PDA

View Full Version : Latest Nightlies



Kevin Hawkins
2004-05-07, 11:36
The way part of this thread has gone seems to imply this is a problem that
SlimDevices can't reproduce but you seem to imply there is a known reason
why the UNC style fileshares wont work. Could you just confirm this is the
case and it's not just me (and Rob) ??

The problem came in somewhere after 5.1.5 was released as that version is
OK. If I install 5.1.5 over 5.1.6 though it does not work. I have to remove
5.1.6 totally , take the SlimServ directory out of Program Files and then do
a fresh install of 5.1.5 to get it to work - however using the suggestion on
mapping below....this works for me in that having mapped to drive M: N: and
O: and created shortcuts the shortcuts are scannable by the server :-)
HOWEVER...

One of the applications (iPAQ remote)that I use with SlimServer passes the
UDF filenames via the CLI and hence when I ask SlimServer to play these it
just comes up with an error (file not found) or similar. I guess this is
expected. So I'm stuck - I wanted 5.1.6 because of the proxy cache fix ( I
have problems here with radio stations without it ) and the cache speed
improvements were most welcome.

In hindsight I'm going to go back to 5.1.5 and hope that the UNC filename
issue gets fixed somewhere soon down the line as it will impact quite a few
people should they upgrade. I take it I don't need to file a bug report ??

K

> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of kdf
> Sent: 06 May 2004 01:43
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Latest Nightlies
>
> Quoting Kevin Hawkins <lists (AT) ukusa (DOT) demon.co.uk>:
>
>
> > > is it not possible to map the drive and point the music
> > > folder to that?
> >
> > I seem to remember I tried that before and it didn't
> work - I may try
> > it again. However it raises another problem in that the
> music server
> > is actually 3 different shares . The server itself has
> two internal
> > drives and I have a USB drive attched to it too as the
> two internal
> > drives are full. If I do succeed with mapping a drive
> and getting
> > SlimServer to see it then I could only do that for one
> drive couldn't I ??
>
>
> Maybe, but you could map the other drives as well and
> place shortcuts inside the folder that you have set as
> your music folder. That doesn't solve the issue of UNC
> paths failing, but you could at least have access to your
> music in the meantime. I woudln't wish dead air on anybody.
>
> -kdf
>
>

kdf
2004-05-07, 12:25
Quoting Kevin Hawkins <lists (AT) ukusa (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

> The way part of this thread has gone seems to imply this is a problem that
> SlimDevices can't reproduce but you seem to imply there is a known reason
> why the UNC style fileshares wont work. Could you just confirm this is the
> case and it's not just me (and Rob) ??

Please don't take anything I suggest as any implicaiton from Slim Devices. Its
true I do contribute code, but I am in no position to be speaking for the
company. That said, if you are simply using a generic 'you' in your reference,
nevermind :) I've certainly not had trouble with it. I tried this out the
other night with updated cvs code and it was fine. Even, I dare say, faster
than with mapped drives. However, I was using Win2k SP4. Its possible this
issue is specific to a certain OS and certain SP.

> The problem came in somewhere after 5.1.5 was released as that version is
> OK. If I install 5.1.5 over 5.1.6 though it does not work. I have to remove
> 5.1.6 totally , take the SlimServ directory out of Program Files and then do
> a fresh install of 5.1.5 to get it to work - however using the suggestion on
> mapping below....this works for me in that having mapped to drive M: N: and
> O: and created shortcuts the shortcuts are scannable by the server :-)
> HOWEVER...

5.1.5 was intended to be a 'stable' release, in that it could be used by the
majority of people for a longer term than many releases prior to this in the 5.x
stream. 5.1.6 is then free to take on large development efforts, including the
standardisation of file handling by URL. Prior versions would handle the file
as a combination of filepaths, file urls, and funky custom urls that werent
really compliant with url standards. This makes thigns messy and leads to
repeated breaking of code when any developer forgets which format to use. The
new system should make it more fluid and also open up better handlind for thigns
like remote streaming. However, there are complex issues when it comes to some
SP's. Dean would probably have more information on the specifics there.


>
> In hindsight I'm going to go back to 5.1.5 and hope that the UNC filename
> issue gets fixed somewhere soon down the line as it will impact quite a few
> people should they upgrade. I take it I don't need to file a bug report ??

I know its being worked on, but it can't hurt to file a report if there is
nothing in there already similar to this. I suspect a fix should be along
before too long.

