PDA

View Full Version : Nightly build of 16th May with iTunes



James Dunn
2004-05-19, 14:34
Hi,

I have a very strange problem.

I tried making my iTunes library available on my Linux platform. I copied
the iTunes XML into my music folder and magically everything to do with
iTunes burst into life - very impressed. New playlists became available in
the Playlists Folder with an iTunes title - and they worked. However, those
iTunes playlists exist as the last entries at the end of _every_ folder in
the tree when I use Browse Music Folder.

They don't appear in any other browse view.

RH Linux 7.1
Nightly build of 15 May.

Cheers,

James Dunn

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of P McDowell
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 10:16 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: Re: [slim] "SlimServer_v2004-05-18.dmg"-


"Neil Serdinsky" <neilserdinsky (AT) mac (DOT) com> wrote in
message news:loom.20040519T220606-695 (AT) post (DOT) gmane.org...
> kdf <slim-mail@...> writes:
>
> > player. The reconnect with the above url via winamp. The Bitrate
Limiting
> > setting will still say 320, but your playback should come up as 128 once
you
> > start playing a song.
> >
> > -kdf
> >
>
>
> I am going to have to wait until I am front of the box and do a
re-install. I
> think there must be something else going on since I tried forgetting the
> player and forcing the bitrate to 128 in the URL and winamp still reports
320.
> (I have also tested this in iTunes and Windows Media Player).
>
> thanks.
> Neil

Two things may be misleading you
The bitrate doesn't change till you skip to the next track
Winamp seems to average its bitrate reading, so you see the bitrate slowly
reducing unless you close and reopen Winamp, then you immediately see the
bitrate you set.

kdf
2004-05-19, 15:34
have you set your playlists folder and yoru music folder as the same location?
plus, you can also try more recent nightlies to see if the issue has been solved
already.

-kdf

Quoting James Dunn <james.dunn (AT) hedgehog-house (DOT) co.uk>:

> Hi,
>
> I have a very strange problem.
>
> I tried making my iTunes library available on my Linux platform. I copied
> the iTunes XML into my music folder and magically everything to do with
> iTunes burst into life - very impressed. New playlists became available in
> the Playlists Folder with an iTunes title - and they worked. However, those
> iTunes playlists exist as the last entries at the end of _every_ folder in
> the tree when I use Browse Music Folder.
>
> They don't appear in any other browse view.
>
> RH Linux 7.1
> Nightly build of 15 May.
>
> Cheers,
>
> James Dunn
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of P McDowell
> Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 10:16 PM
> To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> Subject: Re: [slim] "SlimServer_v2004-05-18.dmg"-
>
>
> "Neil Serdinsky" <neilserdinsky (AT) mac (DOT) com> wrote in
> message news:loom.20040519T220606-695 (AT) post (DOT) gmane.org...
> > kdf <slim-mail@...> writes:
> >
> > > player. The reconnect with the above url via winamp. The Bitrate
> Limiting
> > > setting will still say 320, but your playback should come up as 128 once
> you
> > > start playing a song.
> > >
> > > -kdf
> > >
> >
> >
> > I am going to have to wait until I am front of the box and do a
> re-install. I
> > think there must be something else going on since I tried forgetting the
> > player and forcing the bitrate to 128 in the URL and winamp still reports
> 320.
> > (I have also tested this in iTunes and Windows Media Player).
> >
> > thanks.
> > Neil
>
> Two things may be misleading you
> The bitrate doesn't change till you skip to the next track
> Winamp seems to average its bitrate reading, so you see the bitrate slowly
> reducing unless you close and reopen Winamp, then you immediately see the
> bitrate you set.
>
>
>
>