PDA

View Full Version : pre5.2 testing report



Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-19, 22:18
So far so good. A simple over install and a wipe cache
seem to have worked just fine to upgrade. Firmware went
smooth and everything seems great and even somewhat more
responsive; although the latter could be my imagination.
Softsqueeze pre0.5a seems to be cooperating and Shoutcast
is working great. My moderate music library that contains
315 albums, 4060 songs, and 363 artists rescanned in a few
minutes. Running fully patch XP Pro on an AMD Athlon XP
2200+ with 1 GB of RAM. So far after a couple of hours of
off and on fooling around slim.exe is using 55 MB.

The closest thing I can find to a bug was during the testing
of an older bug: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=265
I reported it a while ago but this is the first time I have
got around to trying a fixed version. It appears that the
rate now affects both text sizes which is good. However they
both seem to scroll at the same rate even though the larger
font is roughly twice the size. What this means is that
you cannot set a rate that is comfortable for both sizes.
As a user who frequently switches between sizes it is a
minor annoyance. As I suggested in the original bug report
the optimal solution would probably be to have separate
scroll delay and rates. However what would probably be
almost as good, and I assume a lot easier, is to scale the
rate by a factor of two for the larger font; i.e. have it
be delayed half the time and scroll twice as fast as the
values for the small font. Since there is roughly a factor
of two between them this should work pretty well and those
who stay in one or the other will still be able to set it
for whatever they choose.

Let me know if I should file this as a new enhancement,
reopen the old bug, or, if it is just a couple minute
matter of adding "largefontscrollrate=2*smallfontscrollrate"
and "largefontscrolldelay=smallfontscrolldelay/2" perhaps
someone can just do it while rolling in other bug fixes.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

kdf
2004-05-19, 22:31
Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:


> The closest thing I can find to a bug was during the testing
> of an older bug: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=265
> I reported it a while ago but this is the first time I have
> got around to trying a fixed version. It appears that the
> rate now affects both text sizes which is good. However they
> both seem to scroll at the same rate even though the larger
> font is roughly twice the size. What this means is that
> you cannot set a rate that is comfortable for both sizes.
> As a user who frequently switches between sizes it is a
> minor annoyance. As I suggested in the original bug report
> the optimal solution would probably be to have separate
> scroll delay and rates. However what would probably be
> almost as good, and I assume a lot easier, is to scale the
> rate by a factor of two for the larger font; i.e. have it
> be delayed half the time and scroll twice as fast as the
> values for the small font. Since there is roughly a factor
> of two between them this should work pretty well and those
> who stay in one or the other will still be able to set it
> for whatever they choose.
>
> Let me know if I should file this as a new enhancement,
> reopen the old bug, or, if it is just a couple minute
> matter of adding "largefontscrollrate=2*smallfontscrollrate"
> and "largefontscrolldelay=smallfontscrolldelay/2" perhaps
> someone can just do it while rolling in other bug fixes.

that's a quick fix, but may not be the best solution. I still cannot test this,
as my double size always scrolled, even when this bug was reported. As such, it
still scrolls a the same speed depite having tried a fixed ratio. Personally,
I'm for a new ehanhancement being filed, since the old one was a true bug (not
scrolling when it should). As such, it will be taken on after 5.2.

of course, that's just me :) Dean will have to make the call...or as the
reporter of the problem, you :)

Thanks for the report, and keep posting anything you find.

-kdf

dean
2004-05-19, 22:50
Thanks so much for the testing, Daryle.

Please do reopen that bug with your suggestions in it. I'd prefer to
fix this after 5.2 ships to minimize risk.

We're getting close, keep them reports coming, folks!

