PDA

View Full Version : Shuffle



Chris Caldwell
2004-05-10, 07:50
Has anyone else noticed that shuffle is not working correctly in 5.1.5?
I get shuffle by artist, by album, or do not shuffle as options.
If I browse to a genre (e.g. punk with ~1500 items) and the first artist
in that genre has only one album , I only hear songs from the first
album, not the entire genre. This worked in an older version.

--
Chris Caldwell
GPG key ID: 0xE52D0BE8

"Programming today is a race between software engineers
striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs
and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots.
So far, the universe is winning."
- Richard Cook

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.4 (GNU/Linux)

iD8DBQBAn5bM1YKAfuUtC+gRAsOXAKDVrNp5uyTXGIqIui98uQ aAIbPYrQCfX0KM
kGgMP6SKTz4E1k+0B8DAN4E=
=1YZJ
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

dean
2004-05-10, 08:16
Chris,

Can you post the steps you take to cause the problem to happen?
Sequence of clicks or button presses would be helpful.

-dean

On May 10, 2004, at 7:50 AM, Chris Caldwell wrote:

> Has anyone else noticed that shuffle is not working correctly in 5.1.5?
> I get shuffle by artist, by album, or do not shuffle as options.
> If I browse to a genre (e.g. punk with ~1500 items) and the first
> artist
> in that genre has only one album , I only hear songs from the first
> album, not the entire genre. This worked in an older version.
>
> --
> Chris Caldwell
> GPG key ID: 0xE52D0BE8
>
> "Programming today is a race between software engineers
> striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs
> and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots.
> So far, the universe is winning."
> - Richard Cook
>

Chris Caldwell
2004-05-10, 12:37
I'm not near the Squeezebox right now, but I think it's pretty straight
forward. Maybe I'm not doing this right, but in the past I could.

Down Arrow to:
Browse Genres.
Right Arrow to any genre.
Play.

At this point any shuffle options only affect the first artist in the
list. If I use the web broswer to connect to the server interface, it
does show that all artists in the genre have been added to the players
playlist.

On a completely unrelated note, my girlfriend loves the Squeezebox and
wants me to get a couple more since we've ripped both of our CD
collections to disk. One application I was looking at was for our patio.
I'm guessing the Squeezebox couldn't drive unpowered outdoor speakers?

On Mon, 2004-05-10 at 11:16, dean blackketter wrote:
> Chris,
>
> Can you post the steps you take to cause the problem to happen?
> Sequence of clicks or button presses would be helpful.
>
> -dean
>
> On May 10, 2004, at 7:50 AM, Chris Caldwell wrote:
>
> > Has anyone else noticed that shuffle is not working correctly in 5.1.5?
> > I get shuffle by artist, by album, or do not shuffle as options.
> > If I browse to a genre (e.g. punk with ~1500 items) and the first
> > artist
> > in that genre has only one album , I only hear songs from the first
> > album, not the entire genre. This worked in an older version.
> >
> > --
> > Chris Caldwell
> > GPG key ID: 0xE52D0BE8
> >
> > "Programming today is a race between software engineers
> > striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs
> > and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots.
> > So far, the universe is winning."
> > - Richard Cook
> >

dean
2004-05-10, 14:11
Hi Chris,

On May 10, 2004, at 12:37 PM, Chris Caldwell wrote:

> I'm not near the Squeezebox right now, but I think it's pretty straight
> forward. Maybe I'm not doing this right, but in the past I could.
>
> Down Arrow to:
> Browse Genres.
> Right Arrow to any genre.
> Play.
>
> At this point any shuffle options only affect the first artist in the
> list. If I use the web broswer to connect to the server interface, it
> does show that all artists in the genre have been added to the players
> playlist.

This works as expected for me. Maybe when you get in front of your
player you can try it and give some more detailed examples.

> On a completely unrelated note, my girlfriend loves the Squeezebox and
> wants me to get a couple more since we've ripped both of our CD
> collections to disk. One application I was looking at was for our
> patio.
> I'm guessing the Squeezebox couldn't drive unpowered outdoor speakers?
No, you'll need an external amplifier. Powered speakers work well,
although I don't know of any that are safe for the outdoors.
Otherwise, an inexpensive receiver makes a good amplifier and is often
cheaper than trying to buy a standalone amp.

-dean