PDA

View Full Version : Working Across Multiple Players



smc2911
2009-02-20, 15:12
Apologies if this question has been asked elsewhere: I did a bit of a search around the forums, but didn't find much.

Anyway, I now have four boxen spread around the house (one classic SB3, two Deuts and a recently purchased Boom). When controlling the players via the Web UI, I have sometimes had my selection sent to the wrong player. Intuitively, a selection will be sent to whichever player appears on the rhs of the browser, but in practice I realise that it's actually determined by the player code which is appended to the browsing urls on the LHS. I am now being careful to hover over links to check I'm going to cue to the correct player, but it has raised a further question for me. Is there any way to handle the following situation. In a situation where I'm working with players that are not synchronised, imagine Player 1 is playing Track 1 from a particular album, which inspires me to cue up Track 3 from the same album on Player 2. One the web UI, the natural process for me is to click on the track name on the RHS of the Player 1 now playing screen. The details of the track then appear on the LHS of the screen and I can click on the album and then quickly navigate to to Track 3. Unfortunately, this comes via a URL augmented with the code for Player 1, so there doesn't seem to be any way to make it play on player 2. Of course, I could just use a search, but given that the details are there on the screen, it's frustrating to have to navigate away to get it to play. Any thoughts?

Mark Miksis
2009-02-20, 16:05
Anything you do in the web UI should affect only the selected player (and any player it is synced with). If it doesn't, it's probably either a bug or a browser caching issue (or both). If you have a case that is reproducible, please file a bug. Don't forget to include details about your OS, browser type, browser version, etc.

radish
2009-02-20, 17:42
In a situation where I'm working with players that are not synchronised, imagine Player 1 is playing Track 1 from a particular album, which inspires me to cue up Track 3 from the same album on Player 2. One the web UI, the natural process for me is to click on the track name on the RHS of the Player 1 now playing screen. The details of the track then appear on the LHS of the screen and I can click on the album and then quickly navigate to to Track 3. Unfortunately, this comes via a URL augmented with the code for Player 1, so there doesn't seem to be any way to make it play on player 2.
Just select player 2 from the drop down and the LHS will repaint with the correct URLs.

smc2911
2009-02-20, 18:45
I'm on Version: 7.3.3 - 25090 on ubuntu for the server and I'm browsing using FF on OSX. Since I posted the query, I've upgraded (previous version would have been at most a week older) and I'm now having trouble reproducing the problem. If I can reproduce it consistently, I'll post again.