PDA

View Full Version : Squeezeplay MacOS



spc337
2009-02-02, 14:56
I'm running SC7.3.2 on Ubuntu server. I've downloaded the latest SqueezePlay for 7.3 on my Mac. When I select Music Source, SqPlay sees my server but isn't able to connect, justs asks if I want to try again.

Any thoughts?

spc337
2009-02-03, 21:29
Is anyone running SqueezePlay successfully on a Mac with a linux server?? I'm surprised no one is having a similar problem.

mherger
2009-02-04, 00:45
> Is anyone running SqueezePlay successfully on a Mac with a linux
> server??

Sure, I am.

> I'm surprised no one is having a similar problem.

Which leads us to the conclusion that something about your system is different. Tell us about it.

--

Michael

talbotpat
2009-02-04, 00:46
Running on FreeNAS here, not full blown Linux, but am working ok with multiple SqueezePlay versions (up to 7.4) on MacOS 10.5.6 and SqueezeCenter 7.3.3.

spc337
2009-02-04, 19:37
Any help is welcome... Not sure what information you would like but here are the version numbers for the various bits -

Server - Ubuntu Server 8.04.2
SqueezeCenter Version: 7.3.2 - 24695 @ Mon Jan 19 17:13:58 PST 2009

iMac - MacOSx 10.5.6
SqueezePlay Beta 7.3r3992m

The two computers are on the same network via Netgear Router. Web interface works fine, SoftSqueeze works fine etc..

When I launch SqueezePlay (SP) I get a few options in the initial menu

"Whats Playing >"
"Settings"
"Test"
"Quit"

Now Playing does nothing
Settings allows me to select a Music Source which shows my server, upon selecting SP tries to connect and eventually times out and says Go Back or Try Again. When I go back and then go back into "Music Source" The list now shows the IP address of my music server instead of the server name but now won't let me try to connect.

That's as much as I know.

Is there a debug setting so I can look at log files or error messages?

Thanks

Mnyb
2009-02-04, 19:49
Try to open more ports in the firewall for the Mac ?
As experiment take down the firewall to see what happens.
If this works then:

Web UI is happy with only port 9000 open ( I think )

try to open port 3483 tcp & udp and 9090 & 9092 while your at it.
I can never remember which ones is tcp or udp so I opens both.

Or if you use fixed IP's on the Linux server be lazy and allow that IP nr full access trough your firewall (if you trust your server ).

spc337
2009-02-05, 13:49
I'll try that tonight although I'm surprise the Mac is blocking the outbound.. I think it would still be useful if there was a debug mode with viewable logging information.

thxs

spc337
2009-02-05, 20:03
Doesn't seem to do much for me..

On MacOSx Leopard, I've turned off the firewall - Accept all inbound...

On Ubuntu - iptables shows ACCEPT for Input, Forward, Output... which should be all open ports...


I really need debugging help to see if the client is the issue or the server...

spc337
2009-02-15, 15:06
Still doesnt work for me.. Anyone have any other ideas to try...

Can someone point me to a way to get debugging information from the client?

epoch1970
2009-02-16, 12:25
Just open console.app, when I do this I see a ton of messages logged by .com.logitech.squeezeplay
(you could filter on this.)
BTW, works ok for me, squeezeplay mac -> SC linux.

thornomad
2009-03-05, 18:37
Can someone point me to a way to get debugging information from the client?

Did you look in /var/log/squeezecenter/ ? There are some log files there, as well.

I am running SqueezePlay on the Mac (Leopard) running SC on Linux (Ubuntu). It works fine, except there is a little *skip* near the end of every song it plays ...