-dean

On May 19, 2004, at 10:18 PM, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> So far so good. A simple over install and a wipe cache
> seem to have worked just fine to upgrade. Firmware went
> smooth and everything seems great and even somewhat more
> responsive; although the latter could be my imagination.
> Softsqueeze pre0.5a seems to be cooperating and Shoutcast
> is working great. My moderate music library that contains
> 315 albums, 4060 songs, and 363 artists rescanned in a few
> minutes. Running fully patch XP Pro on an AMD Athlon XP
> 2200+ with 1 GB of RAM. So far after a couple of hours of
> off and on fooling around slim.exe is using 55 MB.
>
> The closest thing I can find to a bug was during the testing
> of an older bug: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=265
> I reported it a while ago but this is the first time I have
> got around to trying a fixed version. It appears that the
> rate now affects both text sizes which is good. However they
> both seem to scroll at the same rate even though the larger
> font is roughly twice the size. What this means is that
> you cannot set a rate that is comfortable for both sizes.
> As a user who frequently switches between sizes it is a
> minor annoyance. As I suggested in the original bug report
> the optimal solution would probably be to have separate
> scroll delay and rates. However what would probably be
> almost as good, and I assume a lot easier, is to scale the
> rate by a factor of two for the larger font; i.e. have it
> be delayed half the time and scroll twice as fast as the
> values for the small font. Since there is roughly a factor
> of two between them this should work pretty well and those
> who stay in one or the other will still be able to set it
> for whatever they choose.
>
> Let me know if I should file this as a new enhancement,
> reopen the old bug, or, if it is just a couple minute
> matter of adding "largefontscrollrate=2*smallfontscrollrate"
> and "largefontscrolldelay=smallfontscrolldelay/2" perhaps
> someone can just do it while rolling in other bug fixes.
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>
>

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-19, 23:04
kdf wrote:

> that's a quick fix, but may not be the best solution. I still cannot test this,
> as my double size always scrolled, even when this bug was reported. As such, it
> still scrolls a the same speed depite having tried a fixed ratio. Personally,
> I'm for a new ehanhancement being filed, since the old one was a true bug (not
> scrolling when it should). As such, it will be taken on after 5.2.

Just a clarification on the original bug: double size scrolled
but was unaffected by the scroll speed setting. That is now fixed.
It now scrolls at what ever speed single sized is set to. My
suggestion was that this should be double speed to scale with the
double size. I have tested this and find that that ratio is about
right. In any event I will file this as a new enhancement as per
your and Dean's suggestion.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-19, 23:07
Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> Softsqueeze pre0.5a seems to be cooperating and Shoutcast
> is working great. My moderate music library that contains

Had my first crapout. After listening to a Shoutcast stream
for about half an hour the server died. I had to restart
manually because after the reinstall I forgot to reset the
service to auto restart. What are the best debugging logs
to enable in order to provide the most useful feedback?


--
Daryle A. Tilroe

kdf
2004-05-19, 23:14
Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:
>
> > Softsqueeze pre0.5a seems to be cooperating and Shoutcast
> > is working great. My moderate music library that contains
>
> Had my first crapout. After listening to a Shoutcast stream
> for about half an hour the server died. I had to restart
> manually because after the reinstall I forgot to reset the
> service to auto restart. What are the best debugging logs
> to enable in order to provide the most useful feedback?

does the event viewer show anything for the crash??
-kdf

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-19, 23:51
kdf wrote:

> Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:
>
>>Had my first crapout. After listening to a Shoutcast stream
>>for about half an hour the server died. I had to restart
>>manually because after the reinstall I forgot to reset the
>>service to auto restart. What are the best debugging logs
>>to enable in order to provide the most useful feedback?
>
> does the event viewer show anything for the crash??

I don't know how useful it is:

"The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application )
cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary
registry information or message DLL files to display messages
from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE=
flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for
details. The following information is part of the event: Perl
interpreter failed."

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 07:00
Hmm.. I sent this last night but it hasn't yet showed up
on the list.

kdf wrote:

> Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:
>
>>Had my first crapout. After listening to a Shoutcast stream
>>for about half an hour the server died. I had to restart
>>manually because after the reinstall I forgot to reset the
>>service to auto restart. What are the best debugging logs
>>to enable in order to provide the most useful feedback?
>
> does the event viewer show anything for the crash??

