PDA

View Full Version : Big problem after attempted firmware update



Roger Mitchell
2004-05-29, 18:31
I do use DHCP addressing (automatically assigned) but I don't think I am
getting as far as that. If I look at ipconfig and try to release and renew
the IP address, the renewal fails and when the PC and Squeezebox are
connected via crossover cable, a ping brings no response. The tray icon
(winXP), shows a connection but traffic is only one way. If I unplug the
network cable, the tray icon shows disconnected and so the PC definitely
sees the Squeezebox. All the time this is happening, displayed on the
Squeezebox is "Squeezebox is ready for firmware upgrade - IP address is
192.168.1.50" No matter what I do, that message remains and I can't get past
it.
I trawled the listserver earlier and found one other case of this problem
and it was identical but there was no resolution posted as I think the
Squeezebox was retuned to the dealer. This happened to a guy called Tim
Urbanz around 2 January 2004. My squeezebox is only a day old, so I hope
that this is not an omen!

Roger

Steve Burling
2004-05-30, 12:50
--On Sunday, May 30, 2004 2:31 AM +0100 Roger Mitchell
<rog.mitchell (AT) bigfoot (DOT) com> wrote:

> I do use DHCP addressing (automatically assigned) but I don't think I am
> getting as far as that. If I look at ipconfig and try to release and renew
> the IP address, the renewal fails and when the PC and Squeezebox are
> connected via crossover cable, a ping brings no response. The tray icon
> (winXP), shows a connection but traffic is only one way. If I unplug the
> network cable, the tray icon shows disconnected and so the PC definitely
> sees the Squeezebox. All the time this is happening, displayed on the
> Squeezebox is "Squeezebox is ready for firmware upgrade - IP address is
> 192.168.1.50" No matter what I do, that message remains and I can't get
> past it.
> I trawled the listserver earlier and found one other case of this problem
> and it was identical but there was no resolution posted as I think the
> Squeezebox was retuned to the dealer. This happened to a guy called Tim
> Urbanz around 2 January 2004. My squeezebox is only a day old, so I hope
> that this is not an omen!

To which I reply:

(You may have heard this already -- I've been away and so am catching up...)

If you've got the squeezebox and your PC connected via a cross-over cable,
neither one of the is going to be able to get an address via DHCP, since
there's no network path to the DHCP server. So, you're going to have to
statically-configure IP addresses for both boxes. Try 192.168.1.1 for one
and 192.168.1.2 for the other.

--
Steve Burling <mailto:srb (AT) umich (DOT) edu>
University of Michigan, ICPSR Voice: +1 734 615.3779
330 Packard Street FAX: +1 734 647.8700
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2910