PDA

View Full Version : streaming 2 mp3s as left and right

tron978
2008-12-31, 10:26
Let me start by saying i'm a curious noob. I heard about squeezecenter in a maximumpc article (summer 2008).

My question is: Is there a way to setup the squeezecenter server to stream one mp3 on the right audio channel, and a seperate mp3 on the left channel as one stream, so that i can conserve bandwidth and use the balance control on my amp to listen to the two seperate songs in mono?

Thanks,

tron978

Mnyb
2008-12-31, 11:04
Why not use just mono files ? if your not interested in quality a mono file will be smaller and use less bandwidth in itself especially mp3 ?
does it matter if it comes out of both channels ?

You can of course combine two mono files to one stereo file and compress it with mp3 , but that would a bit awkward to controll.

Thats very odd request anyway , not likely to be implemented (not many requests for it and products made to meet a price point), I'm guessing that the architecture of theSB's won't allow it

tron978
2008-12-31, 11:15
Thanks for the quick reply. i already have a large collection of MP3's which are stereo, so I didn't want to have to re-record them. i have a low speed DSL connection at home (all we could get...yeah Verizon) and my wife works remotely from home so i have to be conservative with my usage during work hours, hence the idea of using one stream for two different genres from my collection.

so there isn't any way to "play"/"serve"/"stream" two mp3's at the same time with sound only going out over one side of a stream? Beyond setting up 3 different computers and a bunch of patch cords of course :)

i plan on receiving the stream using my neuros osd (great little device)
Tx,

tron978

Mnyb
2008-12-31, 11:29
SC has a bitrate limiting feature built in, the remote stream will apear as another player in the system and you can limit its bitrate in the player settings.