-kdf

dean
2004-05-07, 15:55
On May 7, 2004, at 11:36 AM, Kevin Hawkins wrote:

> The way part of this thread has gone seems to imply this is a problem
> that
> SlimDevices can't reproduce but you seem to imply there is a known
> reason
> why the UNC style fileshares wont work. Could you just confirm this is
> the
> case and it's not just me (and Rob) ??
I've found a problem having to do with UNC paths on Windows and have
posted a new nightly build with a fix:

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest

If you are having trouble using SlimServer with a UNC path to a remote
server, try this out and let us know if it resolves your issue.

Thanks,

dean

Rob Studdert
2004-05-07, 16:01
On 7 May 2004 at 12:25, kdf wrote:

> Please don't take anything I suggest as any implicaiton from Slim Devices. Its
> true I do contribute code, but I am in no position to be speaking for the
> company. That said, if you are simply using a generic 'you' in your reference,
> nevermind :) I've certainly not had trouble with it. I tried this out the
> other night with updated cvs code and it was fine. Even, I dare say, faster
> than with mapped drives. However, I was using Win2k SP4. Its possible this
> issue is specific to a certain OS and certain SP.

Hi Kevin,

In your testing did you try running the Slimserver as a service with the server
machine logged off and using the remote computer manager client to start and
stop the service?

I am also logging onto my remote audio server as the administrator but the
account has administrative privileges they are also domain managed, it's not a
simple workgroup peer to peer set-up.

Cheers,

Rob

kdf
2004-05-07, 16:10
Quoting Rob Studdert <pdml (AT) swiftdsl (DOT) com.au>:

> On 7 May 2004 at 12:25, kdf wrote:
>
> > Please don't take anything I suggest as any implicaiton from Slim Devices.
> Its
> > true I do contribute code, but I am in no position to be speaking for the
> > company. That said, if you are simply using a generic 'you' in your
> reference,
> > nevermind :) I've certainly not had trouble with it. I tried this out
> the
> > other night with updated cvs code and it was fine. Even, I dare say,
> faster
> > than with mapped drives. However, I was using Win2k SP4. Its possible
> this
> > issue is specific to a certain OS and certain SP.
>
> Hi Kevin,
>
> In your testing did you try running the Slimserver as a service with the
> server
> machine logged off and using the remote computer manager client to start and
>
> stop the service?
>
nope. I never run my windows setup except for testing, so its usually me logged
in and running it manually. Sometimes I use firedaemon. I never use the EXE
because I can't compile test code.

try the nightly as Dean ust suggested, maybe that will help.

-kdf

dean
2004-05-07, 16:16
On May 7, 2004, at 4:10 PM, kdf wrote:
> nope. I never run my windows setup except for testing, so its usually
> me logged
> in and running it manually. Sometimes I use firedaemon. I never use
> the EXE
> because I can't compile test code.
This was the difference. Some older files were included in the .exe
that were missing some patches.

Rob Studdert
2004-05-07, 16:16
On 7 May 2004 at 15:55, dean blackketter wrote:

> I've found a problem having to do with UNC paths on Windows and have
> posted a new nightly build with a fix:
>
> http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest
>
> If you are having trouble using SlimServer with a UNC path to a remote
> server, try this out and let us know if it resolves your issue.

My hero. I just tested it and it works well however it wasn't my usual set-up
as my Audio Sever is on holidays this weekend due to party commitments. So I
mounted and shared a copy of my server via a USB drive on a W2k W/S station and
the remote server can see the share. Thanks for the good work Sean (and all
else involved).

Cheers,

Rob

Rob Studdert
2004-05-07, 16:46
On 7 May 2004 at 15:55, dean blackketter wrote:

> I've found a problem having to do with UNC paths on Windows and have
> posted a new nightly build with a fix:
>
> http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest
>
> If you are having trouble using SlimServer with a UNC path to a remote
> server, try this out and let us know if it resolves your issue.

As I mentioned all seems well however I have noted one peculiarity. Not that
it's a Slim problem but my Slimp3 players are able to play both external
streams or the local files however now the latest Softsqueeze can only play
streams, it sees the local files but stays in "Stopped" mode.

