PDA

View Full Version : Mac related question

53mudg35
2009-03-09, 17:26
This is my 1st post on this forum, I would like to say hi to all...

I am a windows guy and am thinking about getting the new mac mini to replace my aging pc. From what I have read, it seems like the new mini would work great with a squeeze. I have a few questions for those who own both a mac and squeeze.

I am new to computer/network related music, i.e. I have not purchased any music online nor have I ripped any of my CD's so please bear with me and my lack of knowledge.

I plan on going FLAC so I assume it would be best to use a windows session to perform my rips. For those who own macs and have gone with FLAC, is it possible to use Boot Camp or one of the virtual machine setups so that I could use windows software like EAC to rip the CD's to a drive location that both OSX and XP could access and read?

Or does the Boot Camp XP only have access to a windows (NTFS) partion?

Thanks

cdmackay
2009-03-09, 18:38
53mudg35 wrote:
> I plan on going FLAC so I assume it would be best to use a windows
> session to perform my rips.

you might consider using XLD on MacOS; I've just started using this, but
it seems very capable. Rips to flac with full accuraterip support.

cheers,
calum.

pufnstuf
2009-03-09, 18:46
Hi 53mudg35

You can perform secure, AccurateRips directly in Mac OS X without having to bother with Boot Camp etc. Just use XLD. Here is the homepage: http://tmkk.hp.infoseek.co.jp/xld/index_e.html

XLD can create log files and also convert to multiple audio formats during the one rip. For example you could rip to FLAC and MP3 VBR at the same time. Handy if you want to rip a copy for your iPod as well as Squeeze device!

Here is more information in the SqueezeBox WIKI: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Beginners_Guide_To_Ripping#X_Lossless_Decoder_.28X LD.29

Try it out before you setup Bootcamp, it will save you restarting everytime you want to rip some new tunes! :-D

Enjoy

Kyle