PDA

View Full Version : Worth getting a Harmony 1000 for my SB3?



NeilF
2009-05-14, 07:36
Would I be able to navigate the SB3 easily with a Harmony1000?

- Does it liaise wirelessly with the PC where Slimserver is running? Or just use IR?
- Would it display album art as such? Or just the menu system and tracks/albums?
- Would I need to install anything else? Is my current Slimserver enough?

radish
2009-05-14, 08:52
As far as the SB is concerned, the 1000 is just a normal IR remote. It doesn't do anything special beyond a regular Harmony device.

NeilF
2009-05-14, 08:56
As far as the SB is concerned, the 1000 is just a normal IR remote. It doesn't do anything special beyond a regular Harmony device.

Oh! So it wouldn't even show the menu system better? And definately not list the music files? Oh that's not benefit at all!?

radish
2009-05-14, 08:58
It wouldn't show the menu system at all - there's no integration between it and the SB infrastructure.

peter
2009-05-14, 10:25
NeilF wrote:
> Would I be able to navigate the SB3 easily with a Harmony1000?
>
> - Does it liaise wirelessly with the PC where Slimserver is running? Or
> just use IR?
>
No/Yes
> - Would it display album art as such? Or just the menu system and
> tracks/albums?
>
No/Yes
> - Would I need to install anything else? Is my current Slimserver
> enough?
>
No/Yes

Sounds like you really want an SBC.

Regards,
Peter

morberg
2009-05-16, 05:49
NeilF wrote:[color=blue]
Sounds like you really want an SBC.

Or an iPod touch with an app to control SqueezeCenter remotely. The total price is around the same as a Harmony 1000.

eganders
2009-05-16, 06:30
If you're also looking because you want a single remote to control your TV, stereo, etc., devices, the current model, is the Harmony 1100. It has more functionality than the older 1000 model, and I think users generally like it better.

But the earlier posters are correct, it's not a replacement for a Squeezebox Controller.

BlueScreenJunky
2009-05-18, 01:47
I think if you want to be able to browse your album collections, display Squeezecenter info on your remote AND be able to control you infrared devices (TV, Amp etc.) your best bet is the Philips Pronto 9600 with ProntSqueeze (http://www.prontoprojects.com/prontosqueeze_viewdemo.asp). But it's not really in the same price range ^^;

Superchunk
2009-05-18, 08:32
As an aside, I find it funny that the only device my Logitech Harmony remote has not controlled flawlessly is my Logitech Squeezebox. On first setup (and I haven't gone back to tweak it yet) it won't skip to the next song and a variety of other functions don't work. The only things that do work are the directional keys, play, and pause. My harmony has worked perfectly for everything else, including odd stuff like modded xbox with xbm.

Just seems kinda funny, considering it's the same company.

bobkoure
2009-05-19, 06:48
Sounds like IBM in the '80s

pippin
2009-05-19, 07:11
Sounds like IBM in the '80s

Or Apple in the 200x's: The only phone you can't sync with a Mac over Bluetooth is.... Tadaaa...

autopilot
2009-05-19, 12:10
As an aside, I find it funny that the only device my Logitech Harmony remote has not controlled flawlessly is my Logitech Squeezebox. On first setup (and I haven't gone back to tweak it yet) it won't skip to the next song and a variety of other functions don't work. The only things that do work are the directional keys, play, and pause. My harmony has worked perfectly for everything else, including odd stuff like modded xbox with xbm.

Just seems kinda funny, considering it's the same company.

My Harmony One and Harmony 525 worked flawlessly with my SB3 and Boom. You probably have not set it up right. It's the Harmony's that can be a pain, not the SB's.

JadeMonkee
2009-05-19, 18:36
I second that; my Harmony One worked perfectly out of the box.

Peter van Cooten
2009-05-20, 10:28
Confirmed, I use a Harmony 550 and it controls every fine detail of my SB2


peter van cooten
mail: peter (AT) vancooten (DOT) com


-----Oorspronkelijk bericht-----
Van: autopilot
[mailto:autopilot.3sg6dz1242760321 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com]
Verzonden: dinsdag 19 mei 2009 21:10
Aan: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Onderwerp: Re: [slim] Worth getting a Harmony 1000 for my SB3?


Superchunk;424381 Wrote:
> As an aside, I find it funny that the only device my Logitech Harmony
> remote has not controlled flawlessly is my Logitech Squeezebox. On
> first setup (and I haven't gone back to tweak it yet) it won't skip to
> the next song and a variety of other functions don't work. The only
> things that do work are the directional keys, play, and pause. My
> harmony has worked perfectly for everything else, including odd stuff
> like modded xbox with xbm.
>
> Just seems kinda funny, considering it's the same company.

My Harmony One and Harmony 525 worked flawlessly with my SB3 and Boom.
You probably have not set it up right. It's the Harmony's that can be a
pain, not the SB's.


--
autopilot

Cheers, auto.

-"don't call me Shirley."-
------------------------------------------------------------------------
autopilot's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=1763
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=63332