PDA

View Full Version : can a wired SB3 be upgraded to wireless?



hardflipman
2009-04-02, 03:01
i got a SB3 recently and found out to my dismay that it was wired. is there a way to upgrade it to wireless?

cheers

toby10
2009-04-02, 03:35
i got a SB3 recently and found out to my dismay that it was wired. is there a way to upgrade it to wireless?

cheers

I don't think they made an SB3 without a wireless card in it.
You sure it's an SB3? Not an SB1 or SB2 or other?

Have you tried resetting it and connecting via WiFi?

r808a
2009-04-02, 05:22
I saw it on an auction site, about two years ago.

TonyM
2009-04-02, 05:26
SB3s used to be sold in wired or wired & wireless versions. I have one of each.

Mark Lanctot
2009-04-02, 05:42
The hardware should be there (mini-PCI slot) and the firmware should support it as there is only one version of the firmware.

The tricky part will be finding the exact wireless card. You have to find the exact one, and IIRC it's an Asian OEM that only sells to corporations. The model number has been listed on this forum but I'm not sure what search terms would find it.

It would probably be easier and even cheaper to wire it to a wireless bridge.

toby10
2009-04-02, 05:47
SB3s used to be sold in wired or wired & wireless versions. I have one of each.

Well I'll be..... I had never heard that before. Thanks. :)

aubuti
2009-04-02, 06:01
It would probably be easier and even cheaper to wire it to a wireless bridge.
I expect Mark's right about this. Another alternative would be to bring the wire to where you're using the SB3. If you don't want to pull ethernet cable to that location, you could look into homeplug adapters, which run the network signal over your home's electrical wires.

hardflipman
2009-04-03, 02:08
I too had no idea there was a wired one till i tried to connect wirelessly!

i wasn't too fussed as i have just rewired the house and put what i thought was sufficient cat5 in but i'm having difficulty relocating my cable modem which is requiring me to use 1 of my ethernet ports in the living room which i needed for the squeezebox. i'v got a hub i could use but i wanted to avoid having yet another device plugged into the mains...

anyway, i'll persevere with moving my cable modem and failing that i'll just use a hub. if it could have taken a generic minipci wireless card that would have made life easier as i have a broken nc6000 laptop that i could have taken the wireless card out of. never mind

cheers

boxowl
2009-04-03, 05:58
You could consider the use of an access point that support the client mode.
Example: EDIMAX EW-7416APn
Probably it will not work out of the box, but you could configure it with a windows pc (and squeezeplay on top).

widman
2009-04-03, 13:09
Based on this thread:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=34878&highlight=sb3+wireless+card

I think you want this card:

http://www.amazon.com/HQRP-Wireless-802-11g-Adapter-MousePad/dp/B000OQ9EPC

Hope this helps

bobkoure
2009-04-03, 20:05
hardflipman - you can run two separate network connections over a single piece of CAT5/6. Only two pairs are used for twisted pair ethernet, and there are four pairs in CAT5/6.
There are simple "dongles" that convert one-to-two (you'd need one for each end, or you can do it with a pair of punch down blocks if you're using keystone plates and want to keep clutter down. Note that it's an actual separate circuit so you'd need to have an extra port at the router/hub at the far end. Also - you may slow g-bit down a bit doing this (depends on the length of the CAT5/6.

86atc250r
2009-04-03, 20:38
Are you sure you can upgrade the SB3 to wireless?

I have a wired only SB3 & in searching on this forum I was lead to believe by a fairly convincing post that the SB2 wired only units had the mini-pci slot, but the SB3's did not.

I've not opened mine up to find out since it's sitting next to a WRT54GL that's a client bridge to another building anyways, but in the future it might be nice to upgrade it if possible.

lostboy
2009-04-04, 05:10
I have a wired only SB2 and the mini-PCI slot has not been soldered to the processor board so would be unable to upgrade. I'd always open the thing up to check before buying a card.

Chris

widman
2009-04-04, 07:18
I purchased my SB3 as "wired-only", but it does have the mini-pci slot on the board.

pete