I don't know how useful it is:

"The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application )
cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary
registry information or message DLL files to display messages
from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE=
flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for
details. The following information is part of the event: Perl
interpreter failed."

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Bastian Ellenrieder
2004-05-20, 07:06
Hi,
now i have installed the linux server soft on my router with "rpm -i
slimserver..."

if i now want to start the server with the command "perl slimserver start"
it prompts the following:
slimserver: /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions: No such file or directory
slimserver: /etc/sysconfig/network: No such file or directory
slimserver: [: =: unary operator expected
Starting SlimServer: slimserver: daemon: command not found

What am i doing wrong?? I am running perl v 5.6.1 with a Suse Linux basic
system. But be aware of the fact that i am a REALLY noob on linux things.

--
NEU : GMX Internet.FreeDSL
Ab sofort DSL-Tarif ohne Grundgebühr: http://www.gmx.net/dsl

Victor Brilon
2004-05-20, 07:48
Bastian Ellenrieder wrote:
> Hi,
> now i have installed the linux server soft on my router with "rpm -i
> slimserver..."
>
> if i now want to start the server with the command "perl slimserver start"
> it prompts the following:
> slimserver: /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions: No such file or directory
> slimserver: /etc/sysconfig/network: No such file or directory
> slimserver: [: =: unary operator expected
> Starting SlimServer: slimserver: daemon: command not found
>
> What am i doing wrong?? I am running perl v 5.6.1 with a Suse Linux basic
> system. But be aware of the fact that i am a REALLY noob on linux things.
>

Bastian,

SUSE Linux puts their files in a different place from RedHat and that's
why you're getting all those errors.

You need to remove the RPM, and then download the .tar.gz version of the
file and just install that by hand.

Victor

dean
2004-05-20, 11:17
On May 20, 2004, at 7:00 AM, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:
> I don't know how useful it is:
>
> "The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application )
> cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary
> registry information or message DLL files to display messages
> from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE=
> flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for
> details. The following information is part of the event: Perl
> interpreter failed."
Whoa, that's a new one. This is an undocumented error, I'm digging
deeper.

In the mean time, can you reproduce the problem?

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 13:14
dean blackketter wrote:

> Whoa, that's a new one. This is an undocumented error, I'm digging
> deeper.
>
> In the mean time, can you reproduce the problem?

I can try tonight. I would stream to work here via softqueeze
but but my bloody ADSL seems to be down or dynamic DNS not
updated or I suppose my PC could be down :-(. The other detail
would be that at the time I was listening through softsqueeze;
not that that should matter.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

dean
2004-05-20, 13:35
Thanks. I discovered that it's an internal error in the perl engine
that we use. Unfortunately, I need to be able to reproduce the problem
here with the tools I have and I don't know how to do that.

Any help is much appreciated.

-dean

On May 20, 2004, at 1:14 PM, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> dean blackketter wrote:
>
>> Whoa, that's a new one. This is an undocumented error, I'm digging
>> deeper.
>> In the mean time, can you reproduce the problem?
>
> I can try tonight. I would stream to work here via softqueeze
> but but my bloody ADSL seems to be down or dynamic DNS not
> updated or I suppose my PC could be down :-(. The other detail
> would be that at the time I was listening through softsqueeze;
> not that that should matter.
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>
>

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 19:45
dean blackketter wrote:

> Thanks. I discovered that it's an internal error in the perl engine
> that we use. Unfortunately, I need to be able to reproduce the problem
> here with the tools I have and I don't know how to do that.
>
> Any help is much appreciated.

It's definitely repeatable on my end. After about an hour and a half
to two hours of listening to a Shoutcast stream it died again. Also
it did not automatically restart despite having been selected to do
so. As an aside I am not familiar with how the XP service watchdog
is supposed to work; perhaps a service needs to be built in a particular
way to take advantage of it? Anyhow, in case it matters, it was the all
news ShoutCast stream. Perhaps slimserver does not like NPR or maybe
your Dept. of Homeland security does not like us to hear to much non-Fox
"News" :-).

