PDA

View Full Version : Displaying 'doublesize' text via CLI?



Lars Kellogg-Stedman
2004-05-09, 18:41
I've been fiddling with the slimserver CLI today, and I have a few
questions.

(1) Is there a way to force "doublesize" for a given display command,
without making a persistent change to the configuration for the given
squeezebox? I see that there's a '__center__' prefix that can be used
for auto-centering, I was hoping for something like '__doublesize__'.

(2) How does scrolling work? If I try to display text that doesn't fit
on the display, it doesn't scroll -- it just sits there. In fact,
slimserver has the same problem when displaying error messages in
doublesize mode.

Thanks!

-- Lars

dean
2004-05-09, 19:52
On May 9, 2004, at 6:41 PM, Lars Kellogg-Stedman wrote:

> I've been fiddling with the slimserver CLI today, and I have a few
> questions.
>
> (1) Is there a way to force "doublesize" for a given display command,
> without making a persistent change to the configuration for the given
> squeezebox? I see that there's a '__center__' prefix that can be used
> for auto-centering, I was hoping for something like '__doublesize__'.
Alas, there is no doublesize command. I'll see that one gets added.

> (2) How does scrolling work? If I try to display text that doesn't fit
> on the display, it doesn't scroll -- it just sits there. In fact,
> slimserver has the same problem when displaying error messages in
> doublesize mode.
When in doublesize mode, the text should automatically scroll after a
few seconds. Can you give me an example to reproduce the problem?

-dean

Lars Kellogg-Stedman
2004-05-10, 04:56
> Alas, there is no doublesize command. I'll see that one gets added.

That would be fantastic :).

> When in doublesize mode, the text should automatically scroll after a
> few seconds. Can you give me an example to reproduce the problem?

Sure:

display unused This%20text%20is%20too%20long%20for%20the%20screen . 10

All I get is "This text is too" fixed on the display, with no scrolling.
I'm running current CVS as of yesterday sometime.

-- Lars

dean
2004-05-10, 13:07
On May 10, 2004, at 4:56 AM, Lars Kellogg-Stedman wrote:

>> Alas, there is no doublesize command. I'll see that one gets added.
>
> That would be fantastic :).
>
>> When in doublesize mode, the text should automatically scroll after a
>> few seconds. Can you give me an example to reproduce the problem?
>
> Sure:
>
> display unused This%20text%20is%20too%20long%20for%20the%20screen . 10
>
> All I get is "This text is too" fixed on the display, with no
> scrolling.
> I'm running current CVS as of yesterday sometime.

I found this bug. Fixed in the latest CVS, look for it in tomorrow's
nightly build.