PDA

View Full Version : Off Topic, Not SB Related: Remembering

Dogberry2
2009-01-28, 07:56
This has nothing to do with SqueezeBoxes or Slim Devices, but I wanted to point out that today, 28 January, is the anniversary of the disaster that befell the space shuttle Challenger in 1986. It's been 23 years, and so it doesn't get any real attention in the general media anymore, but it's very personal to me. On that day, I was an engineer at Kennedy Space Center, working in the Launch Control Center. I didn't really know any of the astronauts (engineers don't move in the same circles they do), but I did get to meet a few of them during my time there, and I can tell you this: they were all good people who believed in what they were doing, who knew that going into space is a very dangerous business, but who truly believed it was worth the risk and the effort. Knowing just how real a danger is, and yet facing it and doing your job anyway, is what I believe defines true courage, and for their courage alone, I believe those seven people who died aboard Challenger that cold morning deserve to have their names remembered, even after 23 years. So I ask you to pause at some time during your day today, and just give a brief moment's thought to these brave people:

Dick Scobee
Mike Smith
Christa McAuliffe
Judy Resnik
Ron McNair
El Onizuka
Greg Jarvis

Thanks.

pippin
2009-01-28, 08:22
As forums go, do you know that one:
http://www.nasaspaceflight.com/
Probably the most cool spaceflight related site around.

And yes, I, too remember that event very well even though I was still pretty young at that time. But back then, Spaceflight was clearly my dominant "tech interest".

iPhone
2009-01-28, 10:32