I am now running a 2+ hour FLAC playlist to see if it is Shoutcast
plugin related or some general leak.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 21:20
For some reason, in spite of choosing "no limit", I am getting
FLACs transcoded to MP3s when using softsqueeze. This is new
and perhaps a typo in the latest tweaks in that code.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

kdf
2004-05-20, 21:26
Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> For some reason, in spite of choosing "no limit", I am getting
> FLACs transcoded to MP3s when using softsqueeze. This is new
> and perhaps a typo in the latest tweaks in that code.
have you recently used winamp or itunes with the ?bitrate= param from the same
computer as softsqueeze?

After you set to no limit, can you find your slimserver.conf ro slimserver.pref
file and confirm the value for maxbitrate for your softsqueeze client. The MAC
address identifies the player pref and you can find the mac address at the
bottom of the player settings.

-kdf

kdf
2004-05-20, 21:31
oh...convert.conf needs work.

so far, the only flc wav lines are squeezebox specific.
that will get fixed :)
-kdf

Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> For some reason, in spite of choosing "no limit", I am getting
> FLACs transcoded to MP3s when using softsqueeze. This is new
> and perhaps a typo in the latest tweaks in that code.
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>
>

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 21:42
kdf wrote:

> Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:
>
>
>>For some reason, in spite of choosing "no limit", I am getting
>>FLACs transcoded to MP3s when using softsqueeze. This is new
>>and perhaps a typo in the latest tweaks in that code.
>
> have you recently used winamp or itunes with the ?bitrate= param from the same
> computer as softsqueeze?

I occasionally use winamp to play local FLAC files (no so much now with
softsqueeze) and have never touched itunes. I am not sure which
bitrate parameter you are referring to.

> After you set to no limit, can you find your slimserver.conf ro slimserver.pref
> file and confirm the value for maxbitrate for your softsqueeze client. The MAC
> address identifies the player pref and you can find the mac address at the
> bottom of the player settings.

It all looks fine in slimserver.pref:

00:e0:18:a7:b4:46-maxBitrate = 0

I should note that I am using the latest softsqueeze (I think) 'pre0.5a'
and one change is that it uses your PC MAC address unless otherwise
specified.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 21:53
kdf wrote:

> oh...convert.conf needs work.
>
> so far, the only flc wav lines are squeezebox specific.
> that will get fixed :)

I thought as far a convert.conf was concerned softsqueeze
was a squeezebox... Wait, actually since the MAC address
is the ID I suppose only 00042005xxxx addresses are considered
squeezeboxes. The default should probably go the other
way now with softsqueeze and future. In other words
something like this (not quite complete and actual
conversion strings left out for clarity):

aif aif * *
wav wav * *
shn wav * *
flc wav * *

wav mp3 slimp3 *
aif mp3 slimp3 *
shn mp3 slimp3 *
flc mp3 slimp3 *

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 22:14
Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> aif aif * *
> wav wav * *
> shn wav * *
> flc wav * *
>
> wav mp3 slimp3 *
> aif mp3 slimp3 *
> shn mp3 slimp3 *
> flc mp3 slimp3 *

Hmm... This doesn't quite work as I would expect.
The flac is now no longer get transcoded when no limit
is chosen; however when I do choose a limit the
server does not seem to know how to use the
flac -> mp3 line that is now only for slimp3
but not the default. I think there is something
a little amiss in the parsing logic. Recipes should
be available even if they are not the default. I
think this may go back to the issue of trying to do
two things with convert.conf: define transcoding
recipes and chose defaults for various players.
For clarity perhaps there should be two files:
convert.conf with the recipes, ie. wav -> mp3,
shn -> wav, flc -> wav, etc. and a defaults.conf
that has the player device type and id and what
they what they can accept. This would then be
subject to the bitrate cap in the specific player
settings, ie. trancoding to the appropriate mp3 if
selected.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

kdf
2004-05-20, 22:22
it was....but now its not. the server has been moving, lately, towards special
handling of softsqueeze. it is now identified as 'softsqueeze'.

