PDA

View Full Version : Classic or Duet?

jehma
2009-03-08, 11:09
I have a Boom and I love it. I want to buy a second SB to put in my family room plugged into my stereo, but I have to have headphone capability for listening to while working out. I thought the Duet would be good for this (and the controller is just so cool :) ), but it looks like there are problems with it? Is the Classic my only choice to be able to use headphones reliably? I know I could buy a second Boom, but I would rather hook this one up to my existing stereo.

Thanks!

ETA: I just saw the info about editing the controller files to enable the headphones. I'm a s/w developer and could probably manage this :) Are the headphones reliable afterwards? It's a necessary feature for me.

MeSue
2009-03-08, 11:56
The headphone jack on the Controller is still a beta feature at this time. Whichever one you buy, you can still use the headphones through your stereo if the Controller turns out to not work for you. I have had no trouble with it, personally.

Mnyb
2009-03-08, 12:09
Why not a classic paired with a controller, thats my favorite combination.

Moonbase
2009-03-08, 15:41
I originally orderd the SB3, but eventually ended up with the Duet. If you have a stable WLAN, the Controller is really a cool device — I can read it without glasses (need those for the SB3), it has so much more functionality (i.e., controlling volume from another room, controlling ALL SB devices you have, reading news, ...)

Admittedly, it still has some (minor) problems with both usable network bandwidth and headphones, but I’m sure these will all be gone soon with software changes — it’s a small Linux computer anyway :-)

I never needed the "headphones patch" after controller firmware r4154, btw. It still stutters sometimes, so its not yet the "perfect" headphone playing device, but I have trust (since it seems to be a problem related to energy saving which can be cured in software).