PDA

View Full Version : Setup Win XP server, networking and plugin Questions



cybervision_
2009-03-19, 03:27
I have a PC with Windows XP used as a server. It connects to Transporter via ethernet with switch in between. It also has a wireless card installed and I want to use it to get my Duet Controller to control squeezecenter, but how should I set up networking on that computer?

- Static IP or not?
- I would like the wireless card to be set up so that I can connect to the PC with the Duet controller AND to have the card connect to my wireless internet so I can use internet radio etc. on the Transporter, but is that possible?

Mark Lanctot
2009-03-19, 06:18
You've received a good amount of advice on your other threads regarding this.

Did you just get the switch? Return it and get a Linksys WRT54GL router. Install DD-WRT or Tomato firmware, then enable WDS.

cybervision_
2009-03-19, 07:42
Yes, but I changed the OS and installed Windows. WRT54GL is too pricy for me it costs 120$ delivered. Anyway, the setup worked out of the box with XP so yeai!

cybervision_
2009-03-19, 09:38
BTW I think you're getting it all wrong, on regular basis I just want the Transporter hooked up via ethernet to my server, and I want to have a Duet connected to the PC via wireless to control Squeezecenter with it.

I have now been able to connect to the PC with the Duet controller but it the player doesn't show up on its display. I have bridged my wire and wireless connections, is that wrong?

Mark Lanctot
2009-03-19, 10:59
BTW I think you're getting it all wrong

I don't doubt that, I'm getting very confused! :-)


on regular basis I just want the Transporter hooked up via ethernet to my server, and I want to have a Duet connected to the PC via wireless to control Squeezecenter with it.

I have now been able to connect to the PC with the Duet controller but it the player doesn't show up on its display. I have bridged my wire and wireless connections, is that wrong?

This should all work...but you're using Windows to manage this "ad-hoc" connection, it's up to Windows now. On the wireless connection, you'll have to find out what it's doing. Is it assigning addresses by DHCP? Static only? What's the IP address of the wireless connection and what addresses are allowed on the ad-hoc network the wireless card creates?

I would imagine all this is in Windows' "Network Connections" settings or through some sort of manufacturer-specific software that came with your wireless card.

You say the SBC is able to connect to the PC - how do you know this? If it can connect to SqueezeCenter on the PC but not the SBR, you may have to reset the SBR. Most likely moving around all this network stuff has left either the SBC or the SBR with an invalid IP address, you may have to reset the SBR and/or the SBC.