The convert.conf can be all * and * for player and ID. having all the mp3's set
for slimp3 only will make bitrate limiting impossible for alternate formats on
anything but slimp3.

good catch on the softsqueeze playback.

-kdf

Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> kdf wrote:
>
> > oh...convert.conf needs work.
> >
> > so far, the only flc wav lines are squeezebox specific.
> > that will get fixed :)
>
> I thought as far a convert.conf was concerned softsqueeze
> was a squeezebox... Wait, actually since the MAC address
> is the ID I suppose only 00042005xxxx addresses are considered
> squeezeboxes. The default should probably go the other
> way now with softsqueeze and future. In other words
> something like this (not quite complete and actual
> conversion strings left out for clarity):
>
> aif aif * *
> wav wav * *
> shn wav * *
> flc wav * *
>
> wav mp3 slimp3 *
> aif mp3 slimp3 *
> shn mp3 slimp3 *
> flc mp3 slimp3 *
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>
>

kdf
2004-05-20, 22:22
it was....but now its not. the server has been moving, lately, towards special
handling of softsqueeze. it is now identified as 'softsqueeze'.

The convert.conf can be all * and * for player and ID. having all the mp3's set
for slimp3 only will make bitrate limiting impossible for alternate formats on
anything but slimp3.

good catch on the softsqueeze playback.

-kdf

Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> kdf wrote:
>
> > oh...convert.conf needs work.
> >
> > so far, the only flc wav lines are squeezebox specific.
> > that will get fixed :)
>
> I thought as far a convert.conf was concerned softsqueeze
> was a squeezebox... Wait, actually since the MAC address
> is the ID I suppose only 00042005xxxx addresses are considered
> squeezeboxes. The default should probably go the other
> way now with softsqueeze and future. In other words
> something like this (not quite complete and actual
> conversion strings left out for clarity):
>
> aif aif * *
> wav wav * *
> shn wav * *
> flc wav * *
>
> wav mp3 slimp3 *
> aif mp3 slimp3 *
> shn mp3 slimp3 *
> flc mp3 slimp3 *
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>
>

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 22:27
Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:
>
>> aif aif * *
>> wav wav * *
>> shn wav * *
>> flc wav * *
>>
>> wav mp3 slimp3 *
>> aif mp3 slimp3 *
>> shn mp3 slimp3 *
>> flc mp3 slimp3 *
>
>
> Hmm... This doesn't quite work as I would expect.
> The flac is now no longer get transcoded when no limit
> is chosen; however when I do choose a limit the
> server does not seem to know how to use the
> flac -> mp3 line that is now only for slimp3
> but not the default. I think there is something
> a little amiss in the parsing logic. Recipes should
> be available even if they are not the default. I

Adding "redundant" lines of:

wav mp3 * *
aif mp3 * *
shn mp3 * *
flc mp3 * *

Seems to do the trick but without knowing the details
of the logic I'm not sure of the implications of this
kludge on slimp3 users. Though since more specific matchs
are supposed to be caught first it should be good.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 22:33
kdf wrote:

> it was....but now its not. the server has been moving, lately, towards special
> handling of softsqueeze. it is now identified as 'softsqueeze'.

Is this actually useful or even desirable? I suppose it might be if and when
softsqueeze specific features get introduced. OTOH there is something to
be said for an almost perfect software emulation in terms of familiarity
of use, support, testing, etc.

> The convert.conf can be all * and * for player and ID. having all the mp3's set
> for slimp3 only will make bitrate limiting impossible for alternate formats on
> anything but slimp3.

I think the "redundant" lines from my crossed email solve this
problem.

> good catch on the softsqueeze playback.

Lately I'm using softsqueeze more than the actual squeezebox :-).


