PDA

View Full Version : Spectrum analyzer displays mostly high frequencies

robdesalle
2009-01-03, 20:44
Hi all,
Newbie here with my first posting to the Forums.
I've had an SB3 for a few years, and recently bought a Duet, and love them both. Revolutionary products in the consumer audio market, in my mind; I suspect nearly all of you will agree with me.
Here's the problem: Back when I first got my SB3 (with <6.5 version), I put the full-screen Spectrum Analyzer on the display to test my visual/audio frequency correlation and was disappointed to find that the display didn't seem to jibe with my perception in that lots of treble was activating the display bars, but not much in the bass was showing up. (I am not an audio professional, but have extensive experience with running live sound reinforcement systems, and lots of practice tweaking tone controls, graphic equalizers, and parametric equalizers.) I searched through the Forums for postings on the subject and found the old stuff from Vidur (gone from the Forums since summer 2005), and not much since. It looks to me as if this display has been ignored since then and it needs to be revisited.
Here's why-
I downloaded some MP3 test tones and played them through the SB3 with the Spectrum Analyzer display (and simultaneously ran the SB3 output to a Real-Time Analyzer to verify the frequency). This test verified my suspicion- most of the 32 bars in the display are for midrange and up, with just the single far right (or left) bar activating for the bass frequencies. I've got some pictures, but you can perform this test for yourself with readily available test tones from a test CD or Internet. Send a 1 kHz (midrange) signal to the SB3, and 3 bars will show-
.III............................