Cheers,

Rob

kdf
2004-05-07, 16:52
Quoting Rob Studdert <pdml (AT) swiftdsl (DOT) com.au>:

> On 7 May 2004 at 15:55, dean blackketter wrote:
>
> > I've found a problem having to do with UNC paths on Windows and have
> > posted a new nightly build with a fix:
> >
> > http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest
> >
> > If you are having trouble using SlimServer with a UNC path to a remote
> > server, try this out and let us know if it resolves your issue.
>
> As I mentioned all seems well however I have noted one peculiarity. Not that
>
> it's a Slim problem but my Slimp3 players are able to play both external
> streams or the local files however now the latest Softsqueeze can only play
> streams, it sees the local files but stays in "Stopped" mode.
>

Are these from saved playlists, by any chance?
Unfortunately, with so many changes to the way files are referenced and cache,
you may have to scrap some old playlists. Certainly do try a complete rescan
using "Wipe Cache" if you dont use iTunes or Moodlogic.

-kdf

Rob Studdert
2004-05-07, 16:56
On 7 May 2004 at 16:52, kdf wrote:

> Are these from saved playlists, by any chance?
> Unfortunately, with so many changes to the way files are referenced and cache,
> you may have to scrap some old playlists. Certainly do try a complete rescan
> using "Wipe Cache" if you dont use iTunes or Moodlogic.

Since my audio server is on holiday I had to rescan my back-up drive and I
pulled my test playlist straight out of the current music folder. Plus the same
files play on my hardware players.

Cheers,

Rob

kdf
2004-05-07, 19:19
Quoting Rob Studdert <pdml (AT) swiftdsl (DOT) com.au>:

> Since my audio server is on holiday I had to rescan my back-up drive and I
> pulled my test playlist straight out of the current music folder. Plus the
> same
> files play on my hardware players.
>

can you go into server settings, additional, debugging and check d_source. The
click change. Click on the link for the log, and try to play one of the songs
that is giving you trouble. If you paste that seciong of the log where you
start playing the song, it might give us some clue as to why it wont play that song.

cheers,
kdf

Harry McQuillen
2004-05-07, 22:54
I am having BIG missing tracks problems.

Take one album- only tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18
appear in browse.

Running OS 10.3.3 iTunes 4.5. I posted to the list of how I thought
I had fixed the problem by deleting all slim files and reinstalling
5.1.4. The problem has now re-appeared in 5.1.4. The files are there
on the HD and in the iTunes .xml file. Double checked.

I can update to the latest nightly or 5.1.5 but I have had this
problem with all three.

I had ALL of these tracks on the playlist and then rebooted and they
are not showing up.

This happens for multiple albums.

All files are .aiff or Apple Lossless.

What the heck is going on!!??!?!?!?!?!

-Harry

kdf
2004-05-07, 23:24
Quoting Harry McQuillen <lists (AT) spunturtle (DOT) net>:

>
> This happens for multiple albums.
>
> All files are .aiff or Apple Lossless.
>
> What the heck is going on!!??!?!?!?!?!
too much punctuation. that's the problem ;)

seriously, try running the server, and the turning on the debugging in server
settings, additional, debugging. Check d_info and d_source. CClick on the link
for the log and then play the song that you are having problems with. That night
give you a hint of what is failing.

-kdf

Rob Studdert
2004-05-08, 00:17
On 7 May 2004 at 19:19, kdf wrote:

> can you go into server settings, additional, debugging and check d_source. The
> click change. Click on the link for the log, and try to play one of the songs
> that is giving you trouble. If you paste that seciong of the log where you
> start playing the song, it might give us some clue as to why it wont play that
> song.

I checked the log and worked it out, since I had only been running SlimP3
hardware I had some Squeezebox file conversions disabled.

Cheers,

Rob

Harry McQuillen
2004-05-08, 00:56
>seriously, try running the server, and the turning on the debugging in server
>settings, additional, debugging. Check d_info and d_source. CClick
>on the link
>for the log and then play the song that you are having problems
>with. That night
>give you a hint of what is failing.

I am with you until the "CClink on the link for the log" part. I have
checked (and changed) d_info and d_source. What should I do next?


>-kdf
>

Harry McQuillen
2004-05-08, 09:24
Just re-updated to 5.1.5. The tracks are still missing. Same ones
after a reboot as well.

-Harry


At 12:56 AM -0700 5/8/04, Harry McQuillen wrote:
>>seriously, try running the server, and the turning on the debugging in server
>>settings, additional, debugging. Check d_info and d_source. CClick
>>on the link
>>for the log and then play the song that you are having problems
>>with. That night
>>give you a hint of what is failing.
>
>I am with you until the "CClink on the link for the log" part. I have
>checked (and changed) d_info and d_source. What should I do next?
>
>>-kdf

Steve Martin
2004-05-08, 10:59
Just a thought, are the missing tracks unchecked in iTunes? The default
for 'ignore songs disabled in iTunes' did seem to change in recent
builds .