--
Daryle A. Tilroe

kdf
2004-05-20, 22:53
Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:
>
> > Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:
> >
> >> aif aif * *
> >> wav wav * *
> >> shn wav * *
> >> flc wav * *
> >>
> >> wav mp3 slimp3 *
> >> aif mp3 slimp3 *
> >> shn mp3 slimp3 *
> >> flc mp3 slimp3 *
> >
> >
> > Hmm... This doesn't quite work as I would expect.
> > The flac is now no longer get transcoded when no limit
> > is chosen; however when I do choose a limit the
> > server does not seem to know how to use the
> > flac -> mp3 line that is now only for slimp3
> > but not the default. I think there is something
> > a little amiss in the parsing logic. Recipes should
> > be available even if they are not the default. I
>
> Adding "redundant" lines of:
>
> wav mp3 * *
> aif mp3 * *
> shn mp3 * *
> flc mp3 * *
>
> Seems to do the trick but without knowing the details
> of the logic I'm not sure of the implications of this
> kludge on slimp3 users. Though since more specific matchs
> are supposed to be caught first it should be good.

This works fine. Each client model has an object property that defines the
formats supported by the client, in order of preference. For squeezebox, that
is AIF, WAV, MP3. For Slimp3 this is MP3. The search for conversion goes
through each supported format in order of preference. Thus, squeezebox will
find aif/wav output conversions first. Slimp3 will only find mp3 outputs. In
the case of bitrate limiting, the searches through wav/aif are skipped. When
future mid-range bandwidths are supported natively, then the bitrate limit will
select preferred formats based on the limit.

-kdf

kdf
2004-05-20, 23:00
Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> kdf wrote:
>
> > it was....but now its not. the server has been moving, lately, towards
> special
> > handling of softsqueeze. it is now identified as 'softsqueeze'.
>
> Is this actually useful or even desirable? I suppose it might be if and
> when
> softsqueeze specific features get introduced. OTOH there is something to
> be said for an almost perfect software emulation in terms of familiarity
> of use, support, testing, etc.

It is desirable when it comes to closer integration with slimserver. For the
most part, the softsqueeze client inherits everything squeezebox with just a few
alterations where required. Most notably model name and the requirement for
firmware upgrades.

> > The convert.conf can be all * and * for player and ID. having all the
> mp3's set
> > for slimp3 only will make bitrate limiting impossible for alternate formats
> on
> > anything but slimp3.
>
> I think the "redundant" lines from my crossed email solve this
> problem.

yup :)

-kdf

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 23:24
kdf wrote:

> Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:
>
>>I think the "redundant" lines from my crossed email solve this
>>problem.
>
> yup :)

Well I think this convertnew.conf should work if the "softsqueeze" type
is not being implemented for 5.2. What I don't understand yet is how
you are going to tell them apart without a strictly controlled MAC
address mask/range?

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-05-20, 23:27
kdf wrote:

> alterations where required. Most notably model name and the requirement for
> firmware upgrades.

As far as I understood the latter is dealt with by always reporting zero (0).

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

kdf
2004-05-20, 23:59
Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:

> kdf wrote:
>
> > Quoting "Daryle A. Tilroe" <daryle (AT) micralyne (DOT) com>:
> >
> >>I think the "redundant" lines from my crossed email solve this
> >>problem.
> >
> > yup :)
>
> Well I think this convertnew.conf should work if the "softsqueeze" type
> is not being implemented for 5.2. What I don't understand yet is how
> you are going to tell them apart without a strictly controlled MAC
> address mask/range?

Have no fear, I'm sure they know what they are doing.
they had better, cause I dont ;)
-kdf

rtitmuss
2004-05-21, 03:34
> Well I think this convertnew.conf should work if the "softsqueeze" type
> is not being implemented for 5.2. What I don't understand yet is how
> you are going to tell them apart without a strictly controlled MAC
> address mask/range?

The detection is not based on MAC address. When a player registers with the
slim server using the slimproto it identifies itself using a deviceID, type
2 being used for a squeezebox. We have added a new type 3 for softsqueeze.
In the future this will allow softsqueeze to extended on the capabilities of
the squeezebox, for example include native flac and ogg playback.

Regards,
Richard