PDA

View Full Version : Sync problem with SC 7.3.1 and 2 SB3s



corbey
2008-12-29, 08:23
That's a typo in the title. I meant to write 7.3.1.

I'm trying to play .flac files stored locally on the same PC as SC 7.3.1, but my 2 SB3s always seem to play seriously out of sync. By "seriously out of sync," I mean at least a half-second, or more.

I've tried adjusting some of the settings under Player > Synchronize, but that hasn't helped.

I've had both my SB3s for a year or more, but I don't remember having this problem with locally stored files before.

Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.

Jonnio
2008-12-29, 08:30
if they are wireless one of em may be having some connection problems...To fix it I would probably upgrade to 7.3.1 since it completely rewrote the sync code and vastly improved it.

Ben Sandee
2008-12-29, 08:41
On Mon, Dec 29, 2008 at 9:23 AM, corbey
<corbey.3l6rvm1230564301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> I'm trying to play .flac files stored locally on the same PC as SC
> 7.1.3, but my 2 SB3s always seem to play seriously out of sync. By
> "seriously out of sync," I mean at least a half-second, or more.

Did you mistype 7.3.1 above or are you actually using 7.1.3 (is that
even a real SC version)? I would reset your sync settings to the
default value first, especially after playing with them for awhile. I
think they are 0, 0, 30ms, 2ms respectively.

Is there anything unique about the players, for example digital output
or unique amp/dsp?

Ben

corbey
2008-12-29, 08:52
Yes, that is a typo. I meant to write 7.3.1.

I have returned all the sync settings to their defaults, but that didn't help.

And yes, I'm using the digital outputs on both units, but I've had them configured that way for quite awhile w/o any problem. Also, my associated equipment hasn't changed.

corbey
2008-12-29, 09:37
Well, the only configuration difference between the two players is that I have a Roku Netflix player connected to the Ethernet port of the more-distant SB3. When I disconnected that cable, the two SB3s seemed to get back into sync.

I'll need to play with this some more, I guess.

Ben Sandee
2008-12-29, 10:38
On Mon, Dec 29, 2008 at 10:37 AM, corbey
<corbey.3l6vcn1230568801 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Well, the only configuration difference between the two players is that
> I have a Roku Netflix player connected to the Ethernet port of the
> more-distant SB3. When I disconnected that cable, the two SB3s seemed
> to get back into sync.

That's probably very relevant information. I searched for an existing
bug report but found nothing. If it's repeatable, I would file a bug
on bugs.slimdevices.com. It could be a combination that hasn't been
tested with Sync enabled.

Ben

Jonnio
2008-12-29, 20:04
does the Roku use bandwidth even when it's not streaming a movie? I would think anything that is taking the wireless bandwidth of the receiver could cause this very issue.

Ben Sandee
2008-12-29, 22:17
On Mon, Dec 29, 2008 at 9:04 PM, Jonnio
<Jonnio.3l7oaa1230606300 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> does the Roku use bandwidth even when it's not streaming a movie? I
> would think anything that is taking the wireless bandwidth of the
> receiver could cause this very issue.

If I had to guess, I would expect that it's not a bandwidth issue but
instead something related to audio latency being different if the SB
CPU is busy handling wireless bridging tasks in addition to those it
normally performs.

Ben

corbey
2008-12-30, 17:46
Other than maybe some minimal polling so the server knows it's alive, I don't think the Roku box uses any bandwidth when it's not streaming a movie.

Since I unplugged the Ethernet cable for the Roku unit yesterday and then plugged it back in, I haven't had any more problems with Sync. But I haven't used the Roku unit for streaming either.

Will let you know if this problem continues to occur.

Thanks for your help, Ben.