PDA

View Full Version : Net::UDAP not discovering?



gregcann
2009-06-15, 08:53
Hello All!
I have just bought a Squeezebox receiver to add to my original Squeezebox player / center.
I downloaded the UDAP software & installed with ActivePerl on a direct wired laptop on the same network as my new receiver (wired) and existing Squeezebox (wireless).
Double clicking on the udap_shell file in the scripts folder launches the Perl window with UDAP> prompt OK.
Typing "discover" shows it broadcasting adv_discovery but no response.
I have pushed the button on the receiver until it flashes fast then released & it's flashing slowly which I believe is correct for the "init" stage.

Using IPCONFIG in a cmd window I only have one ethernet interface which is configured by DHCP from my router.
I can ping the router, squeezebox original unit & my Slimserver PC from this machine.

Should I be able to discover my "old" squeezebox with this tool?
Any ideas on what to look at next?

Thanks in advance!

Greg.

P.S. I have also tried the "compiled" version of the tool on this machine plus one other with the same result!

radish
2009-06-15, 09:33
Take a look at the back of the SBR - are the link lights on the ethernet port on/blinking? When I was trying to use UDAP a while ago I had a lot of trouble persuading the SBR to stay connected to the network. For me I kept resetting it until it worked, but there may be a better way I'm unaware of :)

Robin Bowes
2009-06-15, 13:21
gregcann wrote:
> Hello All!
> I have just bought a Squeezebox receiver to add to my original
> Squeezebox player / center.
> I downloaded the UDAP software & installed with ActivePerl on a direct
> wired laptop on the same network as my new receiver (wired) and existing
> Squeezebox (wireless).
> Double clicking on the udap_shell file in the scripts folder launches
> the Perl window with UDAP> prompt OK.
> Typing "discover" shows it broadcasting adv_discovery but no response.
> I have pushed the button on the receiver until it flashes fast then
> released & it's flashing slowly which I believe is correct for the
> "init" stage.
>
> Using IPCONFIG in a cmd window I only have one ethernet interface which
> is configured by DHCP from my router.
> I can ping the router, squeezebox original unit & my Slimserver PC from
> this machine.

Hi,

Do you have a firewall turned on? If so, try turning it off, or opening
port 17784 for UDP broadcast traffic.

> Should I be able to discover my "old" squeezebox with this tool?

Yes, I believe if you do a factory reset it will be in a condition
equivalent to the SBR init state.

If you're not already using it, I would suggest you try using:

https://projects.robinbowes.com/Net-UDAP/trac/browser/branches/1.0.x

or

https://projects.robinbowes.com/Net-UDAP/trac/browser/branches/1.1.x

The 1.0.x branch is self-contained, ie. it comes with all necessary modules.

The 1.1.x branch requires that you install the following modules:

Class::Accessor
IO::Interface::Simple
Log::StdLog
Term::Shell
version

R.

gregcann
2009-06-17, 03:29
Thanks for the help guys, all working now.
The problem was the firewall.Although I had shut it down it was still blocking ports. I use "Comodo" and re-enabled it to allow the UDAP port and all was well.
The only other wrinkle was that I had to update the Squeezecenter software to recognise the receiver. I had been avoiding that as the latest version burns up whats left of my aging server PC's limited resources!
My other observations are that the unit runs very warm which causes me concern for it's long term reliability. Also the line out level is much lower than my old squeezebox.
Otherwise I'm really happy with it!!
Cheers,
Greg.