goes through the motions and reads the file. The logs indicate that the player is, indeed, playing. HOwever, no sound comes out and the file doesn't actually play (timer is stuck at the start of the file--you can fast-forward to any point and it does the same thing...sticks at whatever point you forward to. "Now playing" indicates it's playing).

LAME is installed [my first thought] but that changes nothing. If I disable native MP3 decoding in the player, it fails.

Any clues on what I can do to fix this short of recoding 6,000 episodes of old radio shows?

SB2 with SC 7.3.3 on Windows XP SP3...

Phil Leigh
2009-06-21, 23:14
Ok, I recently upgraded to 7.3.3 from 7.2.x? [I don't recall which version now] and have lost some critical functionality: the ability to play MP3 files [or streams for that matter].

When I try to play an MP3 file, the player goes through the motions and reads the file. The logs indicate that the player is, indeed, playing. HOwever, no sound comes out and the file doesn't actually play (timer is stuck at the start of the file--you can fast-forward to any point and it does the same thing...sticks at whatever point you forward to. "Now playing" indicates it's playing).

LAME is installed [my first thought] but that changes nothing. If I disable native MP3 decoding in the player, it fails.

Any clues on what I can do to fix this short of recoding 6,000 episodes of old radio shows?

SB2 with SC 7.3.3 on Windows XP SP3...

are these radio shows in an unusual format - like 32k sampling rate for example?

Dogmatix
2009-06-22, 09:45
are these radio shows in an unusual format - like 32k sampling rate for example?


Yep. They're low sampling rate files (including lots at 32k). That said, they've worked in the past. It's only since the upgrade to 7.x that I've had problems. In addition, it's happening with "normal" [128k and up] mp3 files too. This behavior is happening with all .mp3 files in my library--all appear to be playing but there's no sound and the timer isn't moving [yet they work within softsqueeze, so I'm thinking it's some sort of new hardware issue between SB2 and SC7.x]

Phil Leigh
2009-06-22, 09:51
hmmm... enable player logging in settings - advanced and see what turns up in the log.

You do have LAME.exe installed don't you? (it's not part of the install itself IIRC)

Dogmatix
2009-06-22, 11:45
hmmm... enable player logging in settings - advanced and see what turns up in the log.

You do have LAME.exe installed don't you? (it's not part of the install itself IIRC)

Yep. LAME is installed and it's working [or at least it's "installed properly" per SC]. I'll post the logs when I get home this evening.

jrichardson
2009-06-22, 15:10
When you post your log, can you also post a few of the streams you are trying to play (full HTML please)

Dogmatix
2009-06-22, 22:21
When you post your log, can you also post a few of the streams you are trying to play (full HTML please)

I can't post the streams at the moment, sorry [but the local MP3 failure is far more important to me]. Attached is the log for examples of a few mp3 files that previously worked but no longer do. Forgive the ridiculous length but I turned all the player debug info on.

The file attached is the player log.

Additional lines from the server logs surely seem like everything is playing, but there's absolutely no sound and no indication on the player that the file is actually playing ["Now Playing" shows file as playing, but there's no movement.]

Phil Leigh
2009-06-22, 22:34
hmmm...problem seems to be at the player end (firmware?) - what firmware version are you running now? Can you do a factory reset of the sb2 player then a Xilinx reset then try again?

Dogmatix
2009-06-22, 22:54
hmmm...problem seems to be at the player end (firmware?) - what firmware version are you running now? Can you do a factory reset of the sb2 player then a Xilinx reset then try again?



Firmware info:
Player Model: squeezebox2
Firmware: 127


I'd be happy to do a reset of the player (though I assume it will just update back to F/w 127 to be compatible with SC 7.3.3).

I do, however, need you to translate "...then a Xilinx reset" into english for me. :)

Dogmatix
2009-06-22, 22:56
Firmware info:
Player Model: squeezebox2
Firmware: 127


I'd be happy to do a reset of the player (though I assume it will just update back to F/w 127 to be compatible with SC 7.3.3).

I do, however, need you to translate "...then a Xilinx reset" into english for me. :)

Never mind...found the wiki page. Resets coming shortly :)

Dogmatix
2009-06-22, 23:20
Never mind...found the wiki page. Resets coming shortly :)

All resets done, and no joy. Same symptoms--looks like it's playing but no MP3s are working [I've tried it with some 128k MP3s too to no avail.] Logs attached again. I'd love to get this working again without having to downgrade all the way back to 6.5.1, particularly if it's actually a firmware problem [since I don't see how a change in SC version would do anything to fix that. As I mentioned before, the server and SoftSqueeze both appear to be doing all the stuff they should normally do with these files...It does worry me that the Boom I've had my eye on to replace this SB2 as my daily alarm clock will have this same problem]

As for other info that may or may not be useful:

Version: 7.3.3 - 27044 @ Mon Jun 15 15:14:08 PDT 2009
Hostname: xxxxx
Server IP Address: xxxxx
Server HTTP Port Number: 9000
Operating system: Windows XP - EN - cp1252
Platform Architecture: 586
Perl Version: 5.8.8 - MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
MySQL Version: 5.0.22-community-nt
Total Players Recognized: 1


Any help would be most appreciated.

