PDA

View Full Version : evil, evil netgear switch



Jack Coates
2004-05-17, 14:16
those of you who've been on the list for a year or so may remember my
problems with skipping music? The problems went away when I replaced my
silver plastic NetGear switch with an older blue metal model.

I recently had to put the silver plastic one back in the network for more
ports. After about a week, my music has begun skipping. The best thing is
that the silver netgear isn't between the slimp3 and the server at all,
just on the same bus.

Nasty.

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org:
It's A Scientific Venture...

Adam Spiers
2004-05-17, 14:49
Jack Coates (jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org) wrote:
> those of you who've been on the list for a year or so may remember my
> problems with skipping music? The problems went away when I replaced my
> silver plastic NetGear switch with an older blue metal model.
>
> I recently had to put the silver plastic one back in the network for more
> ports. After about a week, my music has begun skipping. The best thing is
> that the silver netgear isn't between the slimp3 and the server at all,
> just on the same bus.

What's the model number, and is it running the latest firmware?

Jack Coates
2004-05-17, 15:24
> Jack Coates (jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org) wrote:
>> those of you who've been on the list for a year or so may remember my
>> problems with skipping music? The problems went away when I replaced my
>> silver plastic NetGear switch with an older blue metal model.
>>
>> I recently had to put the silver plastic one back in the network for
>> more
>> ports. After about a week, my music has begun skipping. The best thing
>> is
>> that the silver netgear isn't between the slimp3 and the server at all,
>> just on the same bus.
>
> What's the model number, and is it running the latest firmware?
>

FS605, and I haven't checked. Off to do so now... doesn't look like they
have firmware updates.
http://kbserver.netgear.com/products_automatic/FS605.asp

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org:
It's A Scientific Venture...

seanadams
2004-05-17, 15:27
Jack,

You may want to check that your slimp3 is running firmware v2.3. It
fixes an ethernet bug which may have confused your switch.

But probably it was just a dud switch - that happens once it a while
too.



On May 17, 2004, at 3:24 PM, Jack Coates wrote:

>
>> Jack Coates (jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org) wrote:
>>> those of you who've been on the list for a year or so may remember my
>>> problems with skipping music? The problems went away when I replaced
>>> my
>>> silver plastic NetGear switch with an older blue metal model.
>>>
>>> I recently had to put the silver plastic one back in the network for
>>> more
>>> ports. After about a week, my music has begun skipping. The best
>>> thing
>>> is
>>> that the silver netgear isn't between the slimp3 and the server at
>>> all,
>>> just on the same bus.
>>
>> What's the model number, and is it running the latest firmware?
>>
>
> FS605, and I haven't checked. Off to do so now... doesn't look like
> they
> have firmware updates.
> http://kbserver.netgear.com/products_automatic/FS605.asp
>
> --
> Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org:
> It's A Scientific Venture...
>

Jack Coates
2004-05-17, 15:31
> Are you sure that this is a switch and not a hub? What is the model #? A
> quick look on one of the ports on that box with ethereal might show you
> exactly what it is doing that is causing the problem (jabbers, CRCs,
> broadcasts, etc).
>
> I recently bought a 5 port "blue" netgear 10/100 switch off of eBay
> shipped
> to my door for $22 so you can probably replace the problem child pretty
> cheaply.
>

I run Ethereal all the time for work and fun... I don't see anything out
of the ordinary though. I suspect that it's got a bad timing crystal, so
it gradually gets off-kilter and screws up CSMA/CD for the whole broacast
domain.

I'm shopping for its replacement right now.
--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org:
It's A Scientific Venture...

Jack Coates
2004-05-17, 15:44
>
> Jack,
>
> You may want to check that your slimp3 is running firmware v2.3. It
> fixes an ethernet bug which may have confused your switch.
>
> But probably it was just a dud switch - that happens once it a while
> too.
>

hm, it was 2.2.... just upgraded, and the upgrade spewed a buttload
(metric) of CRC errors which promptly slowed down when I unplugged the
problem switch. I'll post if it skips again.

I still think it's a bum switch, as my WAP will also sometimes get really
slow when it's plugged in.
--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org:
It's A Scientific Venture...