PDA

View Full Version : Recent Re-buffering problem



wolster
2009-04-15, 20:09
I am used to my SB3 petulently giving way to the microwave occassionaly but, in the last few days, with no microwave on, the music keeps stopping. The display says re-buffering and shows the growing percentage. Music resumes and then stops again. It is 'almost' making me want to go back to CDs. The worst time is when you are demonstrating the remarkable SB3 to friends, only to see it stutter and stop yet again. Occassionaly I can fix it bt removing the power cord from the back and re-booting but the problem inevitably returns.
Can anyone assist with a fix for this?
I am using a Belkin wireless router modem based on the 802.11n draft- about 6 months old. It is in an upstairs bedroom with only a wooden mezzanine floor to transmit through.I also have the latest release squeezecenter software (not beta).
Thanks in anticipation of a flood of brilliant solutions.

Cheers
wolster

Ben Sandee
2009-04-15, 20:18
On Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 10:09 PM, wolster
<wolster.3qptuo1239851402 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> I am used to my SB3 petulently giving way to the microwave occassionaly
> but, in the last few days, with no microwave on, the music keeps
> stopping. The display says re-buffering and shows the growing
> percentage. Music resumes and then stops again.

This is a great resource:

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/NetworkProblemsSecondGuide

Ben

MeSue
2009-04-15, 20:44
Well, I'll just throw this out there because it just goes to show that really weird stuff can happen with wireless networking. A few weeks ago I started having a problem where my entire network would go down every time SC was doing something resource intensive (scanning new music, mostly). Around the same time, my Boom in the kitchen started stopping constantly. It got to where I could not get through one full song without it stopping--and this is with MP3 so it's not a lot of bandwidth. Every time it stopped, I noticed that the entire network was going down for several minutes. But it only happened with the kitchen player and not my other players.

To troubleshoot, I swapped in a different router temporarily (after trying it wired and still having trouble). All the problems went away with the other router, but that was with no security. So I went back to my original router but turned off security. Everything worked fine. Well, I wanted to keep my router but didn't want to run with no security, so I changed the security from "WPA Personal" to "WPA / WPA2 Personal." I don't even know what that means, but everything has been working fine ever since with no more network outages and no Boom stuttering.

The security settings had not been touched in over a year--it just went haywire out of the blue like that. Can I say haywire when it's wireless?

Jeff52
2009-04-16, 05:39
I am used to my SB3 petulently giving way to the microwave occassionaly but, in the last few days, with no microwave on, the music keeps stopping. The display says re-buffering and shows the growing percentage. Music resumes and then stops again.

Same thing here running the latest full release. I have not had any problems for years but all of a sudden my SB3 is acting up just like yours. Netstumbler shows no other networks running. I have changed wireless channels and will continue to monitor.

tedfroop
2009-04-16, 07:57
The difference is the amount of overhead used by wireless transmission. It was one of the goals of the wireless community as people found that with WEP the overhead was nearly one to one. That meant an 11 kbps connection only had about 6 kbps of usable bandwidth. WPA reduced the overhead and WPA2 reduced a whole lot more.
What your computer that is running SqueezeCenter is doing when the stuttering starts is also at issue here.
More and more I find programs install on my windows machine with "auto update" or "quick start" applications that start with my OS. Every time I install anything now I go to Start - Run- MSCONFIG and remove anything I don't need running from the start up.
I once had a problem that I had to call MS support about and the problem ended up to be a start up program. The guy told me "If you want less problems keep only what you really need in the start up".

MeSue
2009-04-16, 08:26
Thanks for the explanation, tedfroop--makes sense. I guess with both of them enabled, it switches to what it needs at any given time. I have a PDA which I don't think can use WPA2, so I choose the combination. I have noticed that when I turn on wifi on the PDA, I get occassional rebuffering issues, but at least I know what is the cause.

I have SC running on a server (WHS) so there is very little running at startup and I try to keep it as lean as possible. Unfortunately I wasn't able to monitor what the server was doing when it was stuttering, because it's headless and the whole network was being knocked out.

I just found it interesting that one little setting could have such a dramatic effect on the whole Squeezebox experience.

wolster
2009-04-17, 23:41
Thanks for the suggestions, guys. Now that the weekend is here I can have a play and see if I can improve it.

Cheers
wolster