Edit: To get back to JR regarding the radio streams, the 2 local sites I was using for my test cases last night are both offline tonight. There's a distinct possibility that I was just "lucky" last night and hit on 2 dogs while trying to sort this MP3 issue. I'll try to find another--or, if you've got a few MP3 streams out there that you'd like me to try to check, post the URLs and I'll tune into them. At least that may help to narrow down the source of my problem...


EDIT2: And another interesting problem...trying to connect to any of the OTR MP3 streams on Live365 now gives me a "timeout" error after 15 seconds even though the default timeout is set to 120 seconds. That's irritating. No NPR feed is working, nor is shoutcast. But Alien is working....

nsfw
2009-06-23, 06:03
I fixed this problem for myself last night... 7.3.4 MacOSX

Settings->advanced->file types->

On the left you will see MP3:
The first entry was FLAC->mplayer.sh/flac
The second entry was mp3->native

I changed the Flac one to disabled and now mp3's are just being played as mp3 instead of trying to encode them to flac. That would be insane to do that. :-) Maybe some adjustment there may help you too.

Dogmatix
2009-06-23, 08:16
Thanks for the tip; I'll give it a shot. I fixed the stream errors [typo in my gateway IP; still a little befuddled as to why Alien and BBC iPlayer worked just fine with the bad gateway address but all the other 'net radio sites wouldn't connect--at least @#$@#$@ pilot error, while embarrassing, is easy to fix.


I fixed this problem for myself last night... 7.3.4 MacOSX

Settings->advanced->file types->

On the left you will see MP3:
The first entry was FLAC->mplayer.sh/flac
The second entry was mp3->native

I changed the Flac one to disabled and now mp3's are just being played as mp3 instead of trying to encode them to flac. That would be insane to do that. :-) Maybe some adjustment there may help you too.

Dogmatix
2009-06-23, 08:21
Thanks for the tip; I'll give it a shot. I fixed the stream errors [typo in my gateway IP; still a little befuddled as to why Alien and BBC iPlayer worked just fine with the bad gateway address but all the other 'net radio sites wouldn't connect--at least @#$@#$@ pilot error, while embarrassing, is easy to fix.

Sadly, I only have 1 entry under MP3 (and it's the only one with 1 entry): MP3->Native, so this isn't going to work for me. [Lame shows up everywhere else].

Did the SB2 have issues with native MP3 decoding that I worked around in the past [my 6.x installs were ages ago] that got blown up when I upgraded to 7.x.x? Hrm....

pablolie
2009-06-23, 09:01
did you upgrade to 7.3.3 over an existing install? if so, i'd try to sweep it entirely off your system, and then do a clean 7.3.3 reinstall from scratch. i had issues with the 7.3.3 upgrade myself, and attribute them to too much history having been kept around in directories that the upgrade process should have cleaned up thoroughly. i know it is a pita because you lose all your settings, but hey, i think every once in a while we need to do that...

Phil Leigh
2009-06-23, 22:28
worth checking there is nothing odd in convert.conf and custom_convert.conf
can you confirm that you have some mp3's that play and some that don't?

Phil Leigh
2009-06-24, 22:12
In the log you posted, your MAC address for your player is reported as 00:00:1f:ff:ff:fc
Does that match what is printed on the bottom? - it seems a rather odd value to me.
If it doesn't match, you need to change it in the SB2 to match its label, or all sorts of odd things can happen...

Dogmatix
2009-06-25, 21:18
In the log you posted, your MAC address for your player is reported as 00:00:1f:ff:ff:fc
Does that match what is printed on the bottom? - it seems a rather odd value to me.
If it doesn't match, you need to change it in the SB2 to match its label, or all sorts of odd things can happen...

Sorry for the lag in responding; I got wrapped up in two Work Days From Hell[tm] and just got back to this.

1) No mp3 files played
2) It wasn't a clean install at first. I followed up with a 7.3.4 nightly that was a completely clean install
3) I had that same thought and dove through convert.conf and saw nothing out of the ordinary.

No joy there.

However, 3 cheers for you Phil. That *is* an odd value, and, no it doesn't match [and it makes me wonder when and how the old setting got blown away]. THAT fixed it! [Now, as to why a mismatched MAC address would blow up mp3 decoding but apparently not anything else is beyond me....]

Once I finish kicking myself for not noticing something like that, I'll sing your praises a little more.

Oh, and I'll probably order that Boom that I wanted after all :)

Phil Leigh
2009-06-25, 22:35
Sorry for the lag in responding; I got wrapped up in two Work Days From Hell[tm] and just got back to this.

1) No mp3 files played
2) It wasn't a clean install at first. I followed up with a 7.3.4 nightly that was a completely clean install
3) I had that same thought and dove through convert.conf and saw nothing out of the ordinary.

No joy there.

However, 3 cheers for you Phil. That *is* an odd value, and, no it doesn't match [and it makes me wonder when and how the old setting got blown away]. THAT fixed it! [Now, as to why a mismatched MAC address would blow up mp3 decoding but apparently not anything else is beyond me....]

Once I finish kicking myself for not noticing something like that, I'll sing your praises a little more.

Oh, and I'll probably order that Boom that I wanted after all :)

Congrats Dogmatix - enjoy your music! (again)
MAC address mismatch is the first thing I check when really odd things happen - when it happened to me I could access the internet or play music but not both!
Phil