PDA

View Full Version : LAN - no password, WAN - password. Possible?



WSLam
2009-05-25, 21:25
Just wondering if this is possible.
When I access my SqueezeCenter within my LAN, I obviously do not want to be bothered with entering a username and password everytime. But I do stream music to remote location at times (i.e. office) and by opening up the port to access my music library, I thought it would be a good idea to have password protection enabled.
Is it possible to have a WAN-access only password enabled?

WSLam
2009-08-18, 02:37
No one has a need for this feature?

lrossouw
2009-08-18, 03:11
If the IP of the PC at work doesn't change you could block based on IP. Maybe only allow access from local IPs and your work IP. Then you could remove the password?

WSLam
2009-08-18, 03:18
You mean on the router level?
It seems like an easy to do feature. Many routers have this now...

Sike
2009-08-18, 06:46
Just wondering if this is possible.
When I access my SqueezeCenter within my LAN, I obviously do not want to be bothered with entering a username and password everytime. But I do stream music to remote location at times (i.e. office) and by opening up the port to access my music library, I thought it would be a good idea to have password protection enabled.
Is it possible to have a WAN-access only password enabled?

Hi WSLam

I have about 5 external Squeezeboxes connecting over the internet. The router has specific rules to only allow traffic coming from certain IPs. Over here in Switzerland if you use Cablecom (Cable Internet) your IP only changes if you unplug your router (Or a digger severs the main connection somewhere...)

I put the feature request in the bug tracking system a loooong time ago. But there is probably not that many people asking for it. It will probably be a feature that people will want when streaming to mobile devices.

All the best

Sike

lrossouw
2009-08-18, 10:39
You mean on the router level?
It seems like an easy to do feature. Many routers have this now...

On SqueezeCentre (the web thingy) go to settings, advanced, security. Here you can then set your SqueezeCentre to block incoming connections (by changing "do not block" to "block") and then allow specific IP addresses. You would need to allow your local IP range (i.e. IPs in your home network) and the IP of your office computer. Click on the [i] next to the Allowed IP Addresses input box for info how to enter ranges and multiple IPs.

You could then remove the password. This will only be useful if your work/office IP does not change.

agillis
2009-08-18, 10:51
I use simplify media to stream. Works with an iPod, PC, etc and has it's own security.

pski
2009-08-19, 09:27
Just wondering if this is possible.
When I access my SqueezeCenter within my LAN, I obviously do not want to be bothered with entering a username and password everytime. But I do stream music to remote location at times (i.e. office) and by opening up the port to access my music library, I thought it would be a good idea to have password protection enabled.
Is it possible to have a WAN-access only password enabled?

I use the "allowed IP addresses" feature. I also have an open (and redirected) port to my SC for RDP access so it's easy for me to determine a remote IP and then allow it remotely.

I would recommend a vertical list of IP's with checkmarks to enable/disable/delete access and another check to enable/disable the following username/password.

P

On the other side, you only have to set-up passwords once in the devices and Firefox can keep you from having to enter the user/password each time...