PDA

View Full Version : Lazy Search: special characters



kinoimkeller
2009-06-21, 06:29
Hi all!

Using the awesome Lazy Search extension, I experience one drawback:

If the album title that I'm looking for contains parentheses, e.g. "An Album (Really A Nice One)", lazy searching for "really" doesn't turn up this album. On the other hand, a normal search for "really" yields the desired album title.
I just found the "Search Within Words" setting in the "Music Library" tab in SqueezeCenter's settings. Apparently, Lazy Search treats the starting parenthesis as part of the word.

Any hints, anything I overlooked?
Thanks!

hickinbottoms
2009-06-22, 14:34
Interesting - that sounds like a bug. Let me take a look at that...

Stuart


On Sun, 2009-06-21 at 06:29 -0700, kinoimkeller wrote:

> Hi all!
>
> Using the awesome Lazy Search extension, I experience one drawback:
>
> If the album title that I'm looking for contains parentheses, e.g. "An
> Album (Really A Nice One)", lazy searching for "really" doesn't turn up
> this album. On the other hand, a normal search for "really" yields the
> desired album title.
> I just found the "Search Within Words" setting in the "Music Library"
> tab in SqueezeCenter's settings. Apparently, Lazy Search treats the
> starting parenthesis as part of the word.
>
> Any hints, anything I overlooked?
> Thanks!
>
>

hickinbottoms
2009-06-22, 15:03
That's odd - I've taken a look at this and it works for me - eg lazy
searching for "disc" in "An Album (disc 1)" finds the album irrespective
of the "search within words" setting.

Are you sure that there is a space before the open parenthesis (eg it's
not "An Album(Really A Nice One)")?

Alternatively, do you know how to take a look at the database contents
so we can see how the plugin is encoding that album's title?

Stuart



On Sun, 2009-06-21 at 06:29 -0700, kinoimkeller wrote:

> Hi all!
>
> Using the awesome Lazy Search extension, I experience one drawback:
>
> If the album title that I'm looking for contains parentheses, e.g. "An
> Album (Really A Nice One)", lazy searching for "really" doesn't turn up
> this album. On the other hand, a normal search for "really" yields the
> desired album title.
> I just found the "Search Within Words" setting in the "Music Library"
> tab in SqueezeCenter's settings. Apparently, Lazy Search treats the
> starting parenthesis as part of the word.
>
> Any hints, anything I overlooked?
> Thanks!
>
>

kinoimkeller
2009-06-24, 09:51
Alright, tried to search for another album title w/ parenthesis - it worked. After hitting the "Rebuild Lazy Search Index" button I can also find the ones I wasn't able to before (should've done so earlier). Apparently my most recent additions to the library were somehow excluded from that index. So problem resolved, thanks!

Just out of curiosity: Is there a certain time interval when the index is built? I thought it was w/ every rescan of squeezecenter it would be updated. But maybe s.th. failed this time (because I'm running squeezecenter on a NAS?)

Thanks again

hickinbottoms
2009-06-25, 01:31
You're right - it's supposed to be rebuilt after ever rescan or server
restart (by finding any entries that need building but which have not
yet been done), rather than on a particular time interval.

It's possible the rescan didn't get triggered if the main scan didn't
complete properly for any reason. It's difficult to debug after the
event, though.

Keep an eye on it and if you see the problem again take a look at the
server and scanner log files to see if there was a problem with the main
scan or the lazification process.

Thanks for reporting back - glad it worked out in the end.

Stuart


On 24/06/2009 5:51 PM, kinoimkeller wrote:
> Alright, tried to search for another album title w/ parenthesis - it
> worked. After hitting the "Rebuild Lazy Search Index" button I can also
> find the ones I wasn't able to before (should've done so earlier).
> Apparently my most recent additions to the library were somehow excluded
> from that index. So problem resolved, thanks!
>
> Just out of curiosity: Is there a certain time interval when the index
> is built? I thought it was w/ every rescan of squeezecenter it would be
> updated. But maybe s.th. failed this time (because I'm running
> squeezecenter on a NAS?)
>
> Thanks again
>
>
>