PDA

View Full Version : 7.3.2 Stable?



Cessquill
2009-02-03, 11:17
Just upgraded to 7.3.2, and my wireless SB3 now seems to keep power cycling - it'll stay connected for a while, and then go back to the Logitech logo. After a while it seems to give up and revert to a blank screen.

It was doing this up until the previous update, which seemed to fix it, but not it's all started again.

I've reset it by plugging it in with the power button pressed and re-entered the settings, but without success.

It's connected to a Linksys WRT54G router (that seems to be fine with everything else). The server isn't that pokey, but that shouldn't matter, should it? (hasn't done in the past). I'm trying different channels on the router, but that doesn't seem to have imrpoved things.

Any ideas where to go from here? It's booted 7 times in typing this post.

Cheers, Simon

CatBus
2009-02-03, 11:58
Sounds to me like your wireless network is getting clobbered. In my experience 7.3.2 is quite stable on my 2 SB3s (both wireless). Try it wired and see if things improve. Your neighbor may have just bought a new router...

Cessquill
2009-02-03, 12:21
Could be - there are more wireless networks in range. Just seemed a coincidence that it solved when I upgraded to previous version, and started again when I upgraded to present.

I'll have a play - I was planning on adding two more wireless SB's, so we'll see.

Thanks

Cessquill
2009-02-08, 05:26
Still no joy, I'm afraid. I've tried changing the channels on the router, and it sometimes stays up for a while, but then goes into its reboot loop before turning itself off. I haven't been able to try it in wired mode yet due to the setup of my network.

I've discovered a larger problem now thought - my machine running slimserver is going crazy on a library rescan. It gets about 1.5 hours in, and then the system speaker beeps continuously.

The machine hasn't quite locked up, but it's certainly not running as normal. Cancelling the rescan calms it all down again. I hadn't noticed it before, since the machine is downstairs, and scans at 2am.

I've had to disable the rescanning of the library for now - does anybody have any ideas, or steps I can do to find out more?

Thanks, Simon

CatBus
2009-02-08, 19:30
Disable antivirus (temporarily) during the scan. If that helps, search for the AV exceptions that sometimes need to be made for SqueezeCenter.

I'd run NetStumbler to figure out exactly which channels your neighbors are using. Trial and error will just make you tired, especially if your neighbors are sitting all over the spectrum.

radish
2009-02-08, 19:50
Just upgraded to 7.3.2, and my wireless SB3 now seems to keep power cycling - it'll stay connected for a while, and then go back to the Logitech logo. After a while it seems to give up and revert to a blank screen.

Call support, could easily be a hardware issue as it's not something I've seen commonly reported. Very unlikely (I would have thought) to be anything to do with your network.


I've discovered a larger problem now thought - my machine running slimserver is going crazy on a library rescan. It gets about 1.5 hours in, and then the system speaker beeps continuously.
If I had to guess, it's overheating (many systems will alert you to this by beeping). Running the scan keeps the CPU and disk pegged for a while, and some machines (typically home built ones) aren't sufficiently cooled to do that. Check the fans (make sure they're working, blow off dust etc with a blower) and try running something like CPUburn to make sure everything's OK.

Cessquill
2009-02-09, 03:29
Thanks guys - that's given me a few things to look into.

Currently trying a scan without AVG running - see how that goes.

I'll do some temperature checking later. It's an old Compaq Deskpro machine, although all the media is on a Buffalo NAS drive. Anyone know whether this version thrashes the machine and more on a scan? The CPU is at a steady 15% in the Task Manager, peaking at around 50% every so often. Can't speak for the HDD though. I'll give it a good hoover, since it probably needs it.

Like I say, I had the power cycling issue with Squeezecenter two releases ago (although it could have coincided with Wireless changes), and it fixed itself with the last release. I'll run NetStumbler - thanks for the heads up on that - and get it plugged in via a wired connection. Everything else running wirelessly seems to be OK, although I don't pretend to know much about all that.

Cessquill
2009-02-09, 04:56
Quick update...

- Tried it with AVG off. No difference. Appears to stall on the same file every time (an ASF file). The file is in a "junk to sort out" folder, so I've moved that whole area out of the scanning folders to see whether it was file related, and am rescanning now
- When aborting the scan, the beeps stop immediately, suggesting to me that it might not be an over-heating thing
- Do system beeps make it through an RDC connection?

Mark Lanctot
2009-02-09, 09:53
- When aborting the scan, the beeps stop immediately, suggesting to me that it might not be an over-heating thing

How did you reach that conclusion? That's exactly what would happen if it was overheating. Remove the load, and with the fans running on maximum it cools the processor down almost instantaneously.

