PDA

View Full Version : Softsqueeze (Newbie)



=?iso-8859-1?q?Fred=20Bloggs?=
2004-05-21, 07:27
Hi Richard

Thanks for that. At the moment I have all the mp3 conversions commented out.

I play mainly the new Apple lossless and AAC file with quite a few FLAC and WAV

In fact NO mp3!!

I thought I had installed LAME a while ago, I will check to see whats happening. Are we saying that softsqueeze can only play mp3 ?

Regards



Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
Hi,

What format are you trying to play? If it's not mp3 then you might have a
problem trying to play music with the recent nightlies. The server will try
to transcode your music to mp3, if you don't have lame installed then it
will refuse to play. I understand kdf has checked a fix into cvs, but I am
not sure if this made it into the latest nightly of the slimserver.
Selecting server version 5.1.2 on softsqueeze should work around this for
now.

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Fred Bloggs"
To:
Sent: Friday, May 21, 2004 1:14 PM
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze (Newbie)


> Hi
>
> I have just installed softsqueeze on my slim server for the first time and
am having a slight problem.
>
> It connects to my slimserver fine, shows all my music/saved playlists but
refuses to play when the play button is pressed, just reverts to 'stopped'
>
> This is the case on both the Softsqueeze front panel and the slimserver.
>
> Versions are :-
>
> Slimserver 5.1.6
> Softsqueeze -pre0.5a
>
> Any help appreciated
>
>
> ---------------------------------
> Yahoo! Messenger - Communicate instantly..."Ping" your friends today!
Download Messenger Now


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----


>

rtitmuss
2004-05-21, 07:44
No, softsqueeze can play all formats supported by the slimserver. It's just
with the recent nightlies and the pre-release softsqueeze things got a bit
mixed up. You'll probably find adding back the mp3 conversions will fix it,
or use the 5-21 nightly build.

Regards,
Richard



----- Original Message -----
From: "Fred Bloggs" <westiebj (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Friday, May 21, 2004 3:27 PM
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze (Newbie)


> Hi Richard
>
> Thanks for that. At the moment I have all the mp3 conversions commented
out.
>
> I play mainly the new Apple lossless and AAC file with quite a few FLAC
and WAV
>
> In fact NO mp3!!
>
> I thought I had installed LAME a while ago, I will check to see whats
happening. Are we saying that softsqueeze can only play mp3 ?
>
> Regards
>
>
>
> Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
> Hi,
>
> What format are you trying to play? If it's not mp3 then you might have a
> problem trying to play music with the recent nightlies. The server will
try
> to transcode your music to mp3, if you don't have lame installed then it
> will refuse to play. I understand kdf has checked a fix into cvs, but I am
> not sure if this made it into the latest nightly of the slimserver.
> Selecting server version 5.1.2 on softsqueeze should work around this for
> now.
>
> Regards,
> Richard
>
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Fred Bloggs"
> To:
> Sent: Friday, May 21, 2004 1:14 PM
> Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze (Newbie)
>
>
> > Hi
> >
> > I have just installed softsqueeze on my slim server for the first time
and
> am having a slight problem.
> >
> > It connects to my slimserver fine, shows all my music/saved playlists
but
> refuses to play when the play button is pressed, just reverts to 'stopped'
> >
> > This is the case on both the Softsqueeze front panel and the slimserver.
> >
> > Versions are :-
> >
> > Slimserver 5.1.6
> > Softsqueeze -pre0.5a
> >
> > Any help appreciated
> >
> >
> > ---------------------------------
> > Yahoo! Messenger - Communicate instantly..."Ping" your friends today!
> Download Messenger Now
>
>
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------
--
> ----
>
>
> >