PDA

View Full Version : Bug? or Pilot Error?: Slim.exe scans folders that have beenremoved from previous Server Settings...



Hugh Hempel
2004-05-28, 17:37
I have just upgraded to the latest nightly. I am trying to debug my
collection and resolve issues about the amount of memory required to hold
the scanned MP3 tag info and determine whether I might have some corrupt
files.



I installed the 5-28-04 nightly ON TOP OF my 5.1.5 build as directed by
folks on this list.



It picked up the last preferences for the server settings (I assume this is
by design).



Before the upgrade, I had removed references to one of my large directories
of MP3s by using the "change directory" option in server settings. My goal
was to have the server rescan a smaller directory (subset)



Slim.exe is now scanning the NEW directory (f:my music) AND it is scanning
the OLD directory (h:MP3 vault). The old directory is not listed in the
server settings.



Can someone tell me how to prevent slim.exe from scanning the old directory?
The program must store the pathname somewhere (prefs doc, registry, ???)



This would be a really big help!



Thanks in advance,



Hugh

dean
2004-06-01, 16:35
Hi Hugh,

The server tries to remember everything about every song it's seen.

Try visiting:

Server Settings -> Additional Server Settings -> Performance

and click on the Wipe Cache button. THis will force the server to dump
it's cache of data and scan from the start.


On May 28, 2004, at 5:37 PM, Hugh Hempel wrote:

> I have just upgraded to the latest nightly… I am trying to debug my
> collection and resolve issues about the amount of memory required to
> hold the scanned MP3 tag info and determine whether I might have some
> corrupt files…
>
>
>
> I installed the 5-28-04 nightly ON TOP OF my 5.1.5 build as directed
> by folks on this list…
>
>
>
> It picked up the last preferences for the server settings (I assume
> this is by design)…
>
>
>
> Before the upgrade, I had removed references to one of my large
> directories of MP3s by using the “change directory” option in server
> settings… My goal was to have the server rescan a smaller directory
> (subset)
>
>
>
> Slim.exe is now scanning the NEW directory (f:my music) AND it is
> scanning the OLD directory (h:MP3 vault)… The old directory is not
> listed in the server settings…
>
>
>
> Can someone tell me how to prevent slim.exe from scanning the old
> directory? The program must store the pathname somewhere (prefs doc,
> registry, ???)
>
>
>
> This would be a really big help!
>
>
>
> Thanks in advance,
>
>
>
> Hugh
>