PDA

View Full Version : Can't play higher bitrate VBR WMA files



auronthas
2008-12-20, 14:00
i have successfully migrated all my music files in SC from Windows OS to Mac OS.

But i noticed something strange, i.e. SC can't play higher bitrate VBR WMA files (such as 500kbps and above). However, music format in flac, lower bitrate VBR WMA (320kbps), mp3 playing and working fine.

Please advise how to make SC play higher bitrate WMA files.

Thanks in advance.

andyg
2008-12-20, 14:11
Are those files WMA Lossless?

auronthas
2008-12-20, 14:13
Yes, the files are WMA lossless, Andy.

andyg
2008-12-20, 14:57
And I see you are running on a Mac. In order to play WMA Lossless files the server must be running Windows. I would recommend transcoding them to FLAC.

auronthas
2008-12-20, 15:33
Noted. I will. Why some wma lossy format (eg. 320kbps) can be played in Mac?

andyg
2008-12-20, 15:38
Because there is a native WMA (lossy) decoder in the player. But there is no native WMA Lossless decoder.

auronthas
2008-12-20, 16:05
I see. Is there a plan to add native WMA lossless decoder in SC?

andyg
2008-12-20, 16:18
There is one, but it's Windows-only. This is normally OK, as people not running Windows don't usually have WMA Lossless files. :)

auronthas
2008-12-20, 18:37
Since few of my music files are ripped in WMA lossless format, i noticed that SC also skipped other format eg. flac, etc. I also observed that right pane of SC not showing the correct song played, only left pane is refreshed. Attached picture showing the discrepancies between left and right pane.

The left pane (trackstat) is showing the correct 'Now Playing', but not the right pane.