PDA

View Full Version : Wireless G Bridges



Dixon, Bill
2004-05-27, 10:16
I'm considering purchasing a few more SBs, but in the wired only version this time, as .11b isn't going to cut it (for me) in a multi-sb setup. This leaves .11g (or maybe powerline) as an alternative. Anyone have experience with any .11g bridges? Any recommendations? I'd prefer something small and fairly unobtrusive.

thanks,
-bill

Pat Farrell
2004-05-27, 11:14
At 01:16 PM 5/27/2004, Dixon, Bill wrote:
>I'm considering purchasing a few more SBs, but in the wired only version
>this time, as .11b isn't going to cut it (for me) in a multi-sb setup.
>This leaves .11g (or maybe powerline) as an alternative. Anyone have
>experience with any .11g bridges? Any recommendations? I'd prefer
>something small and fairly unobtrusive.

I've got a Linksys WAP54G
it was about $100, is small, works well.

But I'm confused, it is a wireless access point.
If you want to connect more SqBxs with wires, what is the
point in getting a wireless access point? why not just
get a small 100baseT switch?

Pat

Kevin O. Lepard
2004-05-27, 11:27
>>I'm considering purchasing a few more SBs, but in the wired only
>>version this time, as .11b isn't going to cut it (for me) in a
>>multi-sb setup. This leaves .11g (or maybe powerline) as an
>>alternative.

>If you want to connect more SqBxs with wires, what is the point in
>getting a wireless access point? why not just get a small 100baseT
>switch?


As I interpret this, he isn't going to connect them with wires. He
wants to use an 802.11g bridge so he can have a faster wireless
connection than with the version of the Squeezebox that has the
built-in 802.11b.

Kevin
--
Kevin O. Lepard
lepard.kevin (AT) fireserve (DOT) net

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.

rtitmuss
2004-05-27, 11:32
Bill,

Why do you think the .11b won't work for you?

If you are not getting a very good bitrate or reliable connection with an
existing .11b network, then .11g is unlikely to work any better as it works
at the same frequency. Also you need to consider that with .11g you will
only get the higher bitrates if your SBs are close to the AP, as you move
further away the bitrate will reduce.

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Dixon, Bill" <Bill.Dixon (AT) Level3 (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Thursday, May 27, 2004 6:16 PM
Subject: [slim] Wireless G Bridges


> I'm considering purchasing a few more SBs, but in the wired only version
this time, as .11b isn't going to cut it (for me) in a multi-sb setup. This
leaves .11g (or maybe powerline) as an alternative. Anyone have experience
with any .11g bridges? Any recommendations? I'd prefer something small and
fairly unobtrusive.
>
> thanks,
> -bill
>
>

Mike Kozlowski
2004-05-27, 11:47
On Thu, 27 May 2004, Dixon, Bill wrote:

> I'm considering purchasing a few more SBs, but in the wired only version
> this time, as .11b isn't going to cut it (for me) in a multi-sb setup.
> This leaves .11g (or maybe powerline) as an alternative. Anyone have
> experience with any .11g bridges? Any recommendations? I'd prefer
> something small and fairly unobtrusive.

Be warned: The prices on wireless-G bridges are preposterous. I have a
Linksys wireless router, so wanted to stick with a Linksys bridge. They
make a bridge, but it sells for $179 at Best Buy. However, they also make
a "gaming adaptor", which is a wireless-G bridge with slightly different
styling, and which sells for $129.

I bought the gaming adaptor (muttering about how ridiculous it is to pay
more for a bridge than a router), and it works fine for me -- I stream
PCM, and haven't had any dropouts with it.

--
Mike Kozlowski
http://www.klio.org/mlk/

Bill Fenner
2004-05-27, 13:11
On the bridge vs. router issue, I've had success using WDS to make a
Buffalo Wireless WBR-G54 router to a Linksys WRT-54G router -- i.e.,
the Buffalo is acting as a bridge (plus can extend your wireless range
by also acting as a repeater). The Linksys obviously does WDS also, so
I don't doubt that this could be done using two Linksys boxes too.

Bill