It sounds from a previous post like it's already heavily loaded. You can run SC on some low-spec hardware, but it will perform a lot better if the hardware isn't overly encumbered with other things. I've run SC 7 on an AMD Duron 1.2 GHz with 256 MB of RAM, it did fine. However it was running Ubuntu Linux, which is much more efficient than Windows and doesn't have a huge amount of background processes running.

There are a fair amount of temperature loggers. I seem to recall SpeedFan was very good: http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php Get the temp graph going, then run a scan and see what it reports.

It depends what processor you're using, but anything above 50 C is bad, anything above about 60 C may cause alarms and your CPU may shutdown to protect itself if it goes up past 70 - 75 C. BTW 75 C = 167 F!

Cessquill
2009-02-09, 13:15
Thanks for that Mark, downloading Speedfan now. I got to the (probably illogical) conclusion, since the processor didn't really seem to be under any significant load at the time and the stopping of the beeps seemed instant when scanning stopped (which in retrospect could be a cooling effect, I just hadn't figured on it being that quick). Granted, strange things happened when it all went wrong, but it was all so strange I couldn't get task manager up to check any loads.

It always seemed to be stalling at the same point too (an ASF file in a tidyup folder). I moved that folder out the way today, and a scan went through without any problems at all. Mind you, that could just be coincidence.

The machine is a 2.66GHz, but only 512mb RAM on board. Its only other task is running as a server for MyMovies (DVD jukebox software). All media files are stored on NAS drives.

Thanks again - much appreciated.

Mark Lanctot
2009-02-09, 13:26
Thanks for that Mark, downloading Speedfan now. I got to the (probably illogical) conclusion, since the processor didn't really seem to be under any significant load at the time and the stopping of the beeps seemed instant when scanning stopped (which in retrospect could be a cooling effect, I just hadn't figured on it being that quick). Granted, strange things happened when it all went wrong, but it was all so strange I couldn't get task manager up to check any loads.

Processors cool down really quickly when the load is removed because the fan has been turned up to maximum.

The SC scan process is fairly CPU intensive, but it occurs in several stages. The first stage accesses the discs, and that causes moderate CPU load and high I/O load (you'll see your disc access light go crazy). The second stage is some sort of database assimilation stage, which puts a heavy load on the CPU. Subsequent stages are also CPU intensive (merge various artists, artwork scan, database optimization) but are usually shorter except for the artwork scan.


It always seemed to be stalling at the same point too (an ASF file in a tidyup folder). I moved that folder out the way today, and a scan went through without any problems at all. Mind you, that could just be coincidence.

It could be it was stuck in a loop.


The machine is a 2.66GHz, but only 512mb RAM on board. Its only other task is running as a server for MyMovies (DVD jukebox software). All media files are stored on NAS drives.

That should be fine for SC if you're running Windows XP. I did that for a while with a 2.8 GHz Pentium 4. It won't do for Vista, but I'm not even sure if Vista itself can run on 512 MB.

That said, the 2.66 GHz processor could be an infamous Pentium 4 Prescott (aka P4D) which ran very, very hot.

Cessquill
2009-02-09, 13:43
That said, the 2.66 GHz processor could be an infamous Pentium 4 Prescott (aka P4D) which ran very, very hot.
Thanks again for taking the time to give information. According to HWInfo it's a Northwood. To be honest, I hadn't really looked at the spec much, since I was given the machine, and it replaced an old Compaq iPaq desktop that was really struggling.

I'm currently doing a scan with Speedfan running (it's still on Directory Scan and all seems well). However, I haven't really looked around Speedfan yet, and the CPU is reading -128C, which I'm guessing is not right (half way to absolute zero is probably a little excessive!). All other temperatures reading fine though (23-36C). I'll keep an eye on it for when it gets to the meatier processing.

Off to download netstumbler to see if I can't get the wireless thing sorted. The neighbours are new, and I'm guessing they're running a wireless network, plus probably some cordless phones, TV senders and - hey - flying a model aircraft round the room just to monkey with my signal some...

Mark Lanctot
2009-02-09, 13:56
According to HWInfo it's a Northwood.

The one I had was a Northwood (P4C) but they were in 2.4, 2.6 (not 2.66) and 2.8 GHz versions, so have an earlier revision (P4B). They will run hot but not as bad as Prescott. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Pentium_4

My P4C 2.8 had plenty of power to run SC but it did get very hot under load.


I'm currently doing a scan with Speedfan running (it's still on Directory Scan and all seems well). However, I haven't really looked around Speedfan yet, and the CPU is reading -128C, which I'm guessing is not right (half way to absolute zero is probably a little excessive!).

Err, yeah, that doesn't sound right! I'm pretty sure you'd know if you were using liquid nitrogen cooling. ;-)

The correct reading is usually contained in the data, it's a matter of figuring out which one is right and assigning that to the CPU reading. However it sounds like your original problem has gone away - fingers crossed for you!