Regards

Steve Martin

On 8 May 2004, at 5:24 pm, Harry McQuillen wrote:

>
> Just re-updated to 5.1.5. The tracks are still missing. Same ones
> after a reboot as well.
>
> -Harry
>
>
> At 12:56 AM -0700 5/8/04, Harry McQuillen wrote:
>>> seriously, try running the server, and the turning on the debugging
>>> in server
>>> settings, additional, debugging. Check d_info and d_source. CClick
>>> on the link
>>> for the log and then play the song that you are having problems
>>> with. That night
>>> give you a hint of what is failing.
>>
>> I am with you until the "CClink on the link for the log" part. I have
>> checked (and changed) d_info and d_source. What should I do next?
>>
>>> -kdf

kdf
2004-05-08, 12:28
Quoting Harry McQuillen <lists (AT) spunturtle (DOT) net>:

> >seriously, try running the server, and the turning on the debugging in
> server
> >settings, additional, debugging. Check d_info and d_source. CClick
> >on the link
> >for the log and then play the song that you are having problems
> >with. That night
> >give you a hint of what is failing.
>
> I am with you until the "CClink on the link for the log" part. I have
> checked (and changed) d_info and d_source. What should I do next?

there is a message at the top:
The SlimServer has a number of debugging settings that can be used to record
detailed information about the server's operation. Check off the items that
you'd like logged for display and click Change to start logging that
information. You can view the most recent log entries here.

In that message in a link (the last word "here")to open a new window and show
the debug log.

that, or you run slimserver.pl or slim.exe from a command prompt/terminal with
--d_info and --d_source. You will then get debug info there.

-kdf

Harry McQuillen
2004-05-08, 16:05
Ok, now I have the log open but I'm not making a lot of sense out
of it. I put it up at http://www.mcquillen.com/slimlog.txt
if anyone is so inclined to take a look and help me out.

The tunes are checked in iTunes (all of my songs are). What I
did (for the log experiment) is go to the album (in this case
John Hartford Steam Powered Aereo-Takes). Only tracks 1, 3,
4,5, 7, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 18 show up. The other tracks are there
on the hard drive.

-Harry


>there is a message at the top:
>The SlimServer has a number of debugging settings that can be used to record
>detailed information about the server's operation. Check off the items that
>you'd like logged for display and click Change to start logging that
>information. You can view the most recent log entries here.
>
> In that message in a link (the last word "here")to open a new
>window and show
>the debug log.
>
>that, or you run slimserver.pl or slim.exe from a command prompt/terminal with
>--d_info and --d_source. You will then get debug info there.
>
>-kdf

dean
2004-05-08, 16:44
Please update to the latest nightly and see if the problem still occurs.


On May 7, 2004, at 10:54 PM, Harry McQuillen wrote:

>
> I am having BIG missing tracks problems.
>
> Take one album- only tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18
> appear in browse.
>
> Running OS 10.3.3 iTunes 4.5. I posted to the list of how I thought
> I had fixed the problem by deleting all slim files and reinstalling
> 5.1.4. The problem has now re-appeared in 5.1.4. The files are there
> on the HD and in the iTunes .xml file. Double checked.
>
> I can update to the latest nightly or 5.1.5 but I have had this
> problem with all three.
>
> I had ALL of these tracks on the playlist and then rebooted and they
> are not showing up.
>
> This happens for multiple albums.
>
> All files are .aiff or Apple Lossless.
>
> What the heck is going on!!??!?!?!?!?!
>
> -Harry
>

Harry McQuillen
2004-05-08, 17:18
Updated to the 5/8 .dmg right now, problem still occurs.

This doesn't happen to every album. Another one for example
only seems to have tracks 1,3,5,7 and 9

iTunes reports 13529 songs, 277 artists and 931 albums.
SlimServer reports 12085 songs, 256 atists and 871 Albums...

-Harry

>Please update to the latest nightly and see if the problem still occurs.
>
>
>On May 7, 2004, at 10:54 PM, Harry McQuillen wrote:
>
>>
>>I am having BIG missing tracks problems.
>>
>>Take one album- only tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18
>>appear in browse.