PDA

View Full Version : "Upgrading From Squeezebox To Duet"



Robbbie
2008-12-25, 13:51
I received a Duet for Christmas to replace my Squeezebox. Is it possible to use the already installed Squeezecenter setup and just replace the box?
I realise i will have to select the new player etc.
Thank you
Rob

Millwood
2008-12-25, 14:00
Just add the duet. And, you can control the Squeezebox with the controller as well as with its remote. Find a use for the Squeezebox. I made a portable by mounting mine on a board with a pair of powered PC speakers I had lying around.

Robbbie
2008-12-25, 14:02
Millwood,
Thank you for your prompt reply. It all sounds very easy. I'll give it a go.
Rob

funkstar
2008-12-25, 16:19
What version of SqueezeCenter are you currently running?

I would recomend installing 7.3.1 as the controller firmware has come a long way verses previous versions.

Robbbie
2008-12-25, 17:33
I have 7.3.1 installed.

FredFredrickson
2008-12-26, 09:35
Yeah, don't replace the current squeezebox. Use them both. The more the merrier, I say.