PDA

View Full Version : Softsqueeze better than browser "Listen Now"?



Labarum
2009-01-24, 14:55
Am I imagining it?

I was listening to Classic FM using the "Listen Now" button on their webpage. I closed that and opened Softsqueeze for Classic FM

I thought it better. Am I imagining it?

The study PC runs XP and Squeezecentre - the Squeezebox in in the lounge on the HiFi. I have not used Softsqueeze since getting the SB3, but just thought I would click it up. I have Foobar and Asio4all installed and use those to listen to my FLACs.

Does Softsqeeze tame XP and the hardware better than the browser?

The soundcard is a straightforward Audigy, nothing special, it drives a Quad 77 Amp and a pair of old Goodmans Maxims.

bonze
2009-01-24, 16:10
I think the 'listen now' feature is a realmedia stream.

How are you accessing through SoftSqueeze?
RadioFeeds has two MP3 streams and an AACPlus - both do seem far better than the website :-)

Labarum
2009-01-25, 01:43
I think the 'listen now' feature is a realmedia stream.

How are you accessing through SoftSqueeze?


Squeezecentre declares

128kbps CBR, WMA Internet Radio

vinnielo
2009-01-26, 13:30
Classic FM runs what's called a Windows Media Intellistream on their website. This stream detects your bandwidth and gives you either a 32k feed or a 128k feed.
Depending on which browser you're using, the embedded player chosen by the browser may be Windows Media Player version 6.4. 6.4 doesn't support Intellistreaming, and will only give you the base bandwidth, i.e. 32k.
If you use a browser that has selected WMP11